We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Maria Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at this beachfront hotel for one evening...only wish it had been more. The rooms were well equipped, the staff was exceptionally accommodating, the beach was very private, the terraces endless, and the views were spectacular. We were a large group, but felt like we were the only ones in the hotel. Each room is designed for comfort and quiet. Our plan included breakfast in the morning which was made to order. I had the huevos rancheros. I have had this dish numerous times and I must say that this one was my favorite. I would love to have the recipe.

I admit the hotel was out of town a little, but the cabs we called were there in less than five minutes and we enjoy the serenity the location has to offer. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
146
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent only a few nights here but enjoyed the location and the service. The area is very quaint and removed slightly from the mobs of people in the adjacent hotel zone.

We stayed in room Jessica which was very basic, but comfortable and nicely decorated. The ceilings are very low so if you're much over 6', I wouldn't recommend this room.

We will stay here again, but will select a more spacious room next time and stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwf180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Quinta Maria Cortez has a European old world charm about it, and it’s something else! It is very old with thick walls, narrow doors and hallways and I wouldn’t change a thing. We stayed in the Ana Gabriela suite. Simply gorgeous, with breathtaking views of the ocean. It has an open air concept with the patio doors to the bedroom and bath wide open to the sea which could take a bit of getting used to. The doors can close if you prefer.

As said by others, there are a lot of stairs, but worth the climb. There was a small but deep dipping pool for our use and of course lounge chairs on the beach. The beach is rugged, rocky and gorgeous. Imagine a sunset from your room with sailboats passing by right in front of you and a cruise ship passing by in the distance.

There was a convenience store within walking distance where we bought sandwiches and drinks to eat from our sitting area overlooking the view. In the evening we took a taxi ‘downtown’ for wining and dining, about a 10 minute drive. Very easy, and the hotel arranged the taxi for us.

Breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from, served with class and elegance. There was a computer for guests to use in the main area. We were only able to stay one night, but it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a ten day visit to QMC... It was wonderful!

No need to recount all the good things others have said, we agree with it all! Gorgeous! And with service second to none! We especially want to call out the hospitality and professionalism of Jose (the GM) and Roberto!

Our one caveat... The property is very "vertical" which means lots of stairs. We stayed in the Maximiliano on the top level. Breath taking views, lovely constant sea breeze, we pretty much had the roof garden to ourselves but it's quite hike up narrow stairs with no railings.I use a cane for walking and it was a bit challenging but doable... And worth the effort!

We highly recommend QMC!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yojimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

If you're into high rise hotels with pools and swim up bars, Quinta Maria Cortez is not the place for you. However, of you value authentic Mexican architecture and design, unparalleled service, and not your run of the mill lodging, look no further. This is our third visit to Vallarta. This time with our college aged daughters 20 and 22 yrs. We stayed in the Maximilliano suite and it was perfect. Situated on the top floor with sweeping ocean views, leaping dolphins and breathtaking sunsets, it couldn't have been more perfect! The suite is all open air with a separate air conditioned queen bedroom. Sleeping in the king bed in the open area, you were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. There is a stereo system with strategically placed speakers to hook up your ipod. The small kitchen area is just enough for preparing cocktails and storing drinks in the mini fridge. There is also a coffee maker with coffee supplied, a microwave and toaster oven. Breakfast is amazing. It is served in an open common area furnished in authentic mexican furnishings again with ocean views. We stayed 6 nights and chose something different each morning. Margaret, the owner, was there during our stay and her passion for personal service is apparent. She had breakfast with guest and made everyone feel welcome. Jose, the manager, is a gem. He and Roberto were always willing to help with whatever we needed as was the entire staff. The villa's beach is private with access from the villas through a locked gate - very peaceful. Padded chaise lounges and umbrellas are set up for guests each morning. Being away from the masses in town is very nice. It's a quick 50-60 peso cab ride to town for dinner and a pleasant walk in during the day. We also got a tour of the villas next door - absolutely outstanding. They come with a personal chef. Perhaps on our next visit. Btw, the online photos don't even come close to portraying the ambiance of the accommodations. Also, the US press has over exaggerated the drug problems in Mexico scaring tourist away. The problems are in isolated areas, certainly not in Puerto Vallarta. I felt as safe there as at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VickyDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were looking for a boutique hotel that stayed true to Mexico for our honeymoon and found Quinta Maria Cortez exactly that. From the moment we arrived there were special touches. Having breakfast served to you each morning (except Sunday's) overlooking the beach, beach chairs pulled out to relax on the sand whilst reading, another towel to lie next to the pool or asking for ice to be brought up to the rooftop terrace so you can make some more margarita’s ... nothing is too small. Short cab ride into town (or 20 min walk along the beach) but far enough that you can sit on your balcony with only the sound of the waves rather than traffic or music from the bars. Lots of beach Vendors to say not to or perhaps pick up a bargain or two but never aggressive. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255100Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Thought I would start the review as per the headings used by Trip Advisor to rate a property.

CLEANLINESS
- never actually saw the cleaning staff, but every day things were spotless and if you had any issues / questions about ANYTHING Jose or Roberto were there within minutes.

SERVICE
- the attention to detail was amazing. My wife had tea the first day for breakfast instead of the ( great ) coffee, from that day on without being asked tea was ready for her.
- towels were always ready by the heated pool and by the small beach cove as were the chairs and tables

LOCATION
- within walking distance of the City centre but it felt like it was miles away. A cab ride was a whopping $ 5.00 per cab - not per person.

ROOMS
- not like anything I have been in before ( and we have travelled a lot ) . They are clean, modern yet old and funky all at the same time.
- where else can you sit in your tub and watch whales in the bay ( it is easier from the heated pool by the way)

SLEEP
- the room we stayed in can be made totally open to the sea and you can sleep with the sound of the waves on the cove below

VALUE
- we did a lot of research prior to booking and once we compared the various costs this was by far the best value

COMPLAINT
- I like to sleep in sometimes on holidays but the smell of their coffee and freshly cooked breakfast wafted in our room - I couldn't stand it and had to get some

OK its not a big complaint but its all I could think of - more at culinarytnt.com

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gtrmottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
630 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
Casa Karma Boutique Resort
#30 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#12 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
7,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Maria Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Maria Cortez

Property: Quinta Maria Cortez
Address: Calle Sagitario 126 | Playa Conchas Chinas, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Maria Cortez 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric All-Suite B&B in Mediterranean-style architecture, situated on a secluded beach. 7 Suites on 8 levels all with private bath, kitchenettes and great views along with whimsical curios and original art. A roof top terrace great for watching sunsets along with a terrace on the beach for soaking in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta Maria Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Maria Cortez Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing