We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Puerto Vallarta Highlight”
Review of Restaurant Gaby's

Restaurant Gaby's
Ranked #39 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Puerto Vallarta Highlight”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I first went to Gaby's 2 years ago. My daughter and I enjoyed the food and the Mango Margaritas so much that she forgot her parcel at the table. When we returned, we discovered that Julio, our waiter/proprietor, had it in a safe place and was pleased to see us come back. We had a friend.

This year, 2011, we visited Gaby's several times. Our "old" friend, Julio, who made us most welcome, has made wonderful improvements and additions, including a pleasant outdoor upstairs dining venue. Our waiter, Saul, was a definite addition to the personality of Gaby's. This place is a winner!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    144
    23
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This restaurant is located in a perfect location on the same street as the church, you cannot miss it.We were very disappointed in the food scene in Puerto Vallarta.Gaby's was the only exception. It was so good that we went there for lunch and dinner on the same night. If we were not leaving the next day we would of eaten there everyday. In the restaurant you can choose to sit upstairs but we preferred to sit in the back next to the waterfall. The food and service was fantastic, in fact the best in the city. We ordered margarita's which were made out of fresh fruit and we tried the sampler platter allowing us to try the enchilada, chicken mole (exceptional), relleno, tamale. All were good some were great. The beef and chicken fajitas were very tasty and came with a dramatic presentation. Also the stuffed poblano pepper with sweet beef topped with almond and walnut cream was simply incredible!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtraveler2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic little gem!”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Recommended by locals and for good reason!
Food was excellent! Great little patio-garden at the back. Staff were friendly & helpful.
Also have free wi-fi!
I'll be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michelemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE best in town on all counts!”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This place was easily the best in town. We tried a number of places in town and this was easily leagues above all the others. Great prices, AMAZING local food, genuine and friendly service and a quaint little location on a side street (so you can enjoy the local feel instead of the tourist craziness) with 2 levels of patio seating and the most beautiful private garden with seating in the back. We didn't even realize that the garden existed until the end of our second visit in the week. During our first visit, a few days before Christmas, the local community was holding a children's processional and nativity performance in the street in front of the patio. We were able to enjoy all the festivities of the local traditional music and ceremony while enjoying what was easily the best meal (plural if you account for the fact that we HAD to go back) of our stay in Puerto Vallarta.
Getting There:
This place is clearly a local place and has been around for more than 20 years, but the cab drivers, concierge and hotel bellman do not all know about it (unless they live in the old part of Downtown PV) so you may need to ask to be taken to Calle Mina at the corner of Calle Hidalgo. If you are already on the Malecon (the boardwalk in downtown PV) you would walk up the hill ( a very slight 2 blocks) at the corner where you see the ROO Nightclub with three large, gold, sequen masks hanging in front (during the day they have three large roll down doors in front with beautiful tropical murals)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aodavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Gaby's is centrally located and just a couple of blocks from the main square so it's the perfect place to go to after a day of sightseeing. The staff is friendly and the comida corrida is great, but don't try the pork ribs when everything else is so good.

Helpful?
2 Thank espwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gaby's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Restaurant Gaby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing