We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best again!”
Review of Mama Rosa

Mama Rosa
Ranked #218 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Description: email address mamarosavallarta@hotmail.com
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best again!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Second visit was just as great as the first. Don't know if you can find anywhere more charming, at a better price point anywhere in PV. Original menu, fantastic staff and lovely ambiance. Plus you get to stroll down to the Malacon when you're done. Great way to spend an evening!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    50
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service, low prices”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Found this restaurant on the advice of a shopkeeper nearby. Had breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is perfectly prepared and the presentation is lovely. The two owners take a lot of pride in making sure you have an excellent experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TJLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We'd Return”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were brought to this restaurant by some friends who are full time residents of Puerto Vallarta. It is in a quiet location a short distance away from the malecon but a very easy stroll. We enjoyed it so much we returned a second time and brought some other friends along. The staff at the restaurant are friendly and efficient and our dinners were excellent. The covered but open air nature of the restaurant make it a pleasant place in the evening. I would definitely recommend the beef dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keninakayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average but has potential”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I have to say that we went here only for lunch. They were still serving breakfast at noon but that was no big deal. I found tamales on their menu under specialties. My partner ordered cheese enchiladas. Both came out at room temperature, the side refried beans were actually cold. My tamales did have good flavor, the cheese enchiladas were nothing great.
The space is wonderful and the service, warm and helpful.
We will definitely return for dinner. The menu looks inviting and the wine list is impressive. I also think that this location is fairly new for them and they may not have the bugs worked out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely new restaurant in PV”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ate at Mama Rosa because the place we planned on was closed. Didn't know what to expect. Wow ! What a great surprise . The menu was extensive offering meats,chicken,fish , seafood , and salads ..great desserts too. We sat in the pretty court yard in view of the immaculate outdoor kitchen. It was a treat watching the two chefs create beautiful dishes. The food arrived looking like a work of art and tasting even better . Service was great too ..we will definitely return .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Rosa also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mama Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing