We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Ranked #16 of 71 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Hotel Experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been coming to PV for years and most of my stays have been at the Rosita. I thought I would try something different this time, so I booked at the Portonovo. I am happy I did. It was updated and fresh with a nice little pool on the roof. Just up the street from the Malecon. Very nice bathrooms, TV, Internet and beds. The only negative was the pillows!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest: We are sorry to read about the pillows, they are orthopedic and some guests find them hard to sleep on... but thank you very much for the opportunity you gave us, we are very glad you chose something new and different, and we are happy you enjoyed it! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
32
68
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at Portonovo when hotel across the street charged us 50% more than our reservation stated. The staff at Portonovo were so kind and accommodating and it really is a beautiful little hotel. We had a huge room with two bedrooms and only 1000 pesos per night! Not a lot of amenities, kind of limited hours for restaurant and bar but there are plenty of places within the block either way. Great walking distance to Malencon and pretty much everything.

All of the staff were so kind and we especially appreciated Leo who I think is sort of a Bell Man/Concierge, and who helped us with so much while we were there. His English was perfect and he was always happy to give advice or arrange help for anything. We had to get a doctor for our son while we were there, which was frightening, but they were great (and I might add 3 stitches, an exam and 3 different medications for under $30 dollars US!)

This hotel is close to, but not on the beach and has small windows. Very comfortable rooms but if you want to lounge by the ocean you need to walk up the street. The pool on the roof is tiny but fine for cooling off and the view is awesome from up there. For a budget place in the heart of old town, this was really a great find. We never tried breakfast but had snacks and drinks a couple of times always with great service, very nice people. Just walk out onto street and half block up for gorgeous beach. Also, it was always very quiet - don't know if that was just luck or what, but it seemed like there was always plenty going on down on the street but we heard no noise at night. Maybe because we had an internal room too away from street.

Beds were not incredibly comfortable (they were extra firm) I think Puerto Vallarta has a thing about hard beds. The hotel we moved from was like concrete!

Just a note - a few very small things would make staying even much more comfortable ... adding a hook outside of the shower to hang your towel, a small table in front bedroom and a small shelf somewhere in bathroom to put a few things would make it just about perfect. It would also be great if they could take more advantage of the view from the roof - like higher stools or some sort of raised platform so you could see view from tables - because it is so pretty up there.

We really enjoyed this super clean, very nice hotel in old town Vallarta :)

Room Tip: We had room 101 - I think all of the 01 rooms are the big rooms - very nice but no balcony. We went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTakemebacktoPVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very pleased to read you were so comfortable with us! We are sorry about your son, we all hope he is all better now. We’ve taken into serious consideration the small things you have suggested us to help us get better, that way we really know what are our guests needs. Thank you for your overall great review and please, feel welcome to come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't raise your hopes too high.
The hotel location is good but some things were really getting on my nerves: wifi was bad (my phone just didn't get any signal on the 2nd floor), the bed is very uncomfortable and it has only 1 thin blanket. Room is TINY.
I saw a small cockroach in the bathroom too.
In the morning, when they start cleaning it, the staff makes a lot of noise, and in general it's very noisy.
For that price, it's just ok - for those who don't spend the whole day in the hotel.
And the pool - a joke.
Hotel staff is good though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest: We are sorry to hear your stay was not good enough. The hotel has several antennas throughout the property to guarantee everyone gets WiFi. However, from time to time our Internet provider fails and we have to deal with the consequences. Unfortunately in Mexico we do not have so many options on Internet providers. Our beds are orthopedic, but as we’ve stated recently, we are considering replacing some of them with softer mattresses. Blankets are available under request; we gladly bring them up to our guests if they ask for them. Thank you for your nice evaluation to our personnel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

good price,very clean,staff very kind. the only thing:dont take the breakfast at 60$(pesos) its gross and dont worth it...but for the rest a nice place to go :-) its very close from the sea(one street) and have a nice pool at the top

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It is a very nice little property and we surely hope to see you again, now that we know that our breakfast wasn0t good enough, we first thank you for letting us know and we assure you will do everything in our power to make it better. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, ON
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location! Now that the buses don't run past it anymore, it is very quiet. The hotel has a modern look to it. (contemporary tiles-art) Very clean! The service is excellent. You want more towels, a blanket, an iron then you get it almost immediately. The bathrooms have glass showers however the doors often won't close with a tight seal. Water pressure and temperature are perfect. The beds are very firm and the pillows too plump and firm for my liking. However I just went across the street to Leys department store and purchased a smaller pillow for about $5 and then I slept quite well. I have come here before and will return. We own a condo in Puerto Vallarta that we rent out and if we aren't ready to head home to Canada then this is our hotel choice. I haven't used the pool or restaurant areas as there are so many other things in PV to keep you occupied. The internet has been off and on which can be bothersome. Next door is an internet cafe and for 50 cents you can use them there. I also saw a few small bugs but hey I'm bigger than they are so I just ignored them. The price and the location negates any complaints in my opinion. $50 a night and right at the Malecon. Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanJean57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your overall kind review. We will work on the internet issues. About the little bugs, we are constantly fumigating, our extermitator visit us monthly during the winter and spring and twice a month during summer and fall. Thank you again and we can't wait to have you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Portonovo recently as we wanted to be close to the Old Town and see more of that part of Puerto Vallarta. The hotel has 45 rooms on 3 floors with a very small pool on the rooftop (the 4th floor). It has a small restaurant on this level with a modest menu and good prices. The room that we required was a double (2 beds). The room had a window that opened and a small one over the shower in the bathroom that also opened. The hotel has been built on a modest budget but it is tastefully decorated.

The beds and thick pillows were extra hard - and both my husband and I found it difficult to sleep and ended up with backaches that only disappeared once we got into softer beds with softer pillows. I had to ask for a wine glass for the week as no glasses were supplied in the room. I was told that I could buy some ice, but I was ultimately able to get a couple of ice cubes in the wine glass from the restaurant person. There was no balcony from the double room but I noticed that there were small balconies with 1 chair on each on the smaller rooms.
Rooms looked out on the the main road, or a back roadway towards the beach.

We had to relinquish our room key when we wanted to get beach towels to use for either the pool or the beach which was a short walk away. When one wanted to sit on the beach, one showed that you were with Portonovo Hotel and you were provided a lounger and an umbrella. We had to wear wrist bands for the entire length of stay - apparently for "security" reasons. Internet was available in the rooms.

I think most of the guests are Mexican visitors who are there for short stays.

The small staff are friendly and helpful people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out to the back -
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneVDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest: Our beds and pillows are orthopedic and are thought to improve our guests physicall health, we are so sorry to hear they were not so comfortable to you and for that, we will evaluate the possibility to replace some of them with softer matresses. We thank you for your good overall review and we sure hope to have you over in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel Portonovo is a five minute walk to the Mélançon de Puerto Vallarta. If covenience is a major consideration to the playa and shops Portonovo is a good choice for mid priced, contemporary lodging. Couples suggest upgrading to double beds since there are no queen or king size beds. The rooms are tidy and hotel well managed and front desk bilingual - Spanish and English. . Expect to pay around USD$70. per night. Recommend!

Room Tip: Upgrade to double beds. No queen size beds and single beds are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia A, Director of Sales at Hotel Portonovo Plaza, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We are glad to know we provided a good service and that your stay with us was overall pleasant. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#54 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portonovo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portonovo Plaza

Property: Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Address: Avenida Mexico # 1125 | Colonia 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portonovo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, three small blocks away from the Famous Malecon! This totally new 45 mid-luxury rooms welcomes all kind of guests, especially those traveling on a budget but without willing to sacrifice comfort, location and style. We provide a wonderful downtown experience for we try to pamper and make all of our guests stay unique. We attend their needs and provide wonderful service. For that, all of our guests leave feeling happy and they keep coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Portonovo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing