We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful meal in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Hacienda - CLOSED

La Hacienda
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by walking by and had to go in. The surroundings were like being in a park. It was very hard for the four of us to choose what to eat since everything sounded so interesting and different from the norm. We choose the Chicken Crepes with Cilantro sauce - excellent, the chicken tamales. - the best we ever had and the Machaga again wonderful. We are going to go back and try the rest of the menu. I can't wait!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coriander Sauce / Chicken Crepes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I noticed a picture of this dish on the outside of the restaurant- and in the mood for something green. I enjoyed the garden atmosphere. I wasn't aware it was a mostly breakfast restaurant.
In the evenings they serve what I was told " real Mexican food . ( inexpensive )
The pulled chicken and corn stuffed crepes ( 2 ) covered in coriander pure sauce and melted cheese were delicious ( 72 pesos ) . I had a nice conversation with an English speaking waiter about his son and private schooling him.
Too many staff - not communicating with each other about who has already done what for you. However all were pleasant. It wasn't very busy and everyone was wanting to do something is my guess.
I am not interested in Denny Style Breakfast Joints in PV so this was perfect for the single guy like me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank massagehotace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the Chiliquiles Primavera and Coffee Olla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant is up the street from the Guadalajara Farmacia and across from the Cathedral in old town. Set in a lovely garden courtyard, quiet and relaxing. We come here for breakfast 3 times per trip. Great coffee Olla with cinnamon, excellent food and a wonderful staff. La Hacienda is a breakfast destination with an extensive selection of delicious and unusual breakfasts. My favorites: the Crepes Azteca filled with chicken, poblano chilis and corn and Huevos Motulenos, eggs as you like on corn tortillas, ham and cheese smothered with a tomato-based sauce. All of the accompanying salsas are freshly made and you can have a healthy green drink or fresh juice with your meal. The waiters are fantastic and the ambiance holds the memories of old Mexico. The Vallarta omelet is the best you will find in PV, shrimp and the egg, the omelet has a very nice buttery taste and the apple sweet bread is fantastic with your cafe' olla while you listen to the church bells.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mexicobeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Food and Slooowwww Service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We often go to La Hacienda when Fredy Tucans or Pancake house are packed... The food is very good and as reported the café olla is excellent. That said you will wait to order your beverages (juices) will come late... the bus boys and waiters will forget to give you menus. Or if you add something like fried eggs on the side for your breakfast they will be forgotten and by the time they get to your table you will have finished... NOW all that said if you have time to kill then go! but if you need to make a bus or some other appointment forget it... One last point these things did not all happen on one occasion but 1 or 2 at various visits... but always something... Lastly The Vallarta omelet is the best you will find in PV shrimp and the egg of the omelet has a very nice buttery taste and the apple sweet bread is fantastic with your cafe' olla... so when you average a 5 on food and a 1 on service you get average...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank racerguyIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL COFFEE AND BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Excellent! Bottomless cinammon-flavoured coffee, delicious breakfast entrees, set in a quiet off-street courtyard. Go there!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CBAWLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing