We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Maria Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We just stayed here from June 7th - 11th and everything about it was exceptional. We literally had the place to ourselves for most of the stay (how it was empty I will never know!) and could not have been happier. We stayed in the Maria, which has to be one of the most amazing rooms I have ever stayed in. However, as we were the only visitors for the first couple of days, we got to roam the grounds and check out the other rooms. We would have been happy with ANY of them. The individual uniqueness of each room promotes a very personalized feel no matter which one you are staying in. The staff was incredibly gracious and friendly and the breakfasts were amazing. There isn't one negative thing I could possibly say about this place. I already wish we were back....

Room Tip: The Maria was awesome! Great view, great space, great comfort. Highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COGODEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
146
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

What a magical place! We stayed in the Maria suite and couldn't have been more enchanted by the building, location, and room. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating - we were sad to leave them. We were given more water bottles for fresh water that we could drink, and even a couple 'welcome' beers, which were promptly opened on our first day. And what's more - the staff surprised us with margaritas one afternoon after there was some loud construction from a neighboring building at breakfast. Such thoughtful service!

Pros:
-the beach: totally empty so you don't have to deal with all the vendors that attack the more popular beaches
-the building: feels like it was owned by a wealthy Mexican family mid-century and still retains that charm and special personality
-the staff: couldn't wait to meet us and get us everything we needed to be comfortable - some of these people have been there for 10+ years!
-the food: breakfast was delicious and super filling - be prepared for a big plate after all the fruit and yogurt

Con:
-because it's an older building, you won't get a very modern shower. But, that's party of the charm! The Maria suite's shower-head was only high enough for about a 5'7''ish person - so we had to do some crouching action (or just take a bath!)

Can't wait to come back and see all my Quinta Maria Cortez amigos again....

Room Tip: Call the reservation line and asked for tips - they will guide you to exactly the right room for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have visited PV nearly every year for 25 years, and after finding QMC over 10 years ago, I have never considered another place. It is the most unusual and unique property I have stayed anywhere (and I travel lots--all over the world). Margaret (owner) is easy to work with and Jose (manager) and his staff are wonderful. The 7 rooms are best described by looking at the pictures, because no words are not adequate! A made to order breakfast each day is the best in PV. Top deck for sunning, small pool for swimming, and a beautiful beach for exploring. A sophisticate and special place to spend your time in PV.

Room Tip: We always stay in Maxi, but my sister loves Maria!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

It's difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel with local charm in Puerto Vallarta. It's either big hotels without personality in the heart of icky touristville or you can rent a nice but souless apartment. Quinta Maria Cortez is the exception. It bills itself as a B&B but it's so much more. It's an ecclectic groups of rooms each with separate entry and all with a unique style that is best (but not entirely correct) described as Spanish Colonial. I stayed in the Alajandro room which had 2 balconies that overlooked the beach. It was very tastefully decorated with a 4 poster bed with billowing, gauzy drapes that caught the breeze from the sea and added to the quiet, peaceful feeling of a secret hideaway. This room also has a separate kitchenette, sitting room and ensuite bathroom.
There is a reception area and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served as part of the room rate in a beautiful, open-air dining room that also overlooks the sea.
Quinta Maria Cortex is located in the exclusive area of Conchas Chinas in Puerto Vallarta so it's set away from the tourist fray but only a short cab ride to the restaurants and bars. It's easy walking distance along the beach to some of the more popular beach clubs.
This little place is full of character and charm and is a real find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Em-trepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The QMC has been a favored destination for years: the charming, off-beat decor, the sensual open air rooms, the exceptional breakfast, and very gracious hosts. Sitting on the roof top deck, having wine, watching sunset has long been a "happy place"

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasingfabulosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spent 7 nights in the Maximillano suite over New Years for our honeymoon and it was spectaular! First of all, everyone who works there speaks English very well and are helpful in recommending activities, restaurants, and other tips on Puerto Vallarta in general. The breakfast was the best part of our stay. There is fresh fruit, yogurt, granola each morning and then you can have any made to order breakfast -- pancakes, eggs, huevos rancheros etc... Definitely not to be missed! Our room was very clean and we had plenty of space to spread out. The hotel provides ample bottled water as well. Its about a 20 minute walk along the beach to town. Its a bit rocky in spots, but very manageable. We often walked to town around 6pm (during sunset) and then took the 5 minute taxi back after dinner. There is an Oxxo near by (like a 7 eleven) for snacks, but you usually have to go into town for lunch and dinner. The hotel looks out on a small beach that isn't too crowded and they provide chairs and umbrellas. Overall, fantastic experience and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

So much to say about the Quinta Maria! It is a wonderful property, with so much charm and attention taken to make each room unique. Luis was a great asset to make reservations and make suggestions. We stayed in two of the room Guadalupe and Maxmiliano. Both were wonderful. We had some difficulties staying in Maxmiliano at the end of October beginning of November because of the humidity. The breakfast was fantastic and we met lots of interesting couples during our week stay. The location is wonderful, close enough to downtown to walk but far enough to be more remote. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Guadalupe is fully air conditioned if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#30 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#11 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Maria Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Maria Cortez

Property: Quinta Maria Cortez
Address: Calle Sagitario 126 | Playa Conchas Chinas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Maria Cortez 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric All-Suite B&B in Mediterranean-style architecture, situated on a secluded beach. 7 Suites on 8 levels all with private bath, kitchenettes and great views along with whimsical curios and original art. A roof top terrace great for watching sunsets along with a terrace on the beach for soaking in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta Maria Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Maria Cortez Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing