We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3.5 Star All-Inclusive for value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2005

An excellent time was enjoyed by our family Dec. 31-Jan. 7! Swim-up bars are great. Great food for buffet, self-service. Don't expect 5-star luxury, but this place is CLEAN, has friendly staff, and is just far enough away from the noisy downtown Vallarta area.

16  Thank Trekkie_Nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2005

We stayed at the Pelicanos from March 5-12th. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Our room was in Section 2 in the new tower and was beautiful. Our 1-bedroom unit overlooked the ocean, and was a wonderful room with a full kitchen with granite countertops, 2 bathrooms, marble floors throughout the unit. We had a huge balcony with a table and chairs. We woke up every morning, made coffee, and sat out on the balcony before we went to breakfast. My only complaint was that the beds were extremely hard, to the point that I started waking up with hip poblems.

We were told by the front desk that the restaurants in Section 1 and Section 2 served the same food. The food in the restaurant in section 2 was very poor, with the exception of breakfast. Finally, about the 4th night we were there, we wandered over to Section 1 and discovered they had much better food. The snack bar served good hamburgers. We took full advantage of the swim up bar in section 2, as we purchased the all-inclusive program at $35.00 a day. If we were to do it over again, we would pay for the all-inclusive in pesos as you get a much better exchange rate in town than at the hotel.

The grounds were very beautiful, and well kept up. There is no beach to speak of, especially when the tide is in.

This was our 8th trip to PV, and the first time we have stayed at the Pelicanos. The location is great, only a 5-minute bus ride to town, and 10-minute bus ride to the marina.

We would rate this hotel as average, just because of the food. The location is great, and our room was fantastic. The maid washed our bedspread one of the days we were there and forgot to put it back on the bed, otherwise we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank d2wilsn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashland, Oregon
16
Reviewed March 10, 2005

We returned from Plaza Pelicanos March 7, 2005 and had a wonderful experience. Our room was very nice, three bathrooms, fresh flowers every few days, bathrobes, fresh linens daily.... two balconies and the list goes on. The staff at Plaza Pelicanos is very helpful and if you drop them a few pesos every once in a while they will take even better care of you. The night/dinner shows were fun but sometimes a bit cheasy. The all-inclusive plan is worth the money, even if you just have breakfast and a few cocktails while lounging by the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2005

This is a very average resort. The rooms are ok, not updated. We stayed in a one bedroom with a balcony that had a partial ocean view. Bed was uncomfortable. The food at this place was poor. We did have breakfast a couple of days, but do not go any further! PV has many great restaurants, go into town for dinner. We even went down the beach to the Sheraton to have a great meal. The drinks here were very poor, I do not think the all-inclusive was worth it. We ended up buying our own wine & beer. The rate we recieved was only $199 for one week, given the small investment it made it easier to overlook the quality.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank UptownCalhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
michigan
110
Reviewed March 2, 2005

I read some of these reviews and I was nervous about coming but this place is pretty good.

I stayed in section 1, which is the newly renovated one and is away from the ocean. Room was clean, air conditioned, and slightly musty. Shower water was always hot or at least warm enough. TV cable was great. Walls were not thin, but doors are, and the hallway was tiled, so you can hear shutting doors very clearly, but I never heard noises through the walls. section 1 surrounds a pool, and they have water games in that pool throughout the day where they use whistles. With the sometimes noisy hallway and the whistle, dont plan on napping during the day if youre a light sleeper. But nights were always quiet. You can also just turn the AC up full blast and that drowns out a lot of the hallway noise.

Food, buffet style and monotonous, but is hotel food ever great? It wasnt that bad. They have two restaurants, one in each section, plus two sites outside that they use for the free a la cart and the dinner you pay extra for. Plus 3 nights a week they serve dinner and entertainment in the jogging track area. As with all hotels, entertainment is cheesy.

Drinks, range from pretty weak when its busy, to pretty strong when its not. Tip the bartenders.

Layout, section 1 has a pool bar and a regular bar, a one minute walk from section 1 to the middle pool, which has a pool bar and a snack bar, and is right on the sea. A one minute walk from here past the jogging track to section 2,which has a pool bar and is on the sea. Theres also an adult pool between section one and the middle pool, but nobody really goes there. Grounds are beautiful with many hibiscus plants and palms. Many shops nearby.

Beach, yeah the beach directly in front of the hotel is bad, but so what. You can walk all the way to town (2 miles) on the beach and 2 miles more in the other direction where youll find many great areas. The hotels on either side of the Pelicanos have good beaches. Its too wavy for old people but not wavy enough for guys like me who like to body surf. And all of PV beaches are a little rocky.

Staff, very friendly

Town, 4 dollar cab ride, 40 cent bus ride, 20min walk. Many trinket shops and stands. Many bars with live music and clubs. On Malecon, the main street with the cement boardwalk along the sea, theres The Zoo, Carlos Obriens, and many other bars that are more laid back. Then you walk over the bridge where there is Senior Frogs and the gay section. There are also several clubs between the hotel and the town. The hotel arranges trips to these for you, for a fee.

Client Base, mostly older folks, Canadian. Id say 10% mexican but that increases I hear during holy week (Easter I think). Even during spring break there isnt supposed to be many young people at this hotel. But the hotels on either side are supposedly full of spring breakers during that time, and its easy to sneak into their pool areas.

This is a good hotel and great for the money. Read between the lines when reading the bad reviews. They are by really picky (old and arthritic?) people who had bad experiences when trying to change rooms, mostly. any questions? email me bottleorum16@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2005

Location- the location is ok not to far from the airport and not to far from downtown.

Rooms- the rooms were not great. Had to change room because it was dirty and faced a very dirty alley and was next to the maids room. It was very noisy all night long. had to argue with desk staff to change room, was all ways told they had none. If you are persistant you will get a new one. Also they do not have very good ocean views so if your going to pay for one dont, it is not worth it unless your in the new timeshare building.

Pools-they were clean but very cold to swim in, use the ocean it is warmer. Swim up bars are great if you can stand the cold water.

Beach-the beach was fine, and the sales people down there were not pushy.

Food-was terrible except for breakfast that was fine. Lunch and dinner were almost always the same everyday not much of a variety. Both restraunts served almost the same stuff at the same time. Fiesta night was good because there was a bit different food.

Bars-well Mario was a great bartender. He was Friendy and always had a smile on his face, unlike the restraunt staff.

Service-staff in restraunts and behind the desk were very unfriendly. In the restraunt you had to hunt down someone to get a cup of coffee or a drink and almost never did they come and offer you refills.

Weather-awesume you can't go wrong on that.

Night time shows-terrible dont even waste your time checking them out.

This was my second visit to P.V. and my first and last stay at this resort. I was very unset about the whole experience at this resort and would never reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Medicine Hat, AB
17
Reviewed February 27, 2005

Just got back from a week at the Pelicanos and we had a great time. My sister and I went, not knowing what to expect and it was fantastic!! Our room was clean, the grounds are very well-kept, the food was great and the entertainment staff were awesome. The bars are open until 11pm and after that, you can go to any one of the great clubs in PV (the foam party at the Collage was the best!!) To anyone who is unsure about staying here - DON'T WORRY. It's GREAT! I'm going back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,592 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $109 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing