We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changes Happening” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #46 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Changes Happening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the GCP Oct 31/12 to Nov 10/12 with family.

The Golden Crown Paradise Resort(which is adults only) is located near the cruise ship dock in PVR and next to its sister hotel The Crown Paradise Club(which is the family resort). Staying at the GCP allows you to access all the facilities of the Crown Paradise but they are not allowed access to the adults only GCP.

I have stayed here many times and at many other hotels in PVR and other cities in mexico. It is an older hotel that has maintenance issues but have always loved the no buffet, no kids, and the familiarity of the staff.

This year, a new general manager has taken control and now they are starting to make changes. Many of the existing staff have been transferred to the hotel next door and staff relocated to the GCP. So many faces have changed and the new staff are not familiar with how things work. They have changed the reservation system for dinner. You phone a number getween 8am and 2pm and reserve the restaurant you want. They have bought new pool furniture which is a good improvement.

Another change this year has been to sell off the surplus rooms to groups of locals for conferences etc. It has made the hotel very full, very loud and some people have been obnoxious at times. They have also added a buffet in the courtyard (main restaurant) to this hotel which in the past was all a la carte.

This hotel is normally a quiet adults only hotel that skews older not younger. It is a relaxing hotel not a party hotel.

Being a repeat client, I was not impressed with the changes. The feel of being welcomed back by old friends gone and being crowded out was not why I went to this hotel. Add in it's maintenance issues, I will be finding a new hotel in PVR to go to next time.

It is not a bad hotel, and if you are a new guest, you might be very happy here.

By the way, no free wi fi, and it is very expensive if you want it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vancouverbrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for take the time for share your comments with us, they are very important because they help us to improve.

Your comments have been shared with the management team and I am sure that will be taken into account.

We hope will allow us to provide our services in the near future

Best Regards
Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    739
    411
    189
    138
See reviews for
179
1,089
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Got to the resort at about 6 pm. Check in was fast and got the lowdown on all the amenities. Got taken to our room which was an ocean front deluxe. Room 2506. The beds were soft enough. Plenty of pillows. Very clean. The balcony was really nice, overlooking the ocean.
We went down and ate at the outdoor restaurant, where we ordered "flank steak". It was tasty and cooked as we had ordered it. We then walked around the resort and stopped at a few bars for refreshments.
Day 2: We got to know the resort, which did not take long at all. We taxied to the Malecon and strolled over the bridge and went a block or so, turned right, and ate at The Blue Shrimp. This was included with our hotel package.Excellent meal with view of the ocean. Treated very well. Day 3: Went golfing at Vista Vallarta (Jack's course) The grounds were very wet, but the experience was wonderful...DID NOT GOLF TOO BADLY... Spent the rest of the day enjoying the pool and sunbeds. (the sunbeds could be wiped/cleaned once in a while) Actually enjoyed the beach vendors. They were always displaying their wares. If you got into it, it was a lot of fun. I bought a dress and a shawl. That afternoon, there was a large group of Mexicans that came...The next morning there were cigarette butts, glasses and straws everywhere, even in the pool. Staff were quick to clean. They seemed to overtake the pool and the restaurants. Day 4: Went to "Rhythm of the Night", a must do. While at a beautiful buffet dinner, an American was behind me and asked where I was from. After, I said, Canada, he was very condescending, with very rude remarks. I just ended with "be careful or we may turn off your oil/gas supply."
Day 5: Went on the Sunset Sail. Had a great time. They served beautiful snacks and all you could drink. I had never sailed before, so one more thing off my bucket list..LOL.
Day 6: Took the South Sierra Madre tour in a unibog. Hard day, but glad we did it.
Day 7: was a free to roam day....and had to leave....Ugh!
We ate at two specialty restaurants while we were staying at the Golden Crown, Paradise and Salvadore's. Liked the Paradise a lot better. Maybe it was the atmosphere, or the dance we got with the Sexy Coffee.
We ordered dinner to our room twice and both times, we both agreed the food was better than anything else on the resort.
The pools snack bar was very convenient and nice for lunches. Tried the sushi at the beach bar, was not too impressed. The alcohol, if you asked for it, was top brands.
Biggest con: the waiters and waitresses would take dirty glasses on their tray of fresh drinks (delivering and picking up as they went) Not very sanitary.
Biggest Pro: Saw a turtle come up onto the beach right by our room and lay her eggs.
On checkout, they have a wonderful suite you can stay in, loved the ac, until your shuttle arrives. Go, stay and be HAPPY...Good bang for your buck.
Resort is located so it is very convenient to get around.

Room Tip: Loved the location of room 2506.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50&lvgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us,

Your comments have been shared with the management team and I am sure that will be taken into account.

We hope to see you again very soon to demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Best Regards
Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Room 2411 The Good:Service was excellent. Bed was firm but comfortable, didn't have a bad back once. Buffet Food was ok but not great. A la carte restaurant food was excellent. The evening entertainment was good. The daily pool activities were lots of fun and great for getting a little exercise. Met some really great people and relaxed and enjoyed the excellent weather. Excellent location for us, close to Walmart and the new Mall and the Casino's. Interesting to see the cruise ships come in and out of the port. Go see the Rhythms of the Night show, it was excellent value for the buck and the show was very professional. The Bad: toilet overflowed and we were not even in the room, a very loud wedding was held on the beach directly below our room on Sat night keeping us awake, got stuck in the elevator alone between floors for 30 minutes on the way to the room, even though this is billed as an 18+ resort a bunch of young, drunk to the point of vomiting people were "bussed" in for the weekend. ICK!!!! Don't sign up for the "Presentation", it's a timeshare and not a good deal. Tip the service staff, they work very hard and they do provide excellent service.

Room Tip: don't waste money upgrading to a ocean front room, most of the rooms have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fluffykamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We value your comments and are taken into account, as we help us to improve

We hope to see you again to demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction,

Thanks once again for your feedback.

Best regards.

Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is going to be my go to place in Puerto Vallarta. Its fairly central and if you have any tours with Adventure Vallarta the marina terminal is a two minute walk (Its right next door!) It's close to the bus stop and right next to Sorina (The mexican supermarket chain.) What i loved most about this place is they have a la cart dining (I hate resort buffets) I recommend having dinner every night at El Salvador. They put on an amazing show with lighting your very liqoury coffee on fire. Absolutely wonderful and the food was delightful. We had access to the other dining areas on the family side of the resort and I have to tell you avoid the asian restaurant at all cost. (What was I thinking ordering sushi or any type of asian food in Mexico!) But the regular dining place by the beach and El Salvador were my favorites. The rooms were clean (I tipped the maids an american dollar every day and they really made an effort, well worth the 8$) and our room was right on the beach, I loved the club and the nightly show next to the resort and I just overall enjoyed the view. We went during turtle season and got to see a turtle come up right outside our window on the beach and lay her eggs. There are alot of vendors but if you just tell them no thank you they go away, its like this on every beach in Puerto Vallarta, just enjoy the chats with the locals. Overall really great service, good location, and good food at a good price. Oh! and i loved their 24 hour room service! They make amazing nachos and guacamole.

Room Tip: Tip the maids everyday to ensure really good service. And I'd recommend the beach front rooms. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaZurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your memorable experiences, we will be waiting at this home Golden Crown Paradise.

We invite you to become part of and also tell us their experiences in the social network Facebook.

Best Regards

Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

we spent 5 days at the adult side of the GC and had a nice but old ocean front room, no refrig. the room was clean and quiet, service was good and the staff friendly. DO NOT consider the time share presentation! even though we were forewarned we did, big mistake. the included city tour was a fun and made for an interesting day. our only complaint was the wi-fi expense of $18. per day which we declined. Two doors south of the hotel is a small coffee shop with free wi-fi and good coffee. we booked this stay thru Costco which was a good experience and a great value. we got around on public bus system which is very inexpensive and kind of fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for take the time and share your comments with us, they are important because help us to improve our services,

We hope to see you again for show our commitment with your satisfaction

Best Regards

Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel Oct 19-26. When I made the reservation I knew it was an older, smaller resort. Even being listed as a 4.5 star I did not have high expectations.
From the moment we checked in we were greeted by very friendly staff. Theypresented us with a welcome drink and moist facecloth - both very appreciated!. As it wasn't quite busy season yet, they gave us a bit of an upgrade to a very nice room with an amazing view! The rooms, like the rest of the hotel are becoming a bit dated, but I really have no complaints regarding any of it. Everything was very clean and worked as it should. The maid did a great job every day cleaning the room as well.
They were constantly maintaining the property while we were there. The only thing the rooms did not have was a mini fridge. We were just fine with that and knew that before arriving. I think the OceanFront rooms do have a mini fridge though.

There is one pool on the adults only side, but it is a fair size with a small jacuzzi attached. There is poolside service as well, which is so nice! There are a bunch of beds all around the pool and then more on the beach. They also have activities everyday in the pool - aquasize, volleyball, etc.

You have access to the sister hotel next door - Crown Paradise Club. It is not quite as nice, but it is a little bit bigger and it is more for younger families. They have a great waterslide area for kids, but also 2 other pools for everyone else; as well as beds on the beach.

The food was great! The main little restaurant where you eat outside and don't need reservations is awesome. All the servers we had there were excellent!! There are a few other restaurants that you make reservations for and the food was pretty good at all of them. We did not make it to the Italian restaurant on the other side, but heard it was good. The service though - at all the restaurants - was always so good!
The snack bar by the pool was also amazing! The tacos were so good! I highly recommend trying them.

The beach is very nice for the Pacific side. The water was so warm and the waves were great. They also had a couple batches of baby turtles hatch while we were there. They release them into the ocean at sunset. It is an awesome experience - they are so cute!

The hotel is right in town, by the marina. You can see the cruise ships come in on most days. There is also a Soriana's (like a grocery store) just down the street for anything you can't get at the resort store. (Also maybe a little bit cheaper).

Being an adults only resort is great for couples, but just as great for some friends to hang out without any kids running around.

Overall I loved this resort! We made a lot of friends, many of which come there every single year. It is like a family; all the servers, bartenders and staff get to know you and it makes for a more personal experience. I will absolutely be returning to this resort and can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AgentSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for share us your comments; these are very valuable to us. We are very pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable, here at your home away from home, Golden Crown Paradise.

Our goal at Crown Paradise is to create lasting memories, by offering personalized service, added values plus friendly and attentive staff. Your satisfaction is very important to us.

Best regards

Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This resort town is the pushiest on trying to get you to spend you vacation time listening to property offers from almost every hotel/property in town. From the moment you get off the plane until you stop going anywhere around town you will be hassled into going to another hotel/resort and spending time there so when you come again they will get your business. After you have gone through customs and gotten your bags and try to leave the airport you are directed to the Sales Tunnel (as we call it) and escorted to a desk for a presentation from a salesperson to get you to 1. Agree to come visit their property 2. Not discuss your visit with the staff @ where your staying. 3. Make you offers on either large discounts on local attractions, only valid if you agree to something during the presentation. You are directed to these people as you ask for help in locating a Taxi or ride service to get to your Hotel, so don't let them drag you to a desk, just ignore them and go on. That being said most of the rest of time in the area resulted in at least someone every day trying to do this same thing anywhere we went. If you are staying inside your Hotel/Resort you will be okay, but if you venture out in town it will happen. The Golden Crown Paradise was a nice place for our visit to PV and the staff is very nice. The pool area is clean as is the pool if you don't want to venture out onto the beach or ocean. The bar service was good and the room service as well. Everyday they were maintaining the building and grounds and we go treated to watching a man climb 70' + tall palm trees and trim them one morning, but loud work close to our room was annoying on one day. The food wasn't bad but the beverages were all off in flavor (non-alcoholic) and seemed concentrated mixes. The hotel has 2 properties side by side with on catering to adults and the other to families, if you stay on the adult side (which we did) you can go to the other side to eat at one of several places they have on being a buffet. We ate there only once as the food wasn't as good and the staff all stood around eating behind the counters, trying to hide it but not very well. We tries to revisit it for a breakfast but it was overcrowded so we went back to our side. We didn't try any of the other upscale diners as the dress codes said upscale resort attire which we didn't bring with us. All in all we would go back to the GC if we ever wen't back to PV, but the relentless pushing of property offers will probably keep us away for the time being.

Room Tip: Higher Floor ocean views seem to be the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muff_1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for take the time for share your comments with us, your observations are valuable to us and we are taking it seriously.

We hope that these are not sufficient reasons for not returning to Puerto Vallarta

One more time, thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#53 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
3.4 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta

Property: Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av. de las Garzas S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Crown Paradise All Inclusive Resort where our unmatched personalized and friendly service are a cut above the rest with a great location just 10 minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the International Airport. As an adults-only all-inclusive resort, our focus is on pampering, tranquility, and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Golden Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing