We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Presidential suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buganvilias Vacation Club
Ranked #51 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Presidential suites”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We upgraded to the presidential suite, and we loved it. There were 3 of us, and this worked well. The kitchen had granite countertops and stainless steel refrigerator, 2 bathrooms, 2 TV's and 2 balcony's. The maid service is very good, but you do get charged for it. I opted for a cleaning every other day. This time of year is their rainy season, but it doesn't rain all day, and it is a great time to go to this area. Not as crowded. Service at the pool is great. Pools are clean, the grounds are immaculate. There are iguanas in the area every day. We had massages and they were a great price and very relaxing. The facial was equally as good and relaxing. I used the computer center located by the hotel every day and they were helpful and friendly. As usual with time share deals they are persistent..beware the 45 min presentation is really 3 hours of interrogation, although it included brunch with the mariachi band, which was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    155
    50
    20
    10
See reviews for
217
276
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

If you love adventure, food, & the excitement, Vallarta is the place for you. The best timeshare location to make this happen is the Buganvillas Vacation Club. This is a beautiful maintained property within walking distance to the Malacon(downtown Vallarta)
The beach is rocky but the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexus95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Do not, I repeat, do not stay at this hotel. I booked two one-bedroom rooms through RCI. I emailed the hotel asking for adjoining rooms. When we arrived, we were given two one-bedrooms next door to each other. The rooms were in the oldest part of the resort. Although they were very clean, the furniture, fixtures, etc. looked like they were left over from the Brady Bunch house. You could open the windows and see the ocean but no balcony. But who wants a balcony when most of the view was of an ugly vacant lot. The bedrooms were very dark.

I asked to be moved and was told these were the rooms that RCI picked for us. I didn't care who picked the rooms. I wanted to be moved. And I then spent probably an hour of my vaca trying to get it accomplished. If the hotel had been full, I could have maybe understood their reluctance to move us. But if this hotel was even half full, I would have been very surprised. There was hardly anyone there. So I'm sure there were plenty of rooms to spare. After a very long discussion, we were moved to presidential suites in another part of the resort. When they call them presidential suites, that term is used very loosely. I can't imagine a president of anything staying in these rooms.

The rooms were much smaller. They each had their own door but connected with a foyer at the main door that opened onto the main hallway. One side was more like a hotel room with a (I think) king bed and a full bathroom and small table with two chairs. The other room had a murphy bed that was really hard, a bathroom with a shower only, a pretty spacious kitchen, and a really small sitting area. The sitting area consisted of a couch which really was a very skinny mattress type thing with two bolsters for backing. It was so narrow you could not sit on it comfortably with the bolsters because it was so narrow. They were doing construction. So starting at about 7-8 in the morning you could hear the jackhammering. Even outside by the pool, it was very disruptive.

But to give credit where credit is due, the new rooms were definitely a step up albeit much smaller. They were bright with lots of sunshine. We were on the 22nd floor. So we had balconies overlooking the pool and ocean. The view was beautiful. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The wait staff in the pool area were extremely friendly. Housekeeping kept our rooms very clean.

We signed up for a timeshare presentation at the Sheraton sister hotel next door merely to get resort credit. And I was very up front about that. We were offered $250 US, free wi-fi for the week which would have been about $70 US (the wi-fi sucked by the way), and a discount at the spa. When we went the next morning for the presentation, they wouldn't honor the agreement which was in writing by the way. The manager tried to take the slip from us. Fortunately we were a little quicker on the draw and grabbed it back. I have no doubt it would have ended up in the round file. After discussing the deal with the manager at the resort side who made us the offer, they decided to honor the agreement. The man who showed us the resort was very nice. The closer who came after him was extremely rude. Then the last person we were handed off to propositioned my daughter. I didn't hear the exchange. It's a good thing for him. When she declined his offer, he said she could rest the next day. He just wanted to celebrate his birthday like she was a ho. This is totally unacceptable.

We were given copies of written receipts for everything except the resort credit. When I asked for a copy, they refused and said they didn't have a copy machine, big fat lie. Another manager had to be called. She wouldn't give us a copy either. I was given a copy of the original agreement and told to trust her. Funny how they found a copy machine for that. So we wasted most of our second day there messing with something that should have taken a couple hours at the most. We did have an excellent brunch, though. But if you want to eat there on your own, it was $25 US, extremely expensive.

Other reviewers say it is just a short walk to town. Short walk is a relative term. It is right on the outskirts of town. And we did walk back and forth a couple of times. But it is a long, hot walk to Old Town. We did figure out the bus system, though. It was anywhere from 15-30 pesos for the three of us each time we took the bus. It must depend on the bus driver. If you want to be where the action is, definitely find a place in Old Town. And definitely do not stay here under any circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Mary:

We appreciate your thorough review after your visit to the Buganvilias Vacation Club.

We deeply regret your disconcert with your room accommodations and underestand your feelings about the way the sales staff deal with your family, please accecept our sincere apologies.

We will review our current costumer service approach procedures and sales techniques to convene with our guest expectations. Appropriate action will be taken to correct our miscalculation and prevent recurrence to any of our respected guests.

We appreciate your recognition for the beauty of the environment, and the warm and friendly service strenghts of our staff. Your opinion will contribute to improve our sales operations and guest satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact me our our Memebers Services Manager so we can investigate this further, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I just returned from two weeks at the Buganvilias Vacation Club.. I wish I was back right now. I loved my time there. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Any unit problems are dealt with swiftly.

I know I was there in the low season, but with the pool right outside your door, the bay just off to you left, the ocean breeze ruffling your hair, the warmth and humidity just don't matter. In Chicago, the weather is similar, but the amenities are missing.

There is a family feel to the club. You are treated like someone who has been away and has come home to the family that missed them. "Welcome home" is not just a mantra, they really mean it and demonstrate the depth of their desire for you to have the best vacation possible.

The beauty of the grounds, the landscaping, the flowers, the people make this a perfect vacation for me.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the ocean are my favorite. I love to listen to the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Walking distance from the all the shops, restaurants, and bars. Beautiful grounds, I love all the beautiful flowers and the iguanas living within the vegetation. Very kind and friendly staff with top security watching over the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLINTON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We sat on the balcony and watched the workers every day ... even mowing in the rain. The Buganvilias is very well maintained and a beautiful resort. We want to thank Patricia Delgado for all she did and being there for us, a great lady. It was great talking with Alejandro and Jennie in the lobby area. Buganvilias is close to grocery stores and the malecon and town, all within walking distance. I would recommend it to anyone - give it a try!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Club Member:

With great enthusiasm we have read about your gratifying experience in our resort and in our lovely Puerto Vallarta,

It is our ambition to be the best hotel resort in town and comply with our guest expectations. We will print out your comments and share them with our staff, they will be thrilled to know your kindhearted consideration for the excellent service rendered to you and your wife. Patricia will receive your warm appreciation for performing a fine role with our Club Members.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Buganvilias Vacation Club.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been a member for six years. This years saw some greatly needed improvements. Internet is available in all rooms and is of high quality; TV service has been improved with additional channels; new pool umbrellas that are large and well placed. New towel system that is easy to use. Great experience and a wonderful room. I like the upgrades, but would have preferred a stove and oven rather than a dishwasher.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#69 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#52 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#70 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#30 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvilias Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvilias Vacation Club

Property: Buganvilias Vacation Club
Address: Avenida Francisco Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buganvilias Vacation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished with "Certificate of Excellence 2012" by TRIPADVISOR'S travelers. Awesome 5 star Resort the closest Hotel of its kind to downtown Puerto Vallarta , with a convention center, Spa, Gym and much more, all rooms count with Bay front view, we also offer the best Sunday brunch in Puerto Vallarta and a great Mexican Fiesta too , we also have 11 distinctives H for quality which guarantees the best accomodations services and amenities , this will ensure you will have only the best available services at your disposition in all aspects for you to only enjoy your time off free of worries and have a fantastic vacation with your family . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Buganvilias Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buganvilias Vacation Club Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing