We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Family Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buganvilias Vacation Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buganvilias Vacation Club
Ranked #47 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Great Family Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent a week here with our three young children and my mother in law. The hotel was wonderful, amazing views! Patricia was very accommodating and helpful. It is very convenient to walk to the grocery store, and just a quick cab ride into downtown. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice getaway!
Matt & Bridget M, Texas USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    139
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
201
256
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family spent a wonderful time during our last visit at the Bouganvillias Vacation Club "home away from home".

The business office and staff were utterly committed, professional and yet very personable!
Ms Patricia Delgado went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable especially so for my 83 year old mother who had a service dog with her!

The entire staff from the IT group, the reception, and business office to the restaurant, pool bar and the room personnel were delightful!

The proximity to the Downtown area and the Old Vallarta were a big plus!

We will definitely be back often!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach and pool are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimih2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear owner from Seattle:

We appreciate your sharing your gratifying experience in our resort and in our lovely Puerto Vallarta,

It is indeed our ambition to be the best hotel resort in town and fully comply with our Club member expectations. We will print out your comments and share them with Patricia Delgado and our staff, they will be thrilled to know your kindhearted consideration for the excellent service rendered to you and your family.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Buganvilias Vacation Club..

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here Mar 23 - 30, a very busy time with all the Spring-breakers. While the resort itself was lovely, there were several disappointing areas. We were there with our children and grand children. We had two units, a presidential suite and a two bedroom. The rooms were clean and spacious with nice kitchens. We had a views of the pool and the ocean. Both units had nice balconies. The Buganvilias shares facilities with the Sheraton next door so there are two pools available to guests, each with a swim-up bar. The beach however is less desireable. In front of the resort it is very rocky. You can walk down the equivalent of 1-2 city blocks and the beach seems better but is still very rocky once you get in.

Because of the children, we chose to get the all-inclusive option. While the price was very reasonable the options were rather limited. They claimed to have 5 or 6 restaurants to choose from. However two were poolside bars. Another did not allow children under 12 and the Italian restaurant was only opened three days a week. The main restaurant was buffet style and while the food was good, it became a little routine. (We went to restaurants outside the resort three nights.)
We tried to make reservations for ziplining and swimming with the dolphins at the concierge desk but were told we had to walk over to the Sheraton to do that unless we were willing to do a timeshare presentation.
Service at the restaurants and at the pool was excellent. The waiters were always friendly and helpful. The concierge was also great about recommending good restaurants. However, checking in and checking out was a real chore and I don't really understand why everything takes so long. But we've been going to Mexico for the last fifteen years so we should be used to it by now and you really can't beat the beautiful weather and the friendly people.

Room Tip: We were in a presidential suite, rooms 2053-54, with a beautiful view of the ocean and pool. At nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guests from Chicago:

With enthusiasm we have read about your gratifying experience in our resort and your feelings for our lovely Puerto Vallarta,

It is indeed our ambition to be the best hotel resort in town and fully comply with our guest expectations. We will print out your comments and share them with our staff, they will be thrilled to know your kindhearted consideration for the excellent service rendered to you and your family.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Buganvilias Vacation Club..

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great place to stay, we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite without even requesting it. View was great and the room was more than adequate. We enjoyed the location of the resort which is in walking distance to the Malecon Boardwalk. Staff was friendly and attentive. We do love swimming in the ocean and we couldn't do that here but we were able to enjoy all the other benefits of being in a beautiful place. Beds were great......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are member for more than 10 years and we will still continue to go there.
Parc is very well maintain, people working there are nice, friendly, polite and clean.
Restaurants are not at the top level and should be improved as well as the rooms who have the same looking for ever.
Internet connection very limit in rooms and some TV channels missing (like French).
Nevertheless, if you have any problem, you can always contact Guillermo. He will for sure do his best to solve your problem (if any!).
Also the location is perfect. Short walking distance from center. I wormly recommand that place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here 3/23-3/30. A lot of what I'm saying is redundant but worth repeating.

Check-in not bad, could tell time share people were waiting for the "hand off"
Activities took about 20 minutes. Already had done all my research and she was surprised I was so organized with restaurants, tours, etc.

Stayed in a one bedroom on the 2nd floor with a wrap around deck. The size off the deck offset the low floor. In hindsight we LOVED our deck and the fact we were low and took stairs all week. Bed was soft,unusual for Mexico. Plenty of storage. Didn't use the burners or microwave once in a week. Good fridge but needs an ice-maker. Had to make our own which is a little archaic with the one blue tray. Had an issue with the ice holder but that's another story in itself.


ATM in the facility but I only used the one on the street up the block. Easy and secure.

Place is immaculate. Pools large and awesome. Clean and refreshing with lots of space to swim, do laps, whatever. Hot tub cold during day but hot at night. No bubbles though. Chairs game is a little annoying. We found chairs at 9am but later than that was a tough call. Don't appreciate that. Stay on the timeshare side imo. Chairs facing ocean on upper beach are was really nice too. Made our own drinks in big glasses and people had no issues as many others were doing the same. Lots of nationals had coolers and were having picnics in the pool/beach area.

Beach-- the rocky part is so overrated. It is a ten yard area of big rock that you have to walk through to get into the ocean, NOT A BIG DEAL!! I an lots of others swam every day. Water was perfect and little to no current. Vendors were polite and tolerable. Plenty of sand to lay out on and to stand in when swimming. Outdoor area was the coolest thing.

Location was perfect. Took taxi to marina for tours (50 pesos) and walked to Malecon. Lots of great eating places within blocks. Cap Don's for drinks and Ocho Tostados for food (on the other side of the athletic fields) were our favorites in the immediate area.

Easy ten minute walk to Malecon. I don't know if I would want to be anywhere else. The trip was really enjoyable and so relaxing. Coming back with kids next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QCbulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This trip included my wife, our daughter, her husband, our son and his wife, along with six grandchildren. We have gone here for several years, this is also returned times for the kids. Along with us, they all look forward to going here. The Sunday Brunch here is the best in Puerto Vallarta, and the other restraunts are great also. Being close to the old downtown, makes it great to go there and enjoy it. The kids and grandkids go zip lining, parasailing, and fishing. Everyone has a great time. The resort constantly upgrades its facilities, and it is always very nice and clean. The staff is always very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone. Its location is one of the best to have access to everywhere and only 15-20 minutes to Air Port.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#63 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#54 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#67 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
Club Regina Puerto Vallarta
#44 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique & Romant...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvilias Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvilias Vacation Club

Property: Buganvilias Vacation Club
Address: Avenida Francisco Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buganvilias Vacation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished with "Certificate of Excellence 2012" by TRIPADVISOR'S travelers. Awesome 5 star Resort the closest Hotel of its kind to downtown Puerto Vallarta , with a convention center, Spa, Gym and much more, all rooms count with Bay front view, we also offer the best Sunday brunch in Puerto Vallarta and a great Mexican Fiesta too , we also have 11 distinctives H for quality which guarantees the best accomodations services and amenities , this will ensure you will have only the best available services at your disposition in all aspects for you to only enjoy your time off free of worries and have a fantastic vacation with your family . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Buganvilias Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buganvilias Vacation Club Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing