We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Discovery”
Review of Restaurant Gaby's

Restaurant Gaby's
Ranked #39 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Discovery”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been coming to PVR since 1973, but had never stopped here before. It was included in a walking tour we did that visited places many tourists don't get to. We had fabulous Tortills Soup and a lesson on how to drink Tequila. Looked at the menu and it was very extensive. I'll be sure to come here my next time back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tahitiare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    144
    23
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved Gabys. Great food, wonderful service, and while eating dinner we were treated to old time Mexican films/musicals projected on the large wall opposite the decorated balcony on which we ate. One of our best experiences in Vallarta.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MLHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dinner and Movie Surprise”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We got together with a group of dive buddies at Gaby's for dinner and drinks on a Friday night! Although located off the main street of Old Town PV, it was I think a great find. Being low season, the food was very good, fresh, hot, and filling. No one in the group (some very picky eaters) had any complaints. During dinner we were treated to old Spanish/Mexican black-n-white movies that were shown on the wall of the building across from the restaurant! An awesome way to spend our last night in PV.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSqurdWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lucky Find!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were on our last day in PV, looking for some tamales, when came across this restaurant. We wish we'd found it sooner! Yes, it is low season, and it was just about empty, but we had a GREAT lunch. We started out with The Mexican platter; it is a sampling of many of the dishes they offer. And it included tamales! Everything was delicious; particularly the stuffed pepper, chicken mole, and enchiladas. My wife got the Molcajete; fantastic! I had a chicken chimichanga; just OK. The service was fantastic. Just about everybody working that day came by to ask how we were doing. If you make a sincere effort to speak Spanish, I think the local people really appreciate it. We are considering moving there some day and are trying to pick things up every time we visit. I highly recommend Gaby for lunch. We were told, on certain nights, the restaurant shows movies against the big white wall across the street from the restaurant. The movies are of the Mexican Mariachi musical type. Sounded pretty cool, but we were on our last day and didn't make it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid Gaby's”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We ate there this last week and had a late lunch-I know this is low season so not sure if their regular chef was not there. We were recommended to this place also by the guy at the Tequila place(must be family!)and we were terribly disappointed. We should of known something was up when all the tables were empty. The service was really slow which didn't make sense as there was only 6 of us there. I had the tortilla soup which was ok but nothing to rave about and expensive. I would not go back there again so just wanted to make people aware.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkperreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gaby's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Restaurant Gaby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing