We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Restaurant”

Taqueria Fonda El Buen Gusto
Ranked #295 of 1,014 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: tel 222-2240
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a family owned restaurant and the food is make as you order it. My husband and I have eaten here many times and the food is great. Breakfast is very reasonable and at a good price. We would go at lunch and have chicken nachos and shrimp tacos. Both are very good.

Go for a massage next door at Metamorfosis Day Spa and stop here for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pookie53593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
“Best food in all of Pto. Vallarta”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I ate here once and loved it so much, we went back again the next day! The service was also amazing: no intrusions and no fawning, there when needed, and just honest hospitality.
Also, their chiles rellenos are amazing. This restaurant offers real authentic, homemade, Mexican food. And I can say I am a tough critic since there is no Mexican food like my mom's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniela_LMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and a great price”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Food was prepared fresh and service was a little lacking, but great value none the less I enjoyed the shrimp tacos especially.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Must have been an off day”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is always a go to place for us when coming to Puerto Vallarta. This visit was not one of their finest. I was told the beer I ordered was not cold, so I switched to another brand. Unfortunately, the other brand was also warm. The strawberry margarita looked almost like pink lemonade, and had very little strawberry taste. My fish tacos came with soggy greasy fish. Could not even finish them. The wife's cheese quesadilla came sans cheese. Very disappointed this trip. We have always had good food and service here. Maybe they just had an off day. Will stop again next trip, and hopefully they will get back to the good food we have had in the past.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tansandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Super casual and "rustic" place serving great traditional food. The service is always good and the cervesas are always cold at this off the beaten path place!

Helpful?
Thank casualcharacter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Fonda El Buen Gusto also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Taqueria Fonda El Buen Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing