We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mexican food at its best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Rosa

Mama Rosa
Ranked #199 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: email address mamarosavallarta@hotmail.com
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
343 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Mexican food at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant is a bit out of the way from downtown PV, and you need to walk up a fairly steep hill and stairs to get to it, but once you arrive, it will be well worth your effort. It’s open air with a nice view of PV below and the ocean in the distance. They have an excellent Mexican buffet for lunch and you order off the menu for supper. We were there for lunch and had an excellent meal. Nobody rushes you. Choices included crepes, burritos, beans, tamales, scalloped potatoes, chicken, and lots more. The service was very friendly and courteous. I would highly recommend this place and will definitely be back next time we’re in PV.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    50
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great Find in Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Mamá Rosa was an unexpected find in El Centro. We have been to PV many times but have not come upon this gem before It is a traditional Mexican Restaurant with a gourmet flair. On the terrace you have a wonderful view of the Bay and there is a welcome breeze if the weather is hot.

The service is impeccable and the prices are very reasonable.

I would not recommend the lunch buffet. It is quite acceptable but the dinner is superb.

However, because of the lack of tourists during the Summer months, they close at the end of April for the entire Summer when it is hot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela3229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Portions are unpredictable here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

They have a set up here where you order in price groupings depending on how many courses you want. Two of us ordered the $149 one course meal, and one person ordered the next bracket up at $189 Pesos, which included an appetizer.

I might be a little off on explaining the pricing system at this restaurant because figuring it out required more effort than I wanted to put forth when I'm hungry, but that's the general idea. I don't remember how much my Chile en Nogada was.....I think it was on the "specialty's" list but I remember thinking the price was reasonable for such a labor intensive dish.

The price of everything isn't bad for the gourmet quality of the food, but surprise....the dish arrives and the servings are Nouvelle Cuisine size. My son's fiance's chicken amounted to 4 bites. They had just gotten engaged that day so this was a celebration dinner, but I felt bad for her because the rice was topped with spiced sweet potato like a traditional Thanksgiving sweet potatoe dish. She doesn't like that at all, so didn't eat the rice. When ordering we asked what came with each dish and they never mentioned the sweet potato, only that it came with rice. Two of the other dishes were also only a few bites. My husband wanted beans instead of rice....and his bowl of beans was as large or larger than the meat serving.

On the other hand, my Chile en Nogada was a normal serving size and it was heavenly. I have had this dish one other time somewhere else and it didn't live up to how good I knew it could be. They really do it right at this restaurant, I could tell that all of the ingredients were there....it is excellent.

The service was impeccable and friendly. They had a singer/guitar player and that was very nice too, and it's a great looking place.

My family left hungry. I am posting photos and you might not be able to tell size because the plates they use are smaller than average. In looking at older photos, it appears they may have downsized their servings. We can all relate to skipping an appetizer because we want to save room for dinner, it is the opposite here.... order with an appetizer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KansasPVgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HARD TO BEAT...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Living in Puerto Vallarta... a city with many fine restaurants.... this is one of the best.... from the friendly owners and the entire staff to the food a fantastic spot.... the exceptional service would be hard to top anywhere in the world.... and food to match... get off the beaten path and Malecon and try this great spot out.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bajajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Casual Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mama Rosa is a bit of a hidden gem in Downtown, up the steps and out of the way but what a great menu they have, well presented and tastey. Service is top notch to.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MexEng72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Rosa also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mama Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing