We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for writing a book”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de los Arcos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de los Arcos
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for writing a book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently had the privilege of combining a corporate retreat with ghostwriting a book for some very special clients. They could not have chosen a better venue than Casa de los Arcos. Clinging to the hillside and cascading down in a series of suites and gardens that authentically reflect Susan and David's deep love of Mexico and personal styles, this is a wonderful base for exploring the old town just a short walk below. Whether it's enjoying a sunset from the deck or cooling off in the pool, or watching the albatrosses hang lazily in the air above the Bay of Banderos, this place will make your experience of Puerto Vallarta quite, quite magical. I will be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
119
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had the privilege again this year of spending a long, relaxing vacation with Susan Wiseman and David Lord at Casa de los Arcos in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. The hospitality is unrivalled, the conviviality of the other guests makes for a lot of fun, the accommodation is superb, and the views from the villa are spectacular. I'm looking forward to returning for many more years to come.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are considering Casa de los Arcos, then please do read the reviews below and you will understand why we love this place, too!

The best parts for us:

1) David & Susan - the proprietors of the resort live right on the premises and will ensure that you have the best possible experience. This includes making arrangements to / from the airport as well as helping you with shopping. Don't worry - they will take their cues regarding how much you need from them. If you want total privacy, it will be yours. But I would recommend, if invited, to join them for conversation and margaritas. They are friendly, wonderful, and interesting.

2) The staff - They are around and helpful. If you need a taxi, you will have one in moments. Housekeeping is first class. We took Susan's suggestion and had a local cook (Rosie) make us dinner (delicious!) on our first night. A delightful way to settle in.

3) Location - You are pretty far up the hillside, and all the Casa's (except the lowest one) have great views of the water and hillside. We stayed in Casa Grande (2 bedrooms) and really enjoyed the spaciousness, expansive deck, and view of the blue waters. Susan will show you the shortcuts to the beach and town.

The location was perfect for us because we wanted a richer experience than just checking into a 10 story hotel with 200 rooms. We were tourists but did not feel at all like we were in a "touristy" location. It is a nice safe neighborhood (PV seems quite safe) and you feel closer to the local culture.

Other Notes -
If you love the water, you must get out on the Bay of Banderas. It is beautiful, expansive, and teeming with life. If you love nature & flowers, definitely visit the Botanical Gardens (they have a great hike to the river & a good restaurant, too). We enjoyed excellent meals & service at Daiquiri Dicks, Oscar's, and The Red Cabbage.

We had a wonderful time at Casa de los Arcos. We totally unplugged from the cell phones and the computer. For us, it was relaxing and a fun adventure that greatly exceeded our expectations. Wishing you much happiness, too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is not often that we visit a place twice but to do it twice in a 7 month period is a first. My wife and I were so enchanted with the David and Susan and the property at Casa de los Arcos that we had to come again. What we couldn't believe is how much has been done in such a short period of time. David had designed and built a beautiful series of terraces and gardens that give excellent views of Banderas Bay and the breathtaking sunsets. We enjoyed every moment we had there with its wonderful hosts and breathtaking beauty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryMary528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I could not imagine a more perfect place than Casa de los Arcos. My husband and I have stayed here twice within the past four years and both times have been magical. The property is amazing and each casa is uniquely different offering something for everyone. We have stayed in the Casa Palapa and the Casita -both offer stunning views of the city and bay.
Susan and David are wonderful hosts and will do whatever they can to help you make the most of your vacation, from arranging airport pickups to dining advice and daytrips, they are very knowledgeable and will help to make your trip magical. We can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBella2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia, wa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

What can I add that hasn't already been said about this lovely piece of property? The casas are nestled one above the other on a wooded hillside located above the old town section- a mere 15 minute walk into town and yet high enough to hear the church bells, but still away from the din of traffic and city noise. It is a sanctuary and a peaceful retreat much appreciated after a tiring day of shopping or excursions into the countryside. If you were to chose a place to live in Puerto Vallarta, this would be it.
The local neighborhood is a mixture of condos and private homes. Steep cobblestone roads discourage speeding vehicles and we found walking to be a safe and pleasant exercise. I really enjoyed greeting the local residents along the way. It gave me a feeling of acceptance. The area is hilly- that's part of the charm. But you can always take a taxi for $4 or $5 especially in the evening when the legs start to feel it and you can't wait for that beverage of choice while relaxing on the patio with the city at your feet.
Susan and David are simply amazing. They have a zest for life that is contagious. The villa is kept polished like a rare gem. Accomodations are exceptional. Dave took us out on his boat one day to watch the whales- what an experience! I offered to help pay for the gas, but he wouldn't accept a dime. Susan took us into town to grocery shop and stood by while we prowled the aisles. Very nice. When we said goodby at the airport, it was like leaving old friends. Lovely people, lovely villa. We shall return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheezemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Casa de los Arcos is a true shangri-la and hidden gem. Old Town Puerto Vallarta is filled with wonderful culture and beauty from the nature to the people. Susan and David are wonderful hosts with the best stories and hospitality! Susan was so helpful in coordinating some of our plans for our trip to PV. It's so easy to book reservations and coordinate trip activities because she corresponds so quickly. Our transportation form the airport to Casa de los Arcos was coordinated by Susan and she took us to the market once we arrived so we could get some basics. We were able to check out the walking path as we drove out to the market and she gave us great tips on getting into town. Susan was excited to share her lists of favorite places to eat and a referral for a really cool tile shop in town. She also made sure we knew how to coordinate taxi rides and get around town. It was so comforting to have all the local insight that she so openly shared with us.

Upon arriving, Carlos greeted us at the door and helped us with our baggages. He was always available to help out and greeted us with a wonderful smile each time. The property was well maintained and very welcoming. The casas were nicely laid out with decent privacy for all the guests. We originally asked for Casa Palapa, but it was already booked so we reserved the Casa Grande and were so happy that we had the chance to enjoy the lovely space. It was alot of space for just my husband and myself, but it was so nice to have it all to enjoy for the five days that we were staying there.

The casa was adorned with lovely paintings made by Susan and other tasteful art pieces. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and decorated with beautiful tiles. The kitchen was fully equipped with a lot of great basic supplies which made it easy to cook and prepare a variety of snacks and meals. I was also amazed at how clean the space was and noticed that Felipa came daily and managed to make sure everything was refreshed and cleaned well. I finally got to meet her on the last day and only wished that I got to spend more time chatting with her. She was super friendly and welcoming.

Our first night there, we enjoyed a delicious homemade feast made by Nena a local lady in the neighborhood. Guacamole, Salad, Tortillas and Salsa to start then came the chicken enchiladas with salsa verde, chiles relleno with queso and salsa roja, rice w/ corn & chiles and creamy flan for a sweet ending. There was so much food, that I made homemade chilequiles for breakfast during our entire stay.

We wanted to check out the local food scene so we took Susan's recommendation to book with Vallarta Food Tours (see our review) on our first full day. Later in the evening we met up with Susan and David for margaritas on their terrace along with other guests. We had a blast getting to know each other and sharing stories of travel and interests. Their dogs were so friendly and entertaining!

Unfortunately we were unable to join David, Susan and some of the other guests for a day trip out on their boat because we already reserved prior reservations with Ocean Friendly Tours (see review). David was so kind to loan me one of his telephoto lens for my SLR so that I could take better pics on our whale watching trip.

We often walked down into town and took the path with the stairs or side streets if we were headed down during the night. The streets are extremely uneven and cobbled stoned so it's best to wear comfortable flat and closed toe shoes. It is a good 15 minute walk down right into Old Town. The walk up is a great workout, but is not meant for people who can't handle steep inclines. The walk down is not ideal for people with weak ankles or knees. We live in a very hilly area so we were comfortable walking up and down the hill. We also took the taxi several times, but make sure to get enough small change for fare.

It was so challenging to get enough small change since the ATM dispensed larger bills and so many places didn't want to break large bills. So make sure to get enough change in smaller bills if you intend on riding the taxi often or going to smaller mom & pop shops.

It's a 15 min walk down the stairs and across the highway to the closest bus stop if you want to explore the Botanical Garden (30 min ride). I would ride the bus to the garden, but take a taxicab back. If you decide to stay until the end of the day at the Botanical Garden and take the bus back, be prepared to be for a speedy winding ride in a jam packed bus. I would recommend talking the bus during non peak hours.

Casa de los Arcos is centrally located, it was an easy ride to and from the airport, to and from the port/marina, Centro, Old Town, Botanical Garden. There are a variety of bars, restaurants and shops to explore within walking distance or a very short cab ride up and down the hill.

The days flew by and we loved having the peaceful and scenic settings of Casa de los Arcos. It truly was our home away from home. Susan, David, Carlos and Felipa were all so welcoming and warm, they all took such great care of us throughout our stay. Susan was so gracious to let us check out later in the day since our flight was not leaving until late afternoon and there wasn't anyone checking into our casa that day so we got to enjoy it for a few extra hours which made it possible for us to explore the town a little bit more and relax in the casa before we headed back home. Susan and David went above and beyond throughout our stay and I just can't list everything that they did to make our trip so memorable and enjoyable. It was so special to have a place like Casa de los Arcos to stay where we could truly relax and enjoy the peacefulness. If I could manage to take enough time off to plan annual visits to Casa de los Arcos I would, maybe I will need to...

If you are looking to stay in a hidden paradise with some of the best cityscape and ocean views that's close to the culturally diverse Old Town scene, then Casa de los Arcos is the true Shangri-La in Pto Vallarta for you!

Room Tip: Each casa with a balcony/terrace has a great view of the city and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcaabaybrokstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Arcos

Property: Casa de los Arcos
Address: Calle Hortencias 168 | Colonia Alta Vista, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Los Arcos is a luxurious villa nestled into the hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean,with incredible unobstructed views of Los Muertos Beach, the jungle and old town Puerto Vallarta. The villa has 4 spacious suites. Rent the suites individually, or rent the whole villa, and it can sleep 10 people. There are 5 bedrooms with en-suite baths. There is lots of privacy, and large entertaining and dining areas. We will gladly arrange all your airport transfers, and once settled at the villa, we head off to the grocery store to stock your fridge. Margaritas, to follow! We are happy to arrange activities, tours and car rentals for you. Treat yourself to home spa day, with a massage, facial, manicure and pedicure. We can arrange this for you upon arrival or set it up in advance. For the nights that you do not wish to dine out, have a private cook brought in to create a wonderful Mexican meal. Our high speed internet and telephone guarantee that you can stay in touch (bring your laptops). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing