We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
somewhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

This is an AWESOME hotel!!! The staff are very friendly and attentive. We had a massage from the Spa is was about 60.00 US for 75 minutes and WOW they did a great job!

This hotel is right on the beach with great views from the rooms. They have a good variety of food and drinks to choose from as well. It is close to the Airport and downtown and there are shops within walking distance to the hotel.

Next time I am headed to Puerto Vallarta I will be staying here again!!
You won't go wrong picking this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUDA7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    876
    361
    186
    127
See reviews for
916
732
69
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We traveled from Arizona to meet family from Illinios in Puerto Vallarta at Plaza Pelicanos where they had a time share. The walls of our room were so thin that we could hear every word spoken in the adjoining rooms, which were filled with spring break college kids from Minnesota. We immediately requested a different room and were told nobody could help us since there was no availability. The kids partied all night long. I was as assertive as I could possibly be with the front desk people and all they could do is give me the phone number for the security guard. He came each time I called, however, as soon as he left, the party would begin again. I had brought earplugs but the noise from the rooms around us was too loud for them to be of any help.

The second afternoon, we were moved to a new room where we had no chair, the safe did not work, and the A/C did not work, but this was a vast improvement over our first room. We could still hear the kids partying by the pool all night.

The pool area is nice, but the hotel is allowing guests to play the "towel game" and each morning by 8 am, all the chairs were reserved with towels and magazines upon them. We couldn't even sit by our family members on most days. By Day 4, we simply moved towels and nobody ever showed up to use those chairs. The drinks from the pool bar were watered down and served in tiny plastic cups.

We have vacationed in Mexico many times and have never had to pay such a high rate for such a poor quality hotel. The stairs up to the rooms were dirty, as were the hallways. The breakfast buffet was the only positive in our trip--the food was simple, but tasty, and the restaurant staff was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mabelAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We stayed at the Pelicanos for 2 weeks. The rooms were okay, but the food they served in the buffet was certainly not the best...........Most of the staff we encountered were very courteous and friendly. The location was good and everything was clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulubelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Just got back from a week in the Grand Section, aka Section II. First, let me clear up something that I couldn't figure out before I left. The hotel is divided into two sections; Section I (north) is the Club Section, Section II (south) is the Grand Section. I've tagged the 3 main pools on Google Earth to make this a bit easier to see. Grand Section guests have access to the entire resort, Club Section guests cannot enter the Grand section of the hotel without upgrading. Recommend the top all-inclusive package over Club, etc.. for Canadians at least, it's cheaper than buying upgrades on site. Now onto the full review.

GOOD: staff, rooms (Grand section), cleanliness, location
BAD: food, fee structure on some packages
AVOID: buying tours or services through the hotel. (massage, internet, phone calls, tour packages) You can get all of this just outside the hotel for considerably less.

My girlfriend and I (ages 31 and 37) booked the Grand 'run of the house' package through Sunquest Tours (Canada) from March 27th through April 3rd. Tip for fellow Sunquest/Skyservice travellers: max carry-on weight is 5 kilos. Max baggage weight is one bag, 40 kilos. Overweight baggage on return is charged a fee of $20 US(!) PER KILO. Do not exceed!

We arrived in PV at around 11:30 local time, rep sent us to the hotel via taxi. (10 min) Greeted on arrival with cool towels and a fruit smoothie at the front desk. Thought we would have to wait for our room, (brochures say ready @ 3:30pm) but it was ready right away. We had requested a king sized bed and a balcony and got both. The room was immaculate and quite large. Everything was fine except for the mini bar, which was locked. Took several requests over the first day to get it open (tried guest services and maids both said ASAP, but no go.. finally got key from front desk people late at night) After you get your room, the guest services people will invite you downstairs tor an orientation where they will give you a quick overview of the resort and town, then ask you about timeshares. The orientation was very helpful, Elana answered all of our questions and had good advice, and allowed us to politely decline the timeshare offer with no pressure at all.
Timesharks were not as bad as some made them out. Everytime I was approached, I was able to get away with a polite 'no gracias' They're just friendly folks trying to make a living. If you do go for one, bargain hard; they make around $400 US per person they get to attend, so unless you're getting at least half of that back in gifts/discounts/cash, you haven't come out ahead. :)

All guest staff speak good english, but you'll need some basic spanish to communicate effectively with the maids and maintenance people. (You're a representative of your home country when travelling.. show a little class and respect and try to learn and speak a bit of the local language, even if it's only Hola, No gracias and Habla usted ingles? ) Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Sheets and mini bar are only changed every 3 days. Mini bar is lame.. 2 beers, 2 Pepsi, 2 7up. meh. Free room service with our package from 7am to 6pm, but VERY limited selection.

The main pool/bar/buffet area on the Grand side is very nicely laid out with tons of trees and little areas around the pools and gardens, not like club side, which is mainly open with tons of lounge chairs around a giant pool. The infinity pool overlooking the beach and ocean is particularly nice. The grounds are huge (Club section was another hotel that PP took over years ago) and very nicely maintained and landscaped. Fun just to walk around the hotel. Direct beach access from both sides, beach is small, but ok. Kayaks and boogie boards available (1 hr per day only) for free w. Grand package. On the beach, you will get swarmed by vendors, just say 'No gracias' and they'll move on. You can walk from the Grand side all the way downtown on the beach if you're a hiker/backpacker type, but it gets quite rocky and burning hot in spots; wear good sandals. If you've got kids or elderly persons, take a taxi or bus instead. Jetskis, parasailing, and banana boats can be rented at your own peril.. Mexican safety regulation is a contradiction in terms. Banana boats are especially dangerous.. water and boats are soft, but other people's skulls & bones are not.. you'll smash into each other every time you wipe out, which you will. Don't buy food on the beach. Mexicans do not usually de-vein shrimp.

As I mentioned above, our room was super clean and nice.. tile floor and stone throughout the hotel mean that you almost don't need A/C, just the celing fan for most of the day. Direct view out the balcony was of the hotel opposite, but beautiful view of the ocean through palm trees to the right, and the mountains overlooking the town to the left. Despite reports of thin walls and moudly/smelly rooms, saw no evidence of this on the Grand side. Perhaps this is true on the Club side since they get a lot more spring break idiots who are more likely to trash their rooms. It certainly isn't a staff issue; the whole resort is cleaned to perfection on a daily basis by a small army of friendly staff. Tipped maids daily with a larger tip at the end of the week. This should get you extra towels and water at a minimum. Leave a note with your name and room number and a short thank you in Spanish when you tip.

The Grand side of the resort is quieter and geared towards older travellers, the Club side is more party/spring breakish, but not so crazy that it's annoying. The alcohol selection on the Grand side is amazing with 4-6 choices of rum, vodka and tequila. I'm a tequila fan and found the El Jimador Reposado and Cuervo Especial enjoyable.. neither is top notch, but certainly a step above the no-name Joven(gold) stuff that is the only choice on the Club side. If you have the red bracelets (Grand side, but not all in) drinks are suprisingly expensive @ the hotel bars. Go downtown and drink or hit a La Playa or OXXO and drink in your room or mix your own and bring a water bottle to poolside if this is the case.

Service depends more on the staff than the tips, and is generally better at night. Mario and Claudia(?.only female bartender on Grand side) were especially professional and prompt. Try a Paloma (tequila, lime and grapefruit soda) Table service is hit and miss.. sometimes great, sometimes non-existent. PS; I have many bartender/service industry friends back home and know how to tip and act, so that wasn't a factor. LIve band most nights at the bar. The 'nightly shows' described in hotel literature are pretty lame (B level tourist/Vegas show), and cost extra ($35 US) even with the top all-in package. This does get you buffet dinner and an open bar, but Grand RoH packages get this anyway, so all you're really paying for is the show, which you can watch for free from a distance. If you want nightly entertainment, hit up the open air ampitheatre on the Malecon like the locals do. The downtown club bus through the hotel is $10 US, not 10 pesos as mentioned in another review. They also have a club hopping tour for $35 US. Neither is worth it. Cover charges are rare in PV bars, taxi downtown is only 50 pesos, and most bars have 2 for 1 dollar beer and margerita specials anyway.

The food is... frustrating. The ingredients all all incredibly fresh and tasty (with the strange exception of canned mushrooms.. dunno why they don't use fresh) but everything is cooked to mush at the buffets. Unfortunately, the only crunchy vegatables I found were the potatoes in the potato salad(?!?) Breakfast is the best by far, actually very good, mainly because it involves the least cooking. All meals have about 8 choices and one staffed food station (omlettes to order for breakfast) Lunch and dinner get pretty boring pretty quick. (8 dishes; rice, potatoes, chicken, cheap beef, pork loin every time.. half Mex, half American..sauce examples; Pork w. mustard. Pork w. BBQ sauce. Pork w. mint sauce. cook meat, open jar, pour over meat, leave to dry out in tray, then add water directly over food to compensate. done. :( ) Cooking reminds me of bad institutional cooking; bland and overdone. I work at an event facility back home, and I know for a fact that even stream tray buffet can be done much better than this. Grand guests can eat at the sit down restaurants for free, but you must book them one day in advance, between 10am and 3pm and wear proper dining attire (no shorts/sandals) For food included in an all-in package, it's acceptable, but if you take one of the lower level packages, you'll be charged 140 pesos for this hot mess of a buffet, and similar prices for menu service.. skip it and go out for your food; chjeaper and better tasting. Upgrading packages isn't worth it for the food, but is for the open bar.

P.S. The cerviche & tortilla chips (fresh fried on the spot) at the pool bar snack stations are another tasty exception to the rule.. hot sauce at every table (Salsa Huichol) is also yummy. Cheeseburgers & hotdogs available, but honestly folks, you're in Mexico.. get out and eat local. Try El Tizon Takos and the Mer Y Terra lunch stand directly across the street from the hotel; both good, cheap, proper local street food. If you really can't do Mexican food and are feeling homesick, Blake's sports bar (just outside of Grand section) is run by two Canadians.. typical pub food, and NHL games on T.V.

Speaking of going out, the location of this hotel is great. The hotel zone is the perfect part of PV. Nueveo is all high end cruiseship shopping (Wal Mart, etc..) and downtown is Spring break/Senior Frogs cheesy. Hotel Zone is all small local owned shops and a great place to explore. There is a beautiful shopping plaza right outside the Grand section, everything much cheaper than inside the hotel. Buses are crazy, but cheap.(5.5 pesos to downtown, driver will make change) Definately see the Malecon if you go downtown, but walk a few blocks in to find nicer and more authentic shopping. The Moon travel guide to PV (blue cover) has a good section on PV shopping.

I've pointed out a lot of negative things about this hotel, but my overall experience was great. If you're used to a high end all in experience (RUI etc..) you'll probably be disapointed. If you do your homework and go into it knowing what to expect, it's fantastic. At the end of the day, the price was right, the people and weather were incredible, and the hotel is a great compromise location for budget travellers or couples who are torn between all-in pool side lounging and getting out to experience local culture, food and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fudbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I just returned from a wonderful trip to the Plaza Pelicanos from March 21-27. We were a group of six spring breakers traveling from Chicago and we stayed on the ‘Club’ side. We arrived late Saturday night and check in was a breeze. The front desk staff speaks very good English. When you get a taxi to the resort, make sure you tell the driver either ‘Club’ or ‘Grand’ side, as they are rather far apart. Our room was somewhat old, however it was clean. The bathroom is rather small, but is fairly new with all stone. Our room overlooked to Club side pool and we never had any problems with noise either outside or in the hallway. When we arrived our safe did not have a mechanism, however after a trip to the front desk that was quickly remedied.
FOOD
The food, as with nearly all buffets, was sub-par. It was edible, and somewhat diverse, but not spectacular. The juice was delicious. I never ate lunch at the buffet. Instead I ate at the poolside grill, where they had hamburgers, hotdogs, fries, and nachos. They were all tasty and great for a quick bite by the pool. I would say that the dinners were much better than the breakfasts, due to the fact that there were more options. Twice during our five dinners on the resort they set up an outdoor buffet and show in the park/jogging track. There was an Italian theme and a Latin theme. They were good. Make sure that you take advantage of the specialty dinner coupons. There is an Italian and a Sushi. They were by far the best meals that we had during the week.
POOL
The Club side has access to three pools: the Club side pool (by the buffet. This is surrounded by buildings and has no ocean view.), the adult pool (which is rather small, has a hot tub, and is secluded by a dense forest), and the activities pool (which faces the ocean). The Grand section has another pool, however we were unable to access it. We spent all of our time at the activities pool. The activities coordinators try hard to get everyone involved with the games and activities. There was volleyball, water polo, and basketball. It was somewhat loud with music and splashing, however not to an unreasonable extent. There is a long beach facing area between the activities pool and the Grand side for those who do not want to be involved in the activities but want to see the ocean. The bartenders at the swim up bar were wonderful and would bring you drinks without asking. The one complaint was that there were hardly and umbrellas around the pool and in the afternoon it got rather hot. The beach is rather small but there is a small area for swimming in the ocean. The beach just a short walk north is much better, since it gets much wider.
LOBBY BAR
This was one of the failures of the resort. The lobby bar is small, hot and very loud and echo-y, even with only a few people in the bar. In the evening we would get drinks and sit by the pool where it was much easier to hear.
EVENING SHOWS
The shows every night were entertaining. There is one group of performers who perform every night. Some of the shows are corny but the performers are talented. There are also audience participation shows which were very entertaining.
SPRING BREAKERS
I had read reviews on TA about how the resort was just overrun with spring breakers. This was not the case the week we were there. There were maybe 30 spring breakers in total, mostly in small groups, and I felt that they were very well behaved. I was expecting and kind of hoping for a few more, however the smaller number made everyone closer. There were no beer bongs on the beach, or out of control parties. If students bother you, you can just move down the resort away from the activities pool. There was plenty of space for everyone. As for it being loud at night, the activities staff organized trips to the clubs every night for ten pesos, which included taxi ride, cover, and a few drinks. Anyone who was going out at night was gone by 11 and the lobby got quiet. However there were only a handful of students who went out at night. For anyone looking to go out at night, the clubs were fairly small, however were always crowded. There were never any lines and there were mostly college age people at the clubs.
CONCLUSION
Overall, Plaza Pelicanos is a steal for the price. It was very clean, the employees were very friendly and helpful, and constant improvements were always being made. Some portions of the hotel are becoming dated, however it is well kept. The multiple sections make it easy to pick the area right for you. The pool needs many more umbrellas, and the beach is small compared to hotels just to the north. Also, there are no clocks anywhere in the hotel, which is not a huge deal seeing as we were living on island time, but there were also no alarm clocks. Make sure you either bring one or use your cell phone. There were very few children and I would say that the average age was in the 50’s.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runner367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Our family stayed here from 3/20-3/29. I read all the reviews. First like any resort our room wasn't ready, and when it was, we didn't accept it. We perservered and got a room with a bigger balcony the next day.The resort is very clean and well maintained. We stayed in the Grand side. Make sure to tell your driver the Grand section or else they will drop you off at the Club section. We ate at all the restaraunts in the all-inclusive. Our favorite was the sushi, because where it is located and the food, we had filet mingnon, yes at the sushi restaraunt. The buffets do get tiring after a while. So go out and go to Pepes pronounced pipis. So good, they make the guacomole right at your table. If you have problems at the hotel ask for Oscar.Claudia was our bartender and so funny. Luigi was our entertainer and our spanish teacher.We took the bus downtown, very easy and fun. You can get an hour long massage for 25.00 just outside the hotel.We felt very safe, and the sunsets are beautiful. It was also nice to relax in the canopy beds, beautiful. Do mark your loungers at the pool early in the morning, and to make reservations at the other restaraunts do it early at the buffet area. You can get omlettes made anyway you like them. Also they set up a table later in the afternoon for Mexian coffee, truly different, you can add liquours or tequlia! Don't go to the bull fight, cruel, I don't know what we were thinking. We did go to Rhythmn of The Night! Very nice.Careful on renting jet skiis. Negotiate and go to the ones on the left side of the infinity pool!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valpoconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This hotel is just ok. The rooms are nothing special and the food was only ok. I would opt out of getting the all-inclusive and go out for dinner instead. I would only stay here again in the future if we got a great deal. There are plenty of others in the same price range that are better quality. Go on the Ultimate Canopy Tour, that is the one thing I remember the most about my trip, well worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureSeeker84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
516 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,555 reviews
2.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing