We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of Captain Don's

Captain Don's
Ranked #184 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A great place to hang out with locals and cheap cold drinks.wi-fi, free calls u.s.a. and canadasports bar, live music, pool, great service and excelent food.
Big Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great time!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We visited Captain Don's several times during our three week stay in Puerto Vallarta. Great staff, very friendly, wonderful food and music. Can't wait to see them again on our next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a fantastic night !!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arranged to meet some Canadian friends in Captain don's for a couple of drinks .we liked the place so much that we went on our own last Thursday (27th Feb) place was buzzing . Staff very friendly even made me a special vegetarian club sandwich ,even though it wasn't on the menu . Live music was good , don't know the name of the group though .we're going back again with friends next Thursday

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always have a good time”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Always stop here during my trips to Puerto Vallarta. Always look forward to seeing Lupita the bartender. There was a new bartender named Angela this year. I enjoyed her company very much. Margaritas are delicious. Ate dinner there two nights. The pork chops and stuffed chicken breast were delicious and very reasonably priced. Enjoyed the live music there one evening. Am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hit Captain Dons when they have live music. After a couple of their fantastic Margaritas, you'll think your watching a concert.
Have fun

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friends for awhile !!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Have been to PV many times and always make a point of stopping in to see Don, Jake and their staff. Great people and always good music. Live sports always on and good food. Back there in February. /14 and will be there for sure. Free phone calls to Canada and the US always a bonus. Many ex pats living down there that frequent Capt. Dons and always good for any information you may need.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Don's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Captain Don's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing