We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic stay, no raves...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
449 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Basic stay, no raves...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

March 2-9, 2013 Plaza Pelicanos Grand Puerto Vallarta
Okay RCI trade but nothing to make me return.
WE arrived and check in went smooth with some slight confusion and very little information given. I had been emailing the concierge Gabriel Garcia and thus did meet him and found him pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The AI was optional and you could do it for as many or as few days as you wanted, that was convenient. We decided to do a timeshare presentation before being on site for 1/2 off the AI , so went from $80.p/pd to $40/p/d US. At $80. this AI would not be anywhere near worth the cost, at $40, it was even debatable. Lunch and supper were buffets except for some specialty dinner times which were sit down. The buffet was lacking, in variety and quality but edible and appeared clean. The waiters were okay especially once they knew you were a tipper, hmm. More on the food to follow.
Our room a 2 bedroom unit was spacious but very dated. It was clean but needed some repairs, holes noted in curtains, and definate decorating. You could lock off the rooms convenient when traveling with others. The kitchen was small but had a apartment size refrigerator, 4 burner stove, microwave, coffeepot, sink, dishes, etc. Served the purpose well. They gave you a gallon of purified water free but had a tag on it saying there would be a charge for more. What the charge was I have no clue as we bought off site. There were no extras included like sodas, snacks, juice or such in refrigerator. Room service was available but only till 6pm...never heard of that before but we utilized it and it was timely...There was no real kitchen table just a small table in master bedroom with two chairs and a counter so we ate on coffee table in living room. Beyond the kitchen was the living room, L shaped couch, small flat screen tv and an armoire for storage and a safe, placed on top shelf so had to use a chair to reach it . 2 large windows faced out of living room over tiled roofs and onto pool area and ocean. View was okay, but lot of roof seen. Certainly not ocean front, unless you were higher up.
The master bedroom had a king size bed, side tables,lamps and a small flat screen tv, with its own off hallway entrance and bathroom. Closet space was plentiful. There was also a small hotel type table in this bedroom with two chairs, lighting was quite dim but tolerable and plugs were at a minimum. The bathroom had a sink, vanity, tub, with shower and toilet. It was of decent size. They did supply soap, shampoo, body cream and conditioner. They also gave you thru your week stay one shower cap. Towels were plentiful , facecloths and hot water. There was a tiny balcony off the master bedroom where you could sit 2 people.
To the other side of unit was the second bedroom with 2 beds, matrimonial size, I believe, small flat screen tv, sliders onto another blacony for 2 people, and a bathroom, similar to master bath. There was also a third bathroom with just sink, toilet and shower as you entered into kitchen. That was convenient. Can never have enough space or bathrooms. The beds were comfortable as were pillows, cannot always be said in Mexico. The A/C only worked fair but at least it worked.
The doors to the unit were quite flimsy and hallway noise was quite obvious especially at night as folks came in. There were some spring breakers there who on a few occasions were noisy very late at night but not a big issue. So in essence the room was a basic 2-3 star unit, clean but lacking decor, needing some updates and decorating. Served my needs for bathrooms, refrigerator, and space. My mother was fine with it, but she goes free so why not. Hubby was not thrilled, felt our traded unit was much better but he only stayed 3 days so not a big issue. I found the resort conveniently located but parking was at a minimum so we never moved car once there, we walked or took taxis.
Specialty Restaurant Flor de Cabaza, nice decor , sometimes in , sometimes out, some nights a show others not, but no correct info supplied. Brazilian Night was fair at best, very disorganized. Food just fair and service less than desirable, waiters obviously very stressed to point of actually being nasty. Snack Bar La Candalaria by pool hamburgs, hotdogs, fries, cerviche, drinks etc..just okay . We did partake of the Specialty Restaurant Japanese night, again only fair but better than Brazilian.
Supper buffet very limited choices, decent food, no raves but drink service was okay, though limited. Many upcharges for premium alcohol. This was at La Pergola, the open aired restaurant on site. The breakfast buffet here was good no complaints.
Pool chairs absolute nightmare. Towel cards and recieve towels at towel hut, told man there no chairs anywhere, oh well! Went to Mayra the resort manager who did eventually find and have some chairs moved for us but said they have a rule of not reserving chairs yet everyone was blatantly doing it , but no one enforced it, so essentially useless. She seemed not to care much, I mentioned very few chairs for number of guests she agreed, and said yes I know, done deal! Hmm. We experienced this issue many days, going another time to concierge Gabriel, he also knew it was an issue but not much concern. Did find us chairs though. The beach was not great here and very limited seating. The pool was decent and clean but many spring breakers were in it most times and at times they were obnoxious but for the most part they were fine.
The maids were good, but cleaned room quite late like 3-4pm. Much too late for me, as usually back in room by 4ish. No turn down service, but I rarely use that anyway.
Room service, limited menu but good service, decent portions, and food okay. Delivery quick and efficient. There were many items on menu for aditional charge if having a celebration like flowers, chocolate covered starwberries room decorations etc..so if in need that would be convenient. Breakfast room service was very good.
They have a roof top sky bar, dark, nice chairs, once you sit cannot see skyline anyway, too dangerous at night walking up there, many levels. Drinks could be obtained here, where as many not available in La Pergola. Other than here really no place to sit , relax and enjoy a drink...we went once and not again, just too dangerous and too dark..
The timeshare presentation was medium to low pressure but was actually selling timeshares at Sunset Plaza which of course looked awesome in comparison to Plaza Pelicanos Grand. We would like to trade into Sunset Plaza and might have even contemplated something there if prices had been reasonable and they worked more with us, but not...Higher AI, would move us right away but have to pay more for AI, no trying it out, etc..and a few glitches that we knew were untruths, so we opted not to partake, best anyway, already own too many..LOL.
We had a decent stay, despite hubby leaving early and he clearly implied he was glad as did not care for resort at all. I would not return most likely but if I did it would be just for room, not the AI, and only in shoulder season as too many issues with lounge chairs. Also if you could be assured the tower on the ocean that looked much newer and nicer than where we were located, but I only saw it from outside.
We did the usual roamed about town, went to Malecon, shopped, and had our two best meals off site...One was at Cuetes and Cuetes in South Side where we met up with some friends. Cheap eats, good beers, very cold and awesome popcorn. Perfect view of Pier and music as night wore on. Would return and have written review.
The best meal was had at Blakes Restaurant where again we met up with friends..Had reservations and went on Prime Rib night. 180 pesos for Prime Rib as you liked, mashed potateos, green beans and carrots and Yorkshire pudding. Strawberry margarita quite large. Slow service but well worth it and will def. return. Have written review.
So on the whole our room was spacious and served a basic stay. Nothing fancy but clean. Food too limited, very low quality, for the most part. Service questionable. Lounge chairs a big issue here, along with inability to sit at night and enjoy a drink somewhere with service other than sky bar. Location of resort fine, shopping close by etc. If looking for a cheap place to stay, reasonably located for a basic stay, this would suit your needs. Best things for me were spaciousness and numerous bathrooms. No real complaints other than loungers but real raves either.

Room Tip: Try to get tower not villas area, appears newer and closer to ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bezerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    864
    358
    185
    126
See reviews for
894
725
69
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is going to be a somewhat long, but detailed review of what was good and what wasn't.

The short upfront version is: Stay at the Sunset Plaza next door.

We purchased our second bundle of points here 2 years ago when we stayed at the Sunset Plaza next door. For our purchase, we were given a free weeks stay at the Sunset Plaza, point free. All we had to pay was the maintenance fees (about 300 dollars). We decided to use a little less points over here to stay for our remaining 3 days in Mexico. We rented out the 1 bedroom. We had to call the mexico properties to make our reservations. When doing so, they made an error.. they had us checking out of the Sunset on the 27th, and in at the Plaza on the 28th!! So we had to pay out of pocket for the night of the 27th, although we did get a discount for being Shell owners it was 140 bucks after tax!!!!!!! I couldn't believe that place costed that much. Luckily, they had availability. We assumed that Pelicanos and Sunset operated in a similar fashion as it pertained to the amenenities, service, and pricing, as they are both owned by the same organization. Do not be fooled.

Although it is an older facility, the rooms had nice tile and granite, but the walls were hideous. The ceilings were low. The 1 bedroom was actually 2 rooms joined by a hotel divider. My guess is that the studio was the part with the kitchen, and the other was a normal hotel room. At any rate, the beds in the kitchen area were rock hard. The pillows were crap, although they had a pillow menu. But,... they wanted to charge you $1 a day for them! They didn't do that next door. We read through the huge owners "manual" and it said there was free wifi in the lobby for owners, and we would just have to ask for it. Well... no such free wifi exists and if you want it for your wireless devices, there was an $11 USD per day charge. But they had a computer center that they gave out keys for use of 20 minutes at a time. Problem is, the computers are so OLD and SLOW!! Single core processors, that are using outdated versions of Internet Explorer, so multiple websites do not load to a usable state. I kid you not, it took 5 minutes just to open Hotmail!! The printer was out of paper, and when I asked for some, I was given 5 sheets. To top it off, the copies of Windows XP they were using were not geniune. What a PIA!!! Next door the computers were great and they offered free (although somewhat slow) wifi.

We had purchased all inclusive over at this resort as well. But, buyer beware. It goes from noon to noon. Breakfast is buffet style, and the food was actually really good. Lots of authentic mexican dishes. No complaints with breakfast. However, lunch does not start until 1 pm. No room service, not anything. There is a snack bar down in the pool area... but guess what? It is not included. Here you can get burgers, hot dogs, fries and what not. Otherwise, if you want lunch, you need to wait until after 1 pm and hit the buffet. Again. After we got our all inclusive bracelets, we tried to make a reservation for the restaurant (can't remember its name), but we were told it was full. We went down at dinner anyway, and there was only 2 tables taken. They took us right in. The food there was great, our server was incredible. It was a good time.

The next morning we had breakfast, and wanted to hit lunch, but that is when we realized, we had to wait until after noon. What a bummer.

The pool area is incredibly cramped. I mean jam packed. Although we are in Mexico, this property was filled with large Mexican families and was catered more towards the Nationals than the tourists. I do not have a problem with this, except for there are so many kids in the pool it is a little irritating to get water splashed into your drink. They had daily activities, and a little bit more lively music by the pool than next door. The entertainment staff also did a bar hop at night, but we did not attend. The wait staff inside and outside is impeccable. They cannot be beat. Luis Angel was hilarious and fun, and was just a drink server.

This facility is a Corona resort, and you can't go wrong with that. I drink beer and tequila only, but the foo foo drinks here were really not that great (according to the ladies in the group) and tasted kinda bad.

A really cool thing about this place is that they had a "sky bar", a bar upstairs on the roof of the tower. This bar did not serve beer, but they did serve strong drinks like martinis and the like. This was included in the all inclusive, which was nice. The music though, was SUPER lame. Beach boys, and other lame oldies. It would have been much better and more adult oriented had they mixed in a top 40 or something of the like.

I gave 2 out of 5 for the following reasons:
Reservation Mistake
Timing of all inclusive (couldn't get lunch or room service before all inclusive ran out)
All inclusive was partially inclusive.
Crappy pillows and the nickel and diming of everything.
No free Wifi for owners, and crummy computers that take EONS to operate.
Check out was at 11 am instead of noon next door.
Pool was too crowded.

Room Tip: Stay at the sunset plaza next door if you are shell vacations owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wulfsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in a suite with two other travelers. We each had our own full bath! The view was spectacular. I found everyone, visitors and staff very friendly and pleasant. By the third day many of the staff would greet us by our names. Most people speak or know a little english.
Loved the SkyBar above the 8th floor. Eduardo was the greatest bartender! Even had lite entertainment a couple of evenings up there.

The food in the Pergola had a nice variety for breakfast as well as made as ordered omlettes and pancakes. We had the Rodizio dinner and were very pleased. The food in the Flor de Calabasa was delicious and Sergio was an excellent waiter.

Take the "Vallarta Tours" to Las Caletas. Lots of things to do and great food provided. I liked the Sea Safari even better. Several activities packed into one day with just the right amount of time in each place. The tour staff were really fun. Thank you to tour Captains Victor and Poncho
and all your staff. You helped make a memorable vacation.

Many little restaurants around. I recommend Roma directly across the street and 8tostadas across the boulevard on the Golds Gym side of the hotel drive and up a block or two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent the second week of April here and found the resort not to our liking. There was nearly always at least two sources of loud music at the same time in the pool area keeping us in our room during the day or forcing us to leave the resort completely. It seems to be a fiesta place for locals and not a place to rest and relax.
Our room was nice and the view was great because we insisted on being high up and not overlooking the pool area. The staff were great especially Manuel the door man...ever helpful and a great sense of humor. I enjoyed a massage on the beach by Morisal. I had asked her for a deep tissue massage and she was amazing.
We only ate in one of the restaurants and the food was not acceptable so we simple ate out at our favorite spots in Puerto Vallarta and Nueva Vallarta.

Room Tip: Do not settle for the first room they show you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryWilliams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Watch out for your towels, if they take them you pay $40.00 each. They will take them if you leave them lying around. It happened twice within 1 week. Other than that it was great. But also b4 you book, take a look at their new building Sunset Plaza, it is even better! 4/9/13

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flores076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

this is my second trip to an all inclusive in Mexico, this resort was nothing like the resort I stayed in when I traveled to Rivera Maya. This resort is much older. The buffet (there was only one) was only about 25 feet in length and had nothing but Mexican quisine. Now I know i was in Mexico but most resorts offer you a variety of food. Breakfast was the only meal that was decent and that was because there was a grill chef cooking eggs and pancakes. I ate hot dogs and hamburgers from the poolside grill. We arrived as a party of 5, we booked well in advance and were surprised that when they assigned us rooms on 3 different floors. The front desk had a "deal with it" attitude. The waitstaff were very nice.the roof top bar was nice also. Only well drinks were served. it cost about $2.50 usd to have absolute vodka. The only beer they had was corona on tap. The massage/facial for $51.00 usd is a very good deal. The beds were comfortable. Water - you are allowed 2 bottles of water per room every 3 days! The pool is in need of repair as the liner was sagging and you had to be careful when walking in the pool not to trip on the bulges in the liner. The beach is horrible, the smallest beach i have ever experienced. Looked dirty. This resort is a popular destinaton for mexican families and there were alot of kids in the pool between friday and monday, Took the bus to downtown boardwalk area and had lunch at PIPI's. which was nice. You can find much nicer resorts, but this is an older part of town. i would look around to find a nicer resort, we paid $1400.00 per person which i don't think is cheap. i have stayed at much nicer resorts for less money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pteschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach the week of March 23-30 on an RCI trade. We had some concerns due to some of the unfavorable reviews. We ended up being very pleased in general with our stay here. This is our 4th trip to Puerto Vallarta and 9th trip to Mexico but we had not been to this resort before. The staff was VERY friendly and welcoming - everyone from the bellmen to the housekeepers worked very hard to make it an enjoyable stay. The sales tour of the new building Sunset Beach was very low key and low pressure with some nice perks for attending the presentation. We did just one day of the all inclusive at half price and the food quality was above average including the gourmet Mexican meal we had that evening. The week was very busy there due to it being Holy Week with many visitors from Mexico as well as Spring Break visitors from the US so it was busy around the pool area especially. The location of this resort is excellent for walking to town as well as a short bus or cab ride to Marina Vallarta, the mall, Costco or old town. Kitchen was well stocked with appliances and there were some room updates that had been done as well. Our only comments that would be less than positive is that the pool is a bit small when the resort is full and that the evening entertainment can be a bit loud up until about 10pm some nights. Overall, we enjoyed our time here and would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area are nice with an ocean view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing