We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior views and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buganvilias Vacation Club
Ranked #57 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Sunset from your balcony every night, whale watching during the day. Short walking distance to grocery store, the melicon and old town. Barely paid for cabs and great restaurants close. We recommend Pipi's, Cuerto's and Cafe De Olla. As a guest from vacation club member you receive 20 percent off food and drinks. We are timeshare owners and love going back. We are experienced travellers and this is one of our favourites

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 685 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at this resort through an RCI exchange for 1 week. Check in was easy but when we were shown to our 1 bdrm suite, we found no balcony - only a window that opened over an abandoned garbage filled lot. We asked to be moved but there were no 1 bdrm's that had any better view so paid for upgrade to a 2 bdrm with balcony facing the ocean. No complaints about the room or maid service - both were awesome. We were met by a high pressure vacation club rep who was quite insistant that we go to a breakfast but after several no thank-you's, we were left alone.
Let me say that the grounds here are immaculate and landscapers are always pruning, watering, trimming. The rest of the staff doesn't seem too interested in service. Pool servers will walk right by you without asking if you want anything, the sundries store clerk was sort of annoyed when we showed up 15 min. prior to closing time when she was doing her cash-out, and the lobby bar - which is advertised as open every night 5 - midnight - was only open on check-in day (Saturday). All the restaurants are operated by the Sheraton Hotel and we found their hours to be very strange. On Saturday ( a very busy day with club check-ins) there was only one terrace restaurant open seating about 125. Waiters were overworked and so service was lacking. On Sunday night we decided to try the Italian restaurant. We were seated and given menus - then ignored for 25 min. so we got up and left. And this restaurant was only half full at the time.
We have travelled extensively in Mexico and to P.V. itself 5 times so we know about manana and Mexican minutes but service here was below average. We are tippers in the 25% range each and every time we are waited on, so you would think that service might be a little more forthcoming. The best service we received was in the snack bar pool side during the lunch hours.
All in all we were unhappy with this exchange and will not be returning to this resort, as there are so many other resorts in Puerto Vallarta who are more than happy to have your business.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvthesun021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I have been a member at Buganvilias Club since 1988 and return once or twice every year. The loyalty, service and dedication of the service staff are unsurpassed, but the comfort and quality of the room amenities leave some things to be desired.

The television satellite has no network affiliates and no Fox News. The Murphy beds have no headboard and the pillows fall down behind every night. The sheets are undersized and pull off overnight, leaving an old bare mattress exposed. The pillows are hard.

Upgrades to the old towers are lovely, including new appliances and plasma TVs, but the new tower is barren with concrete, yes concrete, beds and couches with uncomfortable hard mattresses and cushions. Not one upholstered piece of furniture to comfortably watch TV or read a newpaper. You can't read the dials on the stovetop (numbers are worn off) and the coffee makers rarely work.

For several years guests enjoyed a daily New York Times Digest, but now the hotel has a much lower quality Sheraton publication with lousy puzzles. Although you can sign up for delivery to your room, that service (arranged by the office/concierge staff) is very spotty and nonexistent on the weekends.

Love the staff, love the location, love the grounds, love the restaurants, but the comfort level and amenities in the rooms need upgrading.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maribel842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel using a week through RCI, Nov. 6-13. We stayed on Tower D, room 1667, in a Junior Suite.

This was a corner unit with a balcony that wrapped around the corner. We had a nice view of the ocean; however, there is an empty lot next to the hotel, which is unkept and kind of dirty. The beach that we had a view of was also unkept and also looked dirty - not the best side of the hotel.

The suite was large - we had good WiFi signal inside the room. The bedroom was huge with a king-size bed (the mattress, however, was kinda hard). Even though the bedroom was huge, there was one tiny dresser, but the closet was large enough for our stuff.

The bathroom was on the small side. The shower was not well designed. It is a shower-tub, so they decided to enclose it and put a door in it. The door swings open into the bathroom, which makes getting in and out of the shower-tub hard, since you have to step from the bathroom floor into the tub, and then have to reach way out there to grab a hold of the door handle to close it - really weird.

There was a partial kitchen with a small fridge, a 2-burner electric stove, a microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the utensils and dinner ware. Everything worked just fine. The only downside is that this kitchen sadly is showing its age - about 20 years old!!!!! There is a small sink to wash dishes, but this left hardly any counter space to do anything.

There is a kitchen table with four chairs, and then a separate living room with sitting for 4 or 6 people around a coffee table. These couches, just like the bed, were awkward and really hard to sit on.

The balcony was large with 4 chairs and a small table. Great to see the sun set. The room overall was kept very clean and it felt really comfortable coming back from the pool - the AC works great. It's just that it is showing its age.

Overall a decent place to stay - nothing fancy - definitely no "WOW" factor here. NOTE: I think they are in the process of remodeling other rooms, so I have no idea what the new remodeled rooms look like.

The service at the pool was excellent. There were 2 waiters taking care of the pool, and they were on their toes and always very helpful and courteous and ready to bring you another drink. NOTE: the average age of the people at the pool was in their late 50s-early 60s!!! Not sure if this was because of the time of the year, but we are in our mid-40s and felt like we needed to be in the kiddie pool!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABitSpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We decided to treat our only son to Puerto Vallarta for his birthday since it's his favorite place in Mexico. We owned a Time Share with another resort but decided to get an extra vacation with RCI Excellence. After reading all the pros and cons on resorts that RCI represents, we finally decided on Buganvilias Club since we've never stayed there before and the reviews were also excellent!

Earlier during our booking process, I decided to send Buganvilias Club a message and requested a room with balcony and an ocean view since we are not owners of the resort. Fortunately, we were accommodated to a room that exceeded our expectations. We were given a One Bedroom Presidential Suite with a separate lock key doors, two balconies, two bathrooms, kitchenette, and an amazing ocean view!

This trip was our fifth time in Puerto Vallarta -and Buganvilias Club is on the top of our list among the best resorts we had ever stayed( Mayan Palace, Paradise Village Resort, Krystal, Villa del Palmar) in Puerto Vallarta. We always had an ocean view rooms on all the resorts we've stayed......but, Buganvilias Club got the most spectacular views of them all overlooking the ocean!

We especially loved Buganvilias Club due to it's location which is walking distance to the popular tourist spot - El Malecon(with it's restaurants/bars and shops lining the street). Most of all, our always clean suite and fresh smelling sheets, the no-intrusion of the so called time shared staff during our stay there, and most especially to Luz Elena who's in charged of Buganvilias Vallarta FB for being so accommodating to our request.

We will highly recommend -BUGANVILIAS CLUB! We just loved the resort and it's tranquil garden settings and location. It was one of our best vacation ever!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joella-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We booked through RCI a 1 bdrm with part, kitchen, balcony, upon arrival after traveling 14 hours to get there, we were offered a Jr. Suite, no balcony, partial oceanview.
apparently there were no 1 brdm available, but for a price we could upgrade to a Presidential suite for $240, balcony, and oceanview. We were tired, just wanted to get off our feet, so we agreed to this fabulous upgrade for $165.00. The room was tired, it was clean, had a great view, and a balcony, kitchen and appliances were atleast 10 years old maybe older, the paint, etc, was tired. The electronic key entry systems do not work well, you can lock the deadbolt from inside the room and anyone with a key can still get in! Not safe for anone in a shower while the door is locked! The management, never addressed our concern regarding the room and availability, there were less than 100 people staying there during the week, so they had many empty rooms, I assume because we aere RCI, they needed to make a little extra money and we were there opportunity. There are defintely to many time share people working this property and in Mexico in general. We felt we were taken advantage of at this facility.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mumjink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Dear RCI's guests:

We appreciate your writing your comments on TripAdvisor's webpage.

I was concern to learnt about your experience in our property, we deeply regret the inconveniences you had, please accept our sincere apologies. We should inform you that we had an executive staff meeting to evaluate your remarks, which will be addressed immediately, and prevent recurrance of our flaws. Your opinion is highly valued as it is a positive contribution to improve our service performance.

Thank you for providing us your view and hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Buganvilias Vacation Club. Had a wonderful time. Check in was smooth, room was great, grounds were immaculate and the staff was wonderful.

We didn't eat at the resort very much because we wanted to experience lots of different restaurants and bars, but when we did eat there we found the value comparable to other places. We did have a 20% off card for attending their "presentation" - which if your interested in purchasing a timeshare wasn't a bad deal, but we just did it for the discount on food/drinks and for the tours they offered and discounts on other tours we took.

The staff was wonderful. Jose at the pool bar was great and always there with a smile and a drink, Ana at the front desk was wonderful as was the bellboys getting us taxi's whenever we wanted. I unfortunately got sick for 4 days while there and ended up in the hospital for 24 hours and when we returned back to the hotel the conceigre had left 2 messages to find out how I was doing and always asked if I was "ok" afterwards.

Although the beach isn't the best we definately wouldn't let that stop us from returning. The pools were great!

The location is one of the best things about the resort as well. We walked into town a few times, or took the local bus or taxi's.....there was also a grocery store 2 blocks away and oxxo's everywhere.

Overall the resort was wondeful and wouldn't hestitate to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaimoGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Dear guests:

Thank you for posting your commentaries on TripAdvisor´s webpage regarding your recent visit to the Buganvilias Vacation Club.

We felt very much gratified to learn you had a pleasant stay with us as it is our policy to comply with the desires of our guests by offering them a warm personalized service and high quality facilities.

Your eloquent recognition for our staff is greatly appreciated, I will share your comments with them and I am sure they will feel rewarded and satisfied for a job well done.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,660 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#33 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#22 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,582 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvilias Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvilias Vacation Club

Address: Avenida Francisco Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $193 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buganvilias Vacation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished with "Certificate of Excellence 2012" by TRIPADVISOR'S travelers. Awesome 5 star Resort the closest Hotel of its kind to downtown Puerto Vallarta , with a convention center, Spa, Gym and much more, all rooms count with Bay front view, we also offer the best Sunday brunch in Puerto Vallarta and a great Mexican Fiesta too , we also have 11 distinctives H for quality which guarantees the best accomodations services and amenities , this will ensure you will have only the best available services at your disposition in all aspects for you to only enjoy your time off free of worries and have a fantastic vacation with your family . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Buganvilias Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buganvilias Vacation Club Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing