We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Try the 7 course molecular menu!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Albufera - CLOSED

La Albufera
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Long Beach
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Try the 7 course molecular menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I met a tour at this restaurant and were told about their Saturday nite $45 7 course molecular menu. In Los Angeles this would easily have been $300 so we couldn't pass it up. Every course was very small so you could eat it all, beautifully presented and explained by the chef personally. It was truly and unexpected find in a city where we eat mainly local fish. You must make a reservation as it only seat about 10 people and it takes about 2 hours. Every morsel was absolutely exciting and delicious. On a side note, as part of a food and walking tour we had their chocolate, green and beet mole which was also very good. Yor host is Pilar and her son is the chef. They are warm and friendly and make the experience a really fun evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I were looking to try a new restaurant this year and found 'La Albufera'. This restaurant, and Mole' Rosa (right next door) are run by a very pleasant lady named Pilar whose family does all the cooking. She made a point to spend time with us discussing Mexico how her family came to Puerto Vallarta.
Interesting decor with Spanish flair as Pilar is from Spain she tells us.
My husband has wanted to try paella for awhile and the presentation by Pilar was amazing, shrimp, clams, mussels, pork etc. on top of a delicious rice. (Enough for the both of us to share but I ordered the 'special' which was chiles relleno with beet soup.)
We recommend this restaurant as the service is exceptional and so is the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredibly delicious and beautiful Spanish and Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here after it was recommended by the guide on a tour of luxury homes of PV. The food was absolutely astonishingly delicious. The standout dishes we tried included cream of cilantro soup, paella, smoked marlin tostaditos and a unique pink molé enchilada. Far and away the best food we have eaten in PV. DON'T MISS THIS RESTAURANT! It is wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbobrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great tapas in pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I found this place as it was the pickup point for the International Friendship Club's house tour (go on that, by the way, It was great). I saw the tapas on the menu, and brought my husband back for happy hour. We had some wine and tried some of the tapas, such as the stuffed bell pepper with tuna, and some other items. Yummy. The gazpacho was out of this world. I wish we had more time to try everything on the menu. Another woman on the house tour said she loved the paella, which is made personal size.. There also is this interesting molecular menu, which we unfortunately couldn't try, because it was the Xmas holiday weekend. We were personally served by the excellent owner Pilar, and met the chef- her brother. Place is on Acuiles, sort of paralleling the river.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True spanish tapas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great fabada, real spanish food and amazing atmosphere! The molecular menu is a must! Prices are accesible and the service is really good. Actually the owner is in charge, so expect a great deal in terms of service!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Horacio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Albufera also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing