We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh! (opinion in Spanish and English translation below)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites
Ranked #65 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh! (opinion in Spanish and English translation below)”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Puntos positivos: el hotel es bonito, las habitaciones grandes y espaciosas, así como la piscina, y su ubicación buena dentro de Puerto Vallarta. Buen parking, precios decentes.

Puntos negativos:
· Se supone que es un aparthotel, con mini-cocina y tal, si bien no hay fogones, sólo microondas, de modo que no sirve para nada, y acabas teniendo que comer fuera (no se puede cocinar nada).
· La conexión a internet es lamentable, olvídate de ver una película online, , vídeo de youtube ni en broma, ni siquiera cargar un gif. Ridículo en ya casi 2014.
· El servicio de habitaciones va a limpiar tu habitación cuando le da la gana, si es que llega a ir, puesto que un día ni fueron a limpiar, a pesar del cartelito en la puerta.
· La tele de la habitación no funcionaba.
· Los WC no funcionan bien, y se atascan a la mínima.
· En la habitación no había luz en el techo, y las lámparas de la mesita de noche no funcionaban (habitación a oscuras).
· Muchas veces el agua del grifo expulsaba agua estancada y apestosa.
· Al tercer día de morir una cucaracha en el pasillo, las hormigas se la llevaron antes de que alguien barriera la zona y la quitara de ahí.
· Los precios del restaurante son ridículamente caros.
· Tienen una pequeña tienda, lo cual está bien, pero les faltan artículos básicos a la venta, como por ejemplo crema de protección solar.
· Deshidratado a las 4:00 am, al llamar al servicio de habitaciones para pedir agua (el agua del grifo no es potable, y, como he dicho antes, a veces marrón-amarillenta apestosa), en recepción me aseguraron que no podían subirme a la habitación una botella de agua, es decir, o no le dio la gana de hacer su trabajo a quien me atendió, o realmente en todo el hotel no había una miserable botella de agua para el cliente. Tuve que ir a la tienda 24h más cercana al hotel. Daliniano.
· Interruptores que no funcionan, bombillas fundidas, enchufes que no dan corriente...
· No sé qué sistema tienen para las luces del baño, pero al encenderlas, parece que se active el reactor nuclear de fukushima, es decir, ruido ensordecedor.

En resumen, mi impresión fue muy buena al principio, sobretodo por lo espaciosas, bonitas y grandes habitaciones y, en general, el hotel; pero a medida que avanzaron los días de mi estancia (estuve 6 días), mi opinión ha ido cambiando hasta estar bastante harto. Nada funciona correctamente, siempre falla algo. En la mayoría de casos, fallan toda esa clase de detalles que acaban por provocarte el deseo irrefrenable de dejar una vela encendida muy cerca de las cortinas, antes de largarte de ahí.

In English:

Positives: the hotel is nice , large , spacious rooms and pool , and a great location in Puerto Vallarta. Good parking, decent prices.
Negatives:
· It is assumed that rooms are serviced apartments , with kitchen and such, but no stove, just a microwave , so it is useless , and you end up having to eat out (can not cook anything ) .
· The internet connexion is the slowest i've used since 1990 , forget about watching a movie online , youtube video, even loading a gif . Almost ridiculous in 2014.
· Room service will clean your room when he feels like it , if they go , like a day they didn't come, despite the sign on the door .
· The TV room was not working.
· The toilets do not work well , and stuck extremely easily .
· In the room there was no light in the ceiling, lamps and bedside table were not working ( dark room ) .
· Often tap water expelling stagnant , stinking water.
· On the third day of dying cockroach in the hallway , the ants took the corpse before someone sweep the area and take off it from there .
· Restaurant prices are ridiculously expensive.
· They have a small shop, which is fine , but lack basic items for sale , such as sun protection cream.
· Dehydrated at 4:00 am , i phoned the room service to ask for water ( tap water is not potable , and , as I said before, sometimes yellowish- brown smelly) , front desk assured me that they could not bring me a bottle of water, that is, or she gived a crap about her job, or actually in the hotel there wasn't a miserable water bottle to the customer. Had to go to the nearest store 24h hotel . Mexican surrealism as its finest .
· Switches that do not work , blown bulbs , plugs that do not give current ...
· I do not know what system they have for the bathroom lights , when you switch on the lights , it seems like the Fukushima nuclear reactor is activated , ie , deafening noise .

In short, my impression was very good at first, especially because so spacious , nice big rooms and generally the hotel , but as it progressed the days of my stay ( I was 6 days), my opinion has changed to be pretty sick of it. Nothing works properly, always misses something. In most cases , fails all that kind of details that ultimately provoke the uncontrollable desire to leave a burning candle close to the curtains before getting the hell out of there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isidro_787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    71
    33
    22
    22
See reviews for
70
62
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My college student son and I spent a week at this hotel and it was wonderful. We were there in mid-March, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean and pleasant, and the grounds are beautiful. Very spacious suite; we could have held a party in our living/dining room, had we known anyone there to invite. It was quiet all week, including the weekends when there were plenty of people there. Mostly seems to cater to Mexican tourists, and that was so much nicer than surrounding ourselves with other Americans at the big resorts. Walked across the street to the resort to the beach, walked a couple of blocks to Starbucks to use the wifi (it wasn't working at the hotel the whole time we were there), and walked a couple of blocks to a huge grocery store and ATMs, banks, movie theater. We walked from the hotel to the malecon, about 2 miles, and took cabs back at night, for about $4 one way. Everything felt very safe. We would stay at this same place again, happily. Excellent value and very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are in one of 6 buildings, each 3 stories high, surrounding the pool. Ours looked over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro F, E-Commerce Executive at Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
It was truly a pleasure to have you here with us, at your home away from home in Vallarta. The entire Puerto de Luna staff and I are grateful to have been able to serve you during your vacation, and to have made a positive impression.

Sincerely,

Christian Maciel Murillo Sanjuan
E-Commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at this resort from March 10-17. I was a single traveller. Everyone at the resort was very kind and helpful. The only concerns I had .... I had asked for a ground floor Jr. suite which was supposed to be AC. I did not want to take my luggage up to 3 or 4 floors because their wasnt an elevator. I turned on the AC in bedroom and livingroom and they were dead. When I called the desk, the clerk said something about water on the floor, and the AC didnt work that well and leaked water??I told her that since I was a lone traveller,. and on the ground floor, I had to have the AC (or fan....no ceiling fan in living room) She got back to me, and sent the handi man to fix the problem. When he took the face plate off the circut breaker, I noticed the wires had be just cut off...hence no AC or fan. He stripped the wires, and reconnected, and they worked. The AC was more of a fan than anything, but it was fine after dark....In the daytime, I had no worries leaving the door open when I was in the livingroom.

GET THE JUNIOR SUITE! I made mini ice blocks using the white coffee cups because the store at the site didnt seem to have ice and I didnt want to pack it.

It was clean. the maid was great...A few pesos on the pillow, and she left me fresh flowers. A little goes a long way....hint...

the pool was great, and quite long, great for laps.

The breakfast in the morning was good. During the wee you got to choose what you wanted. I liked the weekend because it was a nice Mexican buffet. The waiter was great...forget his name...he was lots of fun....and made me feel very welcome. Mind you, a few pesos is a good way because I dont think they get much....

the deskclerks were all nice...Overall, I was happy with the resort, and wouldnt hesitate to stay there again.

The only thing was, because I was on my own, I would have preferred to be in Old town. There werent too many restaurants that werent attached to a resort. If I wanted to eat at Chillis or outback or pizzahut, I could do at home. The hotel only served breakfast.

The days I took the bus into old town, I really enjoyed the foot in the little restaurants... PV has charm, and the people are lovely. (aside from the timeshare sharks lol)

One day, I went to Margaritaville, and had thebest shrimp ceviche...it was so good...but for a hint, I would order a side of tortillas...crackers dont cut it.....They also made salsa at the table using grilled tomatoes...it WAS SO GOOD!!! You could order it anyway....mild to hot. Their Mango Margaritas were so good!

I went up to Walmart to buy the fresh cut fruits to make up my own fruit salad...Tickle ya was cheap there too!

I have been going to PV since 1972. I have to say, I still love it! The beaches dont compare to Thailand or Vietnam....but they are nice, the people are great, and as a single woman traveller...I felt totally safe! I hadnt been there since 1986...and it has grown...but it still has charm.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool and a Jr. Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizziebordenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascouche, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

two days upon are arrival , they stole in are room , a 500$ pair of oakley sunglasses . the
public relation person told us that they would be an investigation , and they will either give us
some money or find the sunglass , never happen !!! plus they continue plyaing and breaking are luggages ! so we handup by keeping are luggages locks at all time .also
they were a lot bug , and the place was not clean at all .do yourself a favor don t go there !!!
it was my 29 trips and it was the very 1st athing like that happen !!!
signed ; claude desjardins .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank claude d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Ok, first and foremost, I have been traveling my whole life, and I am a certified travel agent...all in all, this hotel is an excellent value. If you purchase this hotel expecting a 5 star, you should go down the street and stay at a Riu or a Palace hotel.

-Nowhere does this hotel advertise that they have elevators, so DO expect to walk up some stairs, however, please do know that there aren't more than 4 stories (from what I noticed).
-This hotel does NOT advertise as an all inclusive, so don't expect to have everything included, but do expect to pay for your meals/drinks.
-This hotel is NOT on the beach, so do expect to walk a few meters to get to the beach, it is across the street from the beach.

All in all, this hotel was VERY clean, the staff was very helpful. I didn't eat many meals at the hotel, as I love to explore and step out of the hotel to experience the authentic meals available, therefor I cannot speak much about the restaurant, but I did hear some good comments during my stay.

While I was there, I did have a conversation with whom I believed was the Manager, and he was very nice, and helpful as well, told me about the area and great local things to see.

If you travel to the Puerto de Luna expecting a nice, clean hotel, you've come to the right place (the grounds are VERY nicely arranged), but please don't expect things they do not sell. If you think the beds were uncomfortable, it doesn't mean they are not quality...everybody adjust differently to different matteresses. I didn't feel comfortable, but my husband who was sleeping by my side loved the bed....(et he can curl up in a ball on a rock and he would be happy).

I would deffinately recommend this hotel if you don't wanna be in an all inclusive and you simply need a place to sleep. It's a very good quality/price. This hotel would be great for business trips, and for cultural trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samsonv05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro F, E-Commerce Executive at Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Hi. Thank you very, very much for your kind comments.
We are certainly very glad you had a good time while staying with us and looking forward to see you again in your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

For $70 dollars a night , we had a massive apartment ( with 2 bathrooms, kitchenette, TV). Very mexican in design, and exceptionally clean. Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome, and were a great resource for things to do (ask for Ruthe).
The room included a free breakfast (a menu with eggs, bacon, pancakes etc), and was 2 blocks from the supermarket (for lunch stuff and drinks). The grounds were immaculate, and the pool was great. It's across the street from the beach, and right on the main street so you can catch a bus ($.65) downtown, or to the marina for dinner. If you are looking for luxury, go to an all inclusive - If you want a safe, clean, central place to hang out , go to Puerto De Luna !

Room Tip: Get the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindamymko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro F, E-Commerce Executive at Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Hello.
We really appreciate the comments in your review and are glad you had an excellent time during your stay.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTELl. We were misled on this hotel, and won it through an auction. The rooms are not worth the price at all. I could have slept in an ally, and I would have been more comfortable, and probably felt safer too. Rooms at the Super 8 in Seattle are ten times nicer. There are too many things wrong with this place to even list, but I am going to try anyway.
My suggestion to anyone is to pay the extra money, and stay across the street at the Holiday Inn or one of the other many hotels on the beach. My wife and I switched to the Holiday Inn 3 days into our trip, and it was ten times nicer, cleaner, friendlier, and safer.
So here is my list of of complaints:
1) Unclean and Unkept - mold in the kitchen and bathroom, and the smell absolutely wreaked. One of the 8 other couples in the entire place complained that their plumbing and electricity were not working. Our A/C was as loud as a jet engine. Toilet troubles. TV did not function. Ant problem, and the list goes on.
2) Not comfortable - As someone else mentioned, the beds are hard as rocks. My back ached for hours every morning.
3) Safety - My wife flat out felt unsafe, and I would have to agree We have been a few trips to Mexico, and we had never had that uneasy feeling before. The door to the room was old style lock and metal key. No deadbolt. Two of the nights there was constant screaming and wall thumping. No lock box for valuables.
I can't say how bad this place was. Book it at your own risk. Shop around, there are many others way better. Do your research and get something on the beach in the "hotel zone."

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTandersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro F, E-Commerce Executive at Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Hello, MTandersons,

I and the complete hotel staff are really dissapointed you did not have a good time when you stayed with us. Since then, all of us have been working hard on the issues you pointed above and believe me when I say that this problems are not coming up anymore.
I also want to thank you for the feedback, it's because of it that we are improving our operations.

I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Vallartasol Hotel
Vallartasol Hotel
#84 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
370 reviews
3.0 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#40 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
#52 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites

Property: Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio No. 2500, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be welcomed to the lovely Puerto de Luna All Suites Hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico! At this family friendly four-star hotel, our bet is that clean beds, delicious breakfasts and the surrounding cuteness will maximize all of our guests' joy of living this Mexican paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto De Luna All Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto De Luna Hotel
Puerto De Luna Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing