We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will be hard for them to top themselves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #45 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Regina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It will be hard for them to top themselves”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

To preface this review, it must be stated this was my wife and mine's first stay at an all inclusive resort and our first visit to Mexico, so we really have no other experience to compare with our own.

- The short of it -
- Staff is friendly and helpful, most speak very good english.
- We saw lots of maintenance work being done to the hotel while we were there, never interfered with our experience, I find it nice to see them actively working to make it a better and presentable, and since most of it is exposed outside I understandconstant elemental wear.
- Rooms are clean, bathroom nice, bed is firm but its personal preference, big clean bathroom, good TV but you can watch tv at home. They offer to bottle of water to every room every day, all water served is purified, do not drink tap water but that goes for the whole country.
- Pool and beach are nice, get to pool at 7am if you want a cabana, beach has plenty of cabana's for all, there are vendors but most are nice and understanding and often, being nice to them makes them be nicer to you in my experience, don't be afraid to barter.
- The food is good, try the sexy coffee at Paradise, dinner at the A La Carte restaurants is recommended every night, very delicious, get your moneys worth.
- Good variety of drinks, sometimes inconsistent in preparation but they free pour everything, never had anything that was way off base from how it was supposed to be or anything.
- We never participated in activities, though they do happen several times a day, they looked pretty fun,
- Nightly Entertainment is mostly dance, the nitro club has mostly uncomfortable seating to watch an hour show though, still a good show however.
- Read as much as you can about the resort and Puerto Vallarta in general so you know what to expect. See what they offer, they really do not try to mislead you(aside one picture which is not of this resort, just a mistake) what they say you get is what you get and they offer a few different types of rooms which include different levels of of amenities, if you expect something they don't ever say they offer it is really not the resorts fault.
- We loved it and will be back.

- The Long of it -

Check In

We married earlier this year and this trip was our honeymoon. After narrowly surviving the time share people at the airport we arrived at the hotel, were greeted with wet towels and speedily checked in. That said with the speed of check in they forgot to give us the bracelet which labels you all inclusive, but we still ordered drinks and were served food, before we noticed everyone else had them and the front desk rectified the situation, hassle free.


Staff

We found staff to be very friendly and helpful, be warned there will always be one person at the information desk right next to check in who is there to rope you into a time share presentation, but we never found them to be pushy(like the people at the airport) beyond telling us about the presentation, they accepted no thanks and we were on our way, Serving staff for drinks and food are equally helpful and in my opinion very good at there jobs.

The Room

The room was very nice and clean, 6th floor overlooking pool, beach and resort next door, with king size bed that was firm but comfortable(we slept well), bathroom larger than ours at home featuring a gorgeous shower, and 3 mirrors. Also I believe a 27 or 32" flat screen tv. They gave us the wrong remote, but I was not there to watch tv, and am more than capable of getting up to change a channel when I want to, however later in the week a a believe one of the housekeepers noticed the remote was wrong and gave us the proper one which was a nice surprise.


Pool and Beach

The pool area is nice, though wake up early if you want one of the few cabana's beside the pool because people tend to have there towels down reserving there spots by 7am, that said outside the cabanas there is plenty of space by the pool, and almost always an open cabana on the beach. Though if you are by the beach you will be bugged by vendors, we noticed that a single male will be bugged less than a couple, or females by themselves. Again though most were quite nice, and go away with a simple no thank you.

The Food

We found the food to be from good enough(The Snack Bar, The Breeze) to excellent(Salvadors, La Piazza next door) too almost to fancy for us (Paradise (you must try the sexy coffee from Paulie) I feel the menu is more for distinguished tastes, its good but will not be for everyone) to anyone who has read complaints about the casual restaurant food, it is what it is supposed to be, a quick meal no more no less, some if it really does shine but the stuff that doesn't is still worth finishing. Room service is prompt, we ordered it for breakfast 3 times, and probably about 7 times otherwise for snacks, one time it got lost and never came but I just ordered again and it came promptly within the 30 minutes they usually quote.

The Drinks
Drinks are good they offer a wide variety of liquor, which results in an endless selection of both on and off menu drinks with the exception of beer(Tecate is the only beer they offer its a lager, not great for a true beer lover(Real CRAFT beer) but for sitting by a pool on a hot day it suffices.) If bartender does not know how to make the drink you ask for but you know the ingredients they are usually able to accommodate and make it and often commit it to memory. They do not use shot glasses, so the drinks can sometime be a but inconsistent pending on how you like your mix to liquor ratio, if they are not right they tend to end up on the boozey side, but more liquor means higher value right? :P This is truely the only complaint we had, and it is very insignificant.

Other thoughts
Upon getting home and reading some other reviews, I almost found myself offended at what others had wrote, because so many issues are not the hotels fault. First off internet is expensive, $6.50 an hour or $13 dollars a day, if you plan to use it often they do offer packages which discount the cost of usage just check the drop down menu on their intranet portal, a weeks use is $69 for unlimited access, which saves you $20, but hey its vacation, get off the laptop or cellphone and enjoy yourself, we are very wired people at home and enjoyed the break. Some people complain about the room not having a fridge, only one room type comes with a fridge, otherwise it is never stated the rooms have a fridge so it pays to actually read about the resort and your room, and the restaurants and dress codes. I never found one thing stated on their website to not be true. Finally this resort is in mexico, there are mexican people in Mexico, if this blows your mind or puts you off in some way, don't go.

We loved it, there are so many more positive things I would have liked to say about the resort but it would require a book publishing deal.

We loved it, we will be back and are currently trying to recruit friends to come with us, they have set the bar pretty high for our first all inclusive experience but we will have nothing to compare with until they lose our trust, we felt like family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank hungle2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    775
    420
    193
    144
See reviews for
196
1,146
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

On our first day arrival we ate at the buffet, and food was adequate. Everyday after this we booked at the Al a Cartes offered, and found fine dining at it's best. The dishes offered were fantastic and we were never dissapointed. Service was excellant. Pool side attendants were very friendly and top notch catering to our needs. (Viviana) Th.e heated pool was a bonus as well. The only downfall was evening entertainment which we always look forward to at any other resort

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel was rated an upscale 5 star hotel.Upon our arival the front desk staff was very cold and unfriendly appeared to have his guard up.The hotel is old and needs much upgrades,the rooms are clean but extemely worn...not even a refrigerator in your room.Staff in the lobby only want you to buy a time share and really were not interested in helping you...BE WARNED WIFI is available but grossly overpriced $17.00/day.Alot of locals staying at this resort and very rude.Vendors on the beach are everywhere and bother you all day even during lunch, walking up to the tables.We travel alot and found the food was low quaity ...glad we were only there one week,will never go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We just returned from our third trip to GCP and had an amazing time once again. We really have no complaints. Check in was a breeze and we got right to our room. Casa Cherry. That evening we were treated to an anniversary cocktail reception and had excellent service. The second night we attending the returning guest dinner and had an awesome dinner buffet and met some great people that enjoy the hotel as much as we do. We ate at all the restaurants and by far Paradise is always our favorite. We love the salad bar and the sexy coffee. We don't eat seafood and all the restaurants have enough choices to keep us satisified. Our room was always made up early in the day shortly after we had our breakfast in bed. This was great! Viviana at the pool and Raul in Nitro kept us well hydrated and we enjoyed that very much. We met some amazing people again and can't wait for our next trip. We attended three different shows in the nitro and always had a great time. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takemeaway0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I just returned from my stay at GCP which was wa disapointing. I upgraded to a Deluxe Ocean Front Junior Suite which are nice but over priced(even with a reduced rate). The rooms are cleaned well except for the day I found a huge bug dead on the floor just after being cleaned. I stayed for 14 nights and on my 5th day I became ill from something I ate and was confined to my room for the next 3 days. in a previous reveiw someone mentioned the number of Mexicans who stay at this resort which I didn't notice last year but this year starting on Fridays they decended on the hotel like swarms of locusts. Once the hotel is full of Mexicans no one else seems to matter. As per my original review breakfast was the best meal and after becoming ill I ate at other restaurants or bought food at the grocery store for lunch and dinner and ate in my room. I found the hotel very noisey this year, the beach was crowded, vendors seemed to be more plentiful than last. The age range seemed to be the very old or in their twenties or gay. I spent a lot of money this year fro my stay of 14 nights at GCP and definitely did not get my money'S worth. I will not be returning to GCP!!! I know the people who stay at GCP every year will be upset by this review but I had a terrible vacation this year and couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadking2751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Now be careful as they two resorts side by side, one is adults only and the other is more designed for kids.... We went to the adults only side. With multiple restaurants and bars to choose from we never felt we were short changed with all-inclusive program. Actually it was quite the contrary.... We felt is was a great value for what we paid for 7 nights. We would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Captain Mark D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We were told numerous times the room would be ready in 10 -20 minutes; they did make it right They sent a cheese plate with a $5 bottle of wine to our room. We were there with Evinrude and every effort was made to make our stay fantastic. There must have been a dozen or more juices to choose from for breakfast. Comfortable beds, good food and many choices. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RoughWaterMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,627 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
3.4 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,549 reviews
2.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta

Property: Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av. de las Garzas S/N | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Crown Paradise All Inclusive Resort where our unmatched personalized and friendly service are a cut above the rest with a great location just 10 minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the International Airport. As an adults-only all-inclusive resort, our focus is on pampering, tranquility, and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Paradise Golden Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Golden Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing