We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gardens!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buganvilias Vacation Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buganvilias Vacation Club
Ranked #51 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for one week and wanted more!! The new remodeled Sky Suites are amaizing. Grounds are beautiful. This peaceful and quiet location is just walking distance to the malecon down town.From the gardens to the service and everything in between, Buganvilias Resort has it all. We love the sunday brunch and the mariachis .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    149
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
213
271
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I recently stayed at this resort and really enjoyed it. I was nervous before going as I had heard that they don't treat RCI people very well, and posted about that.

Upon my arrival, I was met at the front desk personally by the front desk manager, Hector. He informed me that I was being given my internet free for my visit (for some reason they normally charge RCI people 700 pesos per week), and that I was being given a complimentary upgrade to a room with a balcony. The first room I was taken to was stunning. Right on the ocean with a great view. It had been renovated and it was done very well. Unfortunately, when they say sofa bed, they do not mean a pull out bed, but a rock hard cushion to sleep on. As I was expecting a guest, this was not suitable. Hector came to the rescue again, and transferred me to a beautiful suite the next day. The suite also had a great view of both the ocean and the pools. We had both sides of a lock off room, one had a king bed, bathroom, chairs and balcony, the other side had a small kitchenette, queen murphy bed, bathroom, couch, and balcony. The beds were very comfortable, and the daily maid service was great (thank you Teresa!).

All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the grounds were immaculate. Although this hotel is slightly dated, it has been very well cared for, and they are renovating the rooms.

The only drawback was the timeshare people. I was approached the second I checked in, I declined my "welcome drink", knowing it was a ploy to try to get me to commit to a presentation. I was called, notes were pushed under my door etc. I finally had to be firm and say that I wasn't going, and they left me alone after that, although I was told I was making a mistake..... I also suspect that they can either monitor your key card being used or have motion detectors. Within 5 minutes of my entering the room, without fail, the timeshare people would call. I knew it was them because I had two separate room numbers and only gave out one to friends/family. Anytime the phone rang in the other room, I wouldn't answer and there would be a message asking when I was ready to book my breakfast.

I did not go to the Mexican Fiesta or the Sunday brunch, but I did have a look at the brunch and it is HUGE. Something there for every appetite

The location is great, a very easy walk to town or to two different supermarkets. The Malecon was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this resort.

.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have been coming to the vacation club since 2007. We came with some friends who own when their daughter was getting married. We purchased the timeshare because we fell in love with the place. People are so nice, the property is secure and downtown is close, the Malecon (boardwalk) and grocery stores are very close and easily accessed. Taxis are reasonable and plentiful. Buganvilias will pick their members up at the airport if arranged ahead of trip. This eliminates the craziness at the airport you may encounter when you first arrive. We find all these things to be part of the charm of Vallarta! The restaurants onsite are very good. The food is wonderful and prepared carefully and the ambience is incredible. We especially love to go into town to eat at The Happy Lobster, Pipi's, and Paradise Burger. We are usually above the 24th floor and love to sit on our balcony at night watching the cruise ships go out on their way to another port! The sculptures on the Malecon are amazing.... google them....it's worth it. Everyone we've encountered has been friendly and helpful. The swimming pools are warm and there are plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The massages are to die for....they will put you to sleep! We love you Buganvilias!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet and the views are amazing! the sunsets are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeley, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is like home to us. We own a time-share here which we try to visit every year. The hotel is ideally located near the downtown area. It is small enough to have an intimate feel to it, but big enough to offer many different activities. The personnel are helpful and friendly. My husband and I love to splash in one of the two pools or to sit and watch the waves roll in. From our balcony we have a birds-eye view of the whole Bay of Banderas. We love the town, and we love the people. Just writing this review makes me homesick. I wish I could hop on a plane tomorrow and spend the next few weeks at the Buganvilias Resort. One thing, too, is that we have always felt safe in the hotel and in the town.

Room Tip: We like one of the highter floors in the main building because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The resort is beautiful with all of his gardens, hidden jacuzzi at the center of the pool. The service was GREATwe decided to buy a week during this time of the year for 25 years. I recommend this place a lot!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Booked the trip through RCI, which this resorts treat like second class citizens. The worst part of the vacation was our arrival. Immediately upon completing check-in, you are pounced upon by seemingly gracious hosts. They ask if you're interested in booking excursions. We already had one booked on our own and she had the brochure from that company, so we figured sure let's explore. The hotel host tells us she can get us 50% off several other excursions. We asked if this was because we were RCI members. She blatantly lied and said, "yes." After 30 minutes (following a long day of travel), she says, "well, to get these discounts, just come to a breakfast sunday morning." Ok, stop right there. We had been fooled, big time. All this was was a time share pitch. But it was the lying ("discounts because you are RCI members) that left the most horrid taste in our mouths. We immediately got up and said, we're done. We're going to our room. A brutal way to start.

The rest of our stay was good. The facilities (pool and tennis) were great. The pool at the vacation club is actually nicer than at the Sheraton hotel. Pool staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping also responded immediately to several requests. We had a nice studio apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. We did not eat at any restaurants since we like to eat locally.

Unfortunately, we would not return because we already own a time share and do not want to be hounded like this when we're on vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yenrotta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Beautifully maintained resort with friendly helpful staff. Easy to walk downtown to shopping and restaurants. Don't miss amazing Sunday Champagne Brunch - great food and wonderful full mariachi band. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: In the main club tower, choose rooms above the 18th floor (actually the 8th floor as numbering start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#67 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#52 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa
#72 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#66 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#23 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buganvilias Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvilias Vacation Club

Property: Buganvilias Vacation Club
Address: Avenida Francisco Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buganvilias Vacation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished with "Certificate of Excellence 2012" by TRIPADVISOR'S travelers. Awesome 5 star Resort the closest Hotel of its kind to downtown Puerto Vallarta , with a convention center, Spa, Gym and much more, all rooms count with Bay front view, we also offer the best Sunday brunch in Puerto Vallarta and a great Mexican Fiesta too , we also have 11 distinctives H for quality which guarantees the best accomodations services and amenities , this will ensure you will have only the best available services at your disposition in all aspects for you to only enjoy your time off free of worries and have a fantastic vacation with your family . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Buganvilias Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buganvilias Vacation Club Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing