We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where has the shade gone?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #45 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been at the GCP five years in a row, loved it -and stay 3 weeks every year.

This year! shade taken away while we were on the beach, right in front of our eyes! We need the shade, we want the shade. And - even the Mexican visitors seem to want the shade! When I lodged my first complaint ever in five years - to the manager, he fixed it so there were three cabanas left until we returned home. And be darned if they weren't taken up every day. Those silly structures put up now, do no good at all.Staff is still wonderful, food is pretty good but difficult to get to the restaurants on the other side as they are guarded as gold - especially over the Christmas and New Years season.

Breeze Bar going downhill, can only pray it can be brought up to the previous standards. We want you back, GCP!!!!

Room Tip: We always stayed (not stay anymore though) oceanfront and loved it. SHADE?????
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_D581812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,395)
There are newer reviews for Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

i have been to alot of all-inclusives and the golden crown was not the greatest or the worst..it has a good location and easy to get to places. the food was just ok. drinks good, just have to ask for top shelf booze. we had ocean front room, it was clean and basic, i don't ask for much more. the pool was one of the better ones i have been in, VERY CLEAN AND WARM. the beach nice. the "things" they have for shade are the stupidest things i have ever seen, palapas would be much better and look good on the beach. the staff overall is very good and someone, somewhere is all was cleaning something. we also took bus downtown, lots of fun.. also recommend taking the whale watching tour, saw lots of whales and dolphins... oh and the weather perfect sunny and warm everyday!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClevelandMojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location, Freindly Staff, The food was just ok, unless you went to the resterants that you had to have reservations for, they were great. Pool and beach were nice. Nitro club needed a make over. We had a suite over looking pool and beach. Very clean.

Room Tip: Only complaint would be the food, was not the best, and neither were the drinks, but the resort was...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blazer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second trip to the GCP and considering that we had such a fabulous vacation last year we were excited to return. Afterall, escaping the cold and snowy Canadian winter is what going to Puerto Vallarta is all about.

FLIGHT:
We travelled on Air Canada Vacations. No real complaints except we expirienced turbulance for at least half of the 5 hour flight from Toronto. The flight we were on did not have the individual enterrtainment consoles. So watching the movie was a challange as some passengers ignored the announcment to pull down their shades. No problem, the trusty iPad took care of the entertainment on the flight for me.

PV AIRPORT:
When we arrived the lineup for Customs was very long. I believe that 3 other flights arrived around the same time. It was the longest line up that I have ever seen in PV. It took about and hour to get through Customs and collect our luggage.

The shark tank was...well, the shark tank. Having been to PV on numerous occasions we knew the drill. Make no eye contact, keep walking until you see the Air Canada Vacations Rep.

CHECK IN:
We arrived around 4 p.m. so our room was ready. The front desk personnel were very cheerful and professional. Check in was a breeze. We scooted past the guys trying to have us attend a timeshare presentation. No gracias!

ROOM:
We stayed in a Ocean Front Jacuzzi room on the 4th floor. It had a king size bed, 27" flatscreen TV, refrigerator and a coffee maker. The room was great. The bed was not rock hard like a lot of beds at resorts in Mexico. The AC was quiet. The bathroom had a standup shower, no problem with having hot water anytime of the day. The view of the Bay from our balcony was spectacular. Shortly after arriving we were treated via room service with a dessert platter and they put a name plate under our room # with Casa "Last Name". Nice touch! Our maid was great, our room was cleaned and made up every day by noon. Most nights we slept with the balcony door open, so we could listen to the waves crash into the beach. Awesome!

RESTAURANTS:
The GCP revamped their reservation system for the better in my opinion. In fact I made a reservation for Salvadores on the day we arrived. Calling sure beats standing in line at 8 a.m. I had absolutely no problem getting a reservation at any of the resturants throughout our stay.

Bella Vista
We ate most of our meals here. The food and service were always top notch. Breakfast was always a treat as Joseline who manned the grill makes a great omellette. Other staff members who were always efficient and pleasant were Evaristo, Karen, Carlos and Ruben. I really enjoyed their clubhouse sandwich at lunch.

Salvadores
We ate here at least 5 times. The meals, staff and service were great. I did notice that everytime we ate here that the restaurant was only half full.

Paradise
Always a great dining expirience. Polly is the best. Make sure that you request his "sexy coffee". A real treat.

Italian Restaurant
We ate here on two occasions. Once again the food and service was great. The only downfall was having ate most of our meals on the adult side, the sound of screaming kids was somewhat annoying.

Special Dinner
As a returning guest we were treated on two occasions to a dinner on the beach. This was the hilightt of our dining expirience as the food, drinks and service was outstanding. The dinner takes place on the beach at sunset which makes the whole expirience even more memorable.

POOL:
A lot of people have complained about the lack of shade. They certinely have a point. During our stay it was +30 Celsius most days. The "towel game" was in full order, as the beds on the shady side of the pool were reserved by 0630 hrs. One thing that bothers me is people who get up early to reserve their spot and then do not show up by the pool until mid-afternoon. Very inconsiderate. Regardless, the water temperature in the pool was just right.

WIFI:
The price of wifi at the GCP is very expensive, around $16.00/day. We would go next door to the Cafe el Patio and use the free wifi. The Barista there named Isabel makes a fantastic vanilla cappiccuno and it only costs 24 pesos.

Overall our second trip to the Golden Crown Paradise out of a scale of 1-10 was an 11. We met a lot of friendly vacationers mostly from Canada, but, the USA as well. We enjoyed it immensely and cannot wait until next year.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an ocean front room. Make sure you are on the third floor or above to ensure...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PMedKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Golden Crown since Nov. 2010. So our experiences are recent. Our last visit was Jan 28 to Feb 4. 2013.
We will not go back unless they do something about the lack of shade on the beach. The above review titled "No shade" is exactly right. Everything said in that review was dead on. People were hanging sheets from the new cabanas. We saw several guests who had purchased umbrellas. There are exactly 6 of the old cabanas left. We are very early risers so I went down to the beach one morning at 5 AM!!! determined to get one of the precious cabanas. There were 2 left. 4 people had already been down and placed towels before 5 am. Ridiculous.!! One of the biggest reasons we loved the resort was that you could always find a nice spot on the beach. Any time of day. I really shouldn't say we won't be back though. But t would have to be a great deal. We can always buy a beach umbrella if we have to..
Another negative change was the resort seemed to have less staff and the wait service on the beach was pretty much non existent.
The breezes bar tables were always dirty. Even at sunset tables were dirty and unset. Beach tables and chairs were not wiped down at all from day to day. Cups laying around the beach chairs from the day before.
The irish cream is no longer Baileys and is not drinkable, even in coffee.
So after noting some of the negatives I will say the food was still very good and the service was good.
If they fix the problems mentioned we will be back. If not, we won't.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvis4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Crown Paradise Jan 28 - Feb 4. As this was our first all inclusive, we were not sure what to expect. The food was pretty good for breakfast and lunch and really good for dinner. We had an ocean front room which had an excellent view. Although it was right over the bar (2nd floor) the noise was minimal. The staff were great. I would suggest laying by the pool, not the ocean as the beach vendors stay away from the pool. They are not rude, but they don't stop all day when you are on the beach. And going with West Jet vacations was awesome!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, ocean front and the view was great! Staff was loud in the early AM and w...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Golden Crown Paradise Resort over New Years. The resort itself was very nice and we had a studio suite on the 8th floor overlooking the pool and the beach. The rooms were a little older and could have used some updating in the bathrooms but were fine all the same. The best part was that this resort was adult only and there were no kids splashing around and screaming in the pool. It was very relaxing. Also there was a good selection of restaurants French, Italian, Japanese as well as 3 International. Our favorites were the French and the Paradise Restaurant. The service was excellent as well as the food. Also having New Years Eve down there and having the dinner, drinks and night of entertainment included in our all inclusive price was a bonus. They had the tables all set our around the pool and had a wonderful buffet dinner, drinks, entertainment and fireworks at midnight. Also had dancing as well. We stood on the beach in our bare feet after midnight and watched the fireworks happening around the bay and in the town. What a great way to spend New Years! The staff at the resort were very accommodating and we also really enjoyed having drinks down at the beach bar and watching all the happenings on the beach. All around it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#46 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,685 reviews
3.4 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
2.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,678 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av. de las Garzas S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $172 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Crown Paradise All Inclusive Resort where our unmatched personalized and friendly service are a cut above the rest with a great location just 10 minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the International Airport. As an adults-only all-inclusive resort, our focus is on pampering, tranquility, and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Golden Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing