We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a very good time. Puerto Vallarta is my favorite place for vacations. We go every year and came back yesterday, but can hardly wait to go back! All the staff is very kind and helpful, the activities at the pool and just right, the music, everything. The only this I would ask for is to get a room at the tower, since I have to walk with the help of a cane, the elevator is much better than to climb the stairs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very proud to have you back at your home away from home!! Thank you for posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Plaza Pelicanos guests have.
I will extend your congratulations to our staff will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit with your couple to receive you as you deserve.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks at this resort. My wife and I and our son really had a great time. Definitely more frequented by locals then by foreigners and it made it as much or more enjoyable. A little noisy some days with the kids but we met some super people. The staff is EXTREMELY attentive. As a prior traveller ( Michael) had mentioned Manual was very friendly and informative and took an interest in making sure we were happy, the other bell men were also quite good, Mayra and Xochil also helped to make our stay very memorable. Special thanks to Gabriel for ensuring we had a great room as well. The activity people were amazing. All in all one of the better vacations we have had in Mexico and we go every year. The rooms are a bit older but VERY clean and we had a 2 bedroom with full kitchen that suited our needs very well. It was quiet and comfortable. The main restaurant was good and reasonable for breakfast, etc. and we did take the Rodizio one night as well. It was OK but there are 2 Brazilian/Argentinian restaurants in town that are more authentic. The location is close to Old Town and the Malecon. We would come again. As for the tour companies etc take it as you may. We found one next to the pharmacy to the left of the entry to the hotel run by two brothers who did their best to fix us up on prices without having to take a presentation. The day we left he actually was wearing a tee shirt from our home town to thank us. Such a nice surprise and like I say two really decent guys. Just tell them you don't want to take a presentation and they will do everything to keep their prices fair anyway. If you do take a presentation they actually have better discounts then the Sunset Plaza presentation the hotel promotes. ( The only really value the hotel offered was 50% off the all inclusive if you went through the hotel. Tours were actually more?) As for location, Downtown or up to marina is a 6.50 peso ride, Sayulita is 30 pesos. We will be returning in the next year or two to this resort. Worth every penny...

Room Tip: email Gabriel beforehand with any special request. We were quite pleased and as the room was back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelsTandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Plaza Pelicanos Grand Hotel guests have.
We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and services our great team are always happy to please any request.
We are very happy to hear that we were up to your expectations.
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week here. It is a smaller resort on the beach in the Hotel Zona. Our corner room overlooked the bay and south toward the downtown area. The staff was warm and supporting and by the second day appeared to recognize us and we were greeting with apparent care. We would specifically like to commend Manual who greeted us as we got out of the taxi and was a wealth of information throughout our stay. Selene at the concierge desk is a joy and Alejandro in activities was supportive and fun to deal with. Our housekeeper Silvia saw to our every need and truly made us feel welcomed. We particularly like the fact that about half of the guests were Mexican families and their relationships with each other make both of us happy. If we have any drawback, it is the constant pressure to take tours and see timeshares from the storefronts across the street from the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Michael,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your stay, we are very happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your vacation.
I will extend your congratulations to Manuel, Selene, Alejandro and Silvia for their great job and making a memorable stay for you.
Plaza Pelicanos Grand is located right on the beach at the center of the hotel zone, just a few minutes’ walk from the rich culture and traditional architecture of downtown.
We are a complete resort who offers you full all inclusive, activities, a la carte restaurants, snacks, bars, pools and entertainment. You never will be bored with us.
We will be looking forward to seeing you every year!!
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez
Lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Pelicanos for 7 days in March an overall had a pretty great experience. Most of the staff were incredibly friendly and always around to help. We were shocked at how often food and drink seemed to magically appear beside you as you laid I the sun. Excellent service!
Upon arrival we had a cocktail in hand within minutes of stepping off the bus. Our room wasn't available when we first arrived but after only a couple hours of waiting (which we spent drinking at the bar) we received a free room upgrade!
The a la carte dinners are absolutely amazing! Definitely try take advantage of as many as possible. As for the regular buffet meals, they are pretty standard, nothing amazing but pretty good nonetheless.
One thing you should be aware of if you are considering staying at this resort. If you are a beach person this is NOT the resort for you. The beach is very small and closed half the time due to the tide. We got away with using the resort next door's huge, beautiful beach for most of our stay but on one of our final days their staff caught on and kicked us out... Use at your own risk.
Due to the lack of beach the lounging chairs out front are a hot commodity. We didn't find it too hard to find a chair most days but some guests are ridiculously selfish and would reserve them super early and not give them up all day.
The outdoor beach beds right beside the ocean are a wicked, freaking awesome place to watch a sunrise/sunset or sleep off a hangover. They are super comfortable and quite possibly one of the resorts best features! If you are staying with your significant other I guarantee you'll enjoy them!
The Plaza Pelicanos has a very nice pool with a swim up bar. We found the water to be a little chilly tho and hard to stay in there unless it was 30 degrees.
On another pool related note, it seemed that whenever there was even the slightest breeze, the wind came rushing around one corner of the hotel making half the pool rather uncomfortable.
The sky bar (the roof top patio) was allowed for some beautiful views. Unfortunately, it was only open until 8 at night and definitely should be open longer. They have comfortable patio furniture and a hot tub up there and it makes for an incredibly romantic place to chill out and watch the sunset.
The evening entertainment was mediocre. I'm sure kids would love it but it was cheap and cheesy compared to what many of the other resorts put on each night.
If you are a light sleeper be sure to get a room as far from the pool bar as possible. Some of the noise from rowdy guests at night can travel up to the rooms because that bar is centrally located and the only one open late.
Overall, the value for money is there. The location is decent, it's
a 5 dollar can ride to downtown and if it wasn't for the crappy beach we would definitely consider staying
at the Plaza Pelicanos again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curtterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please let us express our gratitude for sharing such nice comments regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation. I will extend your congratulations to our staff for their great job.For us it is really motivating to know that our service makes the difference in our guests’ vacation and that we are able to help you relax and simply enjoy your free time with us.
We are very proud we were able to surprise you with our a la carte all inclusive. We strongly believe in the personalized service and the benefits of having menu choices with tasty dishes. Thank you for your appreciation.
One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime, lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
We will be waiting for you to come back really soon.
Best Regards
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here during the quiet season on a time share swap. I had a single room in the tower on the 5th floor with a big balcony and a great view. The room itself was clean and large, had 2 bathrooms. The beach area is small but plenty big enough for swimming. The pool area is pretty nice. I didn't eat at the resort at all, but made good use of the kitchen and the Mega grocery store only 3 blocks away, and visited several restaurants in PV. The bus stops close by if you're up for public transportation and it's a short cheap ride to downtown. The staff were friendly and helpful, but I had to endure 2 separate pitches about doing the tour of the new property next door and all the discounts and perks I could get by doing it. I still turned it down. I'm not sure if this is also an issue for people staying here as regular hotel guests. Wifi is free in one area of the hotel. You can pay for a week's access from your room, but it's a little pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FrauP7121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for expressing your opinion abou our resort, it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.
We celebrate you have a very positive impression on your experience during your vacation in our resort, expecially for the quality and variety of our facilities and for the singular service you received from our staff. We appreciate your giving us the opportunity to learn more about the service that our hotel has provided so that we can look to improve our process for the future.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Have a great day,
Leaslie Gómez
Lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I would actually give this hotel 3.5 stars. I had read the reviews before arriving and I agree with most of them and I knew what to expect. We were there in September which is part of their slow /rainy season so the hotel was probably only 25% full. Very quiet. The hotel is more like a small boutique hotel. There is one section that is maybe only 3 stories tall and another Tower that has nine floors. From what I can tell, the rooms in the Tower are much nicer. We were in a 2 bedroom suite on the 7th floor, oceanfront and on the corner overlooking the pool and ocean. The view was fantastic! We could hear the waves crashing on the shore...definitely oceanfront!

The Hotel is small. The staff is great! Very nice and accommodating. The restaurants were good. Not a large selection but the food was decent. The breakfast buffet was good...fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, pastries, made to order omelets and French toast, lots of Mexican dishes. Lunch was ala cart...fajitas, enchiladas, etc. We ate in the "specialty" restaurant 2 nights...Argentinian and Japanese. Food was good, house wine OK. As for the restaurants.....not a large variety, we went out of the property several times to eat. We went once to the evening show at the hotel and it was "interesting". The hotel definitely caters to Mexican travelers.

The Spa is extremely small (one room) but we had the most amazing massages there. Marisol and Ida were fantastic!! We went twice for 80min massages for $36.00 each plus tip. The best massage we have ever had!

The gym is bad. Old and out dated. No view. One treadmill, a couple of bikes, a couple of ellipticals. OLD weights and gym equipment. Don't come here to workout!

Concierge means timeshare pusher....Violeta was very nice and helpful. We did the timeshare presentation and received some discounts but realized later that we could have gotten ALOT more for free. If you do the timeshare presentation, ask for a lot of "gifts" for your time. EX: free excursions, free spa treatments, actual money, etc. The resort next door( the one they are promoting), Sunset, is Beautiful. If you haven't booked yet, try to stay there.

The beach.....not much of a beach and the water is murky. We didn't swim in it at all. of course peddlers are on the beach if you want to buy trinkets.

The pools.....two very small pools, one larger one, all clean but old. If hotel was crowded the pool area would be very crowded. Lounge chairs were not good. Staff service was great. Pool bar was good. (food at pool didn't seem good, ate at the restaurant).

The room.....our room location made this trip great. The sound of the waves was amazing. The furnishings are decent, clean, relatively comfortable. King size bed in the master, two couches (which are beds) in the living room, small dining table and full kitchen, additional
bedroom was like a hotel with 2 queen beds. Towels were good and housekeeping was great.

Overall a nice trip. NOT 5 star but nice. Our next trip to PV we will try another location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Tower facing the beach and/or pool. Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Ms. Tasha,
Thank you for sharing your opinion after your recent stay in the Plaza Pelicanos Grand.
We appreciate the recognition granted for the services you have received from our staff, especially for highlighting the facilities that our property offers. We feel proud to have provided you with the best experience among those you have tasted in the past previous stays. Our staff will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for their performance.
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion that definitely helps us to make sure that all our services and facilities fill up our client’s standards.
Thank you for contribution to the forum and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Puerto Vallarta to provide you with another best Plaza Pelicanos experience.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First of all, Just getting off the plane is overwhelming with all of the tour sales and taxi sales. We decided to get a taxi inside the airport, because we weren't really comfortable yet with just getting a taxi on the street, but they WAY overcharged us and after a week of using the taxis every day, they are fine!! Don't give in to the pressure to buy a taxi in the airport.

I have to be honest, upon first arrival at the hotel, our group was a little nervous by the quality of this hotel. BUT after just one night there we fell in love with it. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We were greeted with such a kind concierge and treated to chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. The bell boys were full of smiles and overly kind in helping with our luggage. There was a door man that we loved to speak to every night as we left the hotel. He was very helpful in directing us to different restaurants every night. There was a sales lecture while we were checking in, but the lady was very polite and after we said no we weren't interested we were never bothered with that again. We chose not to do all inclusive because we wanted to get out around town and experience the local life in PV. But we did have one lunch there are the snack bar and it was good. There is also a Burger King and Pizza Hut within walking distance if all else fails.

The high points:
*The cabanas were definitely one of my favorite parts of our trip. They were so comfortable & FREE!
*They had a full list of activities that you could choose from. We chose to participate in the Kayaking. It was free once a day and the guide was so nice. We were able to see some whales from our kayaks.
*The pool was very clean and nice. Free towels every day, but make sure you hang on to your towel card!
*OH...the rooftop veranda with the hot tub. Every time we went up there, we were the only ones there! However, we would go up around 8:00-9:00, so there may have been more people as the night went on. I can't say. The only complaint I have about the hot tub was that it didn't seem very hot and we couldn't figure out how to turn the temp up.
*The rooms were clean. They weren't top notch or the most fancy thing I had ever seen, but they were nice. We hardly spent any time in our room at all. Occasionally we would have lunch on our balcony which was very nice. There is a huge market within walking distance that you can get all your groceries from.
*The massage spa...I booked a massage on the beach the morning that we were to check out and it was wonderful. She did a great job. There's nothing better than having a massage while listening to the waves.

The Beach:
*you could walk down to the beach and grab a lounge chair, once again it's free. There is a huge concrete wall right behind them though and it blocked the sun on the chairs until about 10 am. But pretty much every one stayed up near the pool during the day, so we were the only ones down on the actual sand. The reason most people didn't want to be there were because of the peddlers. Every couple of minutes someone walked by trying to sell you something. It was annoying at first, but they honestly were not pushy at all. All we had to say was "No gracias" and they were on their way. Most of them were very nice actually and we struck up a friendship with several of them. You can get some good bargains down there if you are good at haggling. Don't ever accept the price they give you first.

The area was great and we were never worried about it being dangerous and we went out to old town almost every night. Beware of the taxi drivers that might try and rip you off though. Ask the guy at the door what a good price is for the place you are going. They will help you.

Overall, the trip was a huge success and we would very willingly go back again. If you are willing to settle for a room that is not quite a 5 star in return for rest and relaxation with great people, then don't worry about the Plaza Pelicanos Grand. Again, the rooms were not bad at all. Just not amazing. It really was a great choice and we have lots of memories there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank randarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Please let us express our gratitude for sharing such nice comments regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation.
For us it is really motivating to know that our service makes the difference in our guests’ vacation and that we are able to help you relax and simply enjoy your free time with us.
Plaza Pelicanos Grand is located at Plaza las Glorias, 4km away from the international airport and 1.5 km from Puerto Vallarta’s downtown, with 85 rooms, infinity pool with a wading pool, aqua bar, buffet restaurant, two a la carte specialties restaurants for dinner, snacks restaurants for dinner, snacks restaurant, sky lounge bar, activities center, kids club, games room, gym, travel agency, business center and spa.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime. lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx.
We will be waiting for you to come back really soon.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,625 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#45 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,763 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Mar...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $124 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing