We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Casual Mexican”
Review of Mama Rosa

Mama Rosa
Ranked #218 of 1,028 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: email address mamarosavallarta@hotmail.com
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Casual Mexican”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mama Rosa is a bit of a hidden gem in Downtown, up the steps and out of the way but what a great menu they have, well presented and tastey. Service is top notch to.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MexEng72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    50
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal again!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went back to Mama Rosa's this year and was not disappointed. Had a wonderful meal, beautifully presented at an amazingly reasonable price. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thesundancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always Superb”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I and a cadre of friends from out of town and also from Puerto Vallarta have dined here repeatedly over the past several years. Never anything but exceptional service, good food, beautiful presentations and great value. Some previous reviewers were less than impressed but never in our experience. We have been visiting PV for 17 years and Mama Rosa ranks high in our top ten restaurant experiences.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jawsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another annual pilgrimage”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is another of our favourite haunts. The owner is always very friendly and the service is great. We had a window table which afforded us a pleasant outlook with the ocean in the distant background. The food was excellent, the menu varied and well priced. Definitely on the list again for next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamandaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in PVR!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate here three times. The food is always excellent and the three course meals are a terrific value. The place is small and fills up so be sure to make a reservation ahead. The service is great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeWashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Rosa also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Mama Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing