We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of Wind and Water
Nearby Hotels
$342
$278
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$269
$179
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$631
$258
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$520
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$271
$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$396
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$149
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
$352
$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
$500
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
21
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdipping poolshort walkguayaboretreatbalconypv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 22 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was here in October & November and saw the jungle in it's Tropical setting with the brilliant greens and it's lushness. Now I got to experience the jungle in it's dormant state. There is a different beauty of the greys of the trees, with the red bark of the trees standing out. The one amazing sight was the guacamayas. With the foliage now a grey color, one can see the greens and blues of the guacamayas as they fly up & down in the valley.

The sound of the River Cuale is still soothing. The warm welcoming spirit of Andy and Kathleen, adds to the experience of living out of town in a Mexican community.This B & B is well worth the time and effort to get to. You will not be disappointed if you like an adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerriM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The location of this B&B is magical with the sound of the Cuale River flowing by. The charm of the local neighborhood help to give the true Mexican flavor to those you want a unique experience. Fabulous accommodations and landscapes help to sooth the soul in this jungle journey. The restful space gives the guest a chance to slow down and rejuvenate. A short walk will take you to a river side cafe for great views, great food, and cold margaritas. A must for a couple of days when holidaying in PV. The art classes were amazing and the Art experience a thrill of a life time. Thank you Kathleen & Andy for giving me the chance to live a dream.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerriM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus-Carrillo, Owner at House of Wind and Water, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Hi Gerri, Thank you so much for that glowing review, and I am so amazed at that fabulous picture of the bird. That could be another great painting! Your the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Kathleen and Andy are thoughtful, intelligent hosts who have considered the comfort of their guests. The grounds are fabulously landscaped - banana, papaya and coconut trees, flowers, birds and butterflies are everywhere! The House of Wind and Water has a variety of lovely safe and secure accomodations, including studio apartments, and spacious twin and king rooms. Balconies with spectacular views of the rain forest flora and fauna provided amazing opportunities to watch flocks of tropical birds and parrots soar above the Rio Cuale. Delicious cooked-to-order breakfasts were served on the patio, and the dipping pool provided a refreshing afternoon break. There are several local restaraunts located within walking distance, or Puerto Vallarta's shopping, restaurants and beaches are just a short ride by car or bus. This is the place to go to relax and rejuvenate! AWESOME!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernRoseRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We cannot say enough about our stay at the House of Wind and Water . Hosts Andrew Marcus and Kathleen Carrillo are super wonderful people and made our stay an unforgettable one. Poet/sculptor Andrew is also a terrific cook, and Kathleen, a very talented artist and inspirational teacher. They are both such fun and interesting people! We slept with our doors wide open over the Rio Cuale and loved the cool breezes and the sound of jungle birds and the river rushing below......a very magical place.....and only 15 minutes from downtown Puerto Vallarta in a truly Mexican environment. The house is beautifully decorated as are the outdoor spaces which include lovely gardens, a dipping pool and water lily and koi pond. Plus, the beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in! Will definitely go back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank storeyvillarreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This is about our stay at the HOUSE OF WIND AND WATER, and what glorious 11 days it was. Initially we were apprehensive to return to Puerto Vallarta after a 30 year absence - we are adventure travelers - could we still find our "true" mexico? Driving down the dusty road along the river through little villages we found it, and better then ever, at Kathleen's and Andy's beautiful bed and breakfast. We were welcome like family, shared their delicious meals [ Andy cooks a fish to die for], laughed a lot, had stimulating conversations, talked about art and our travels. Since I had just lost my mother , I found Andy's gentle way at looking at life and its losses very helpful - my soul coach ! We both loved Kathleen's art work. Her joy of life seems to reflect in her work. We had to buy one of her paintings, and every time we look at it , we are reminded of a wonderful time together. Her eye for beauty shows in the way she decorated the guestrooms. Her attention to detail, from furniture to those gorgeous silk pillows - every room different - the bathroom and its colorful tiles, the mexican dishes...We hiked in the jungle, swam in the river , and had the best shrimps and margaritas down the road beside the river in a little mexican restaurant. When we wanted to go to PV, it was just a short busride to town. It could not have been better, the fun and bustle of PV, and the quiet and tranquillity of our B&B.
We will be back again next year, Kathleen and Andy have become special friends - we hope for a long, long time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waves-utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews