We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Small, friendly resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Small, friendly resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach the week of March 23-30 on an RCI trade. We had some concerns due to some of the unfavorable reviews. We ended up being very pleased in general with our stay here. This is our 4th trip to Puerto Vallarta and 9th trip to Mexico but we had not been to this resort before. The staff was VERY friendly and welcoming - everyone from the bellmen to the housekeepers worked very hard to make it an enjoyable stay. The sales tour of the new building Sunset Beach was very low key and low pressure with some nice perks for attending the presentation. We did just one day of the all inclusive at half price and the food quality was above average including the gourmet Mexican meal we had that evening. The week was very busy there due to it being Holy Week with many visitors from Mexico as well as Spring Break visitors from the US so it was busy around the pool area especially. The location of this resort is excellent for walking to town as well as a short bus or cab ride to Marina Vallarta, the mall, Costco or old town. Kitchen was well stocked with appliances and there were some room updates that had been done as well. Our only comments that would be less than positive is that the pool is a bit small when the resort is full and that the evening entertainment can be a bit loud up until about 10pm some nights. Overall, we enjoyed our time here and would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area are nice with an ocean view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    774
    323
    180
    121
See reviews for
781
639
59
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 12 days to long. The resort was clean and the staff were excellent! The food was terrible. The pool was small and there was no beach. The resort was 50 pecos from downtown which was awesome! Need we say more

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion about your recent stay at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort!

We appreciate your effort to share your experience with other travelers, our main purpose is always to offer the best service possible to our customers. We have taken your opinion about the food very seriously, and for sure we will work on that matter. Thank you once again for your comment, and hopefully we will see you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for five days at this resort. The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout the trip. We went for a timeshare tour so we were able to get half off the cost of the all inclusive. The drinks were good, food was okay. We had a hot breakfast every morning and lunch by the pool every day. The workers were great especially the waiters by the pool. Always bringing us new drinks. The beach is small but the pool was more than enough. There are many activities to do on the beach. We enjoyed parasailing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leontia25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate your valuable time to share your experience to other travelers around the world!

It is very enjoyable for the staff to know our effort to offer an excellent service is worth it, and it give us strenght to keep going in the right direction.We hope to see you soon, and it will be a pleasure for us to serve you once again. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I loved it here! Everyone was curtious and so helpful. The buffet restuarant was amazing! The staff was unbeatable! I have never seen anything like it before. It was most definitely the best experience I have ever had. I cannot wait to go back again! It was clean, very well kept up and the entertainment was also great. I loved everything about it! I couldn't be more pleased!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newfiegirl_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable comments about your stay at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, we are so glad it has been a pleasant experience for you and family. Kind comments are very motivating for all of us to continue offering the best service possible. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again here at your home Plaza Pelicanos Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was at Plaza Pelicanos for two weeks through timesharing and was most impressed. I have stayed at about 12 resorts in Puerto Vallarta, many much more luxurious than Plaza Pelicanos, but I think this property has become my favourite. Here are my observations:

PROS: (in no particular order)
-close to but slightly off the main street, bus route to centre town/Malecon, and walking distance to restaurants, spas,liquor stores and groceries (Mega store). This proximity is a very strong plus factor. And bonus! Mega has two isles of wine and other liquid refreshments.
-Welcoming entrance and bell staff.
-Orderly check in and out.
-Well manicured and designed landscaping.
-Relaxing pool area with snack bar and swim up bar serving the usual fare but two 2/1 happy hours a day is a bonus. Also, there are lots of shaded areas for lounging and snacking.
-right on the ocean so the views of the sunsets, whales (humpbacks) and dolphins are spectacular.
-I saw two major dining rooms, one where I had a few dinners and breakfasts was just average and the other, higher end, I did not visit.
-Daily housekeeping is such a treat and the rooms/suites are overall immaculately clean and well maintained.
- Obviously well managed.
-Complementary coffee in the lobby starting early in the morning is so very nice to enjoy.
-Suites have a well equipped kitchen.
-The usual Puerto Vallarta very firm mattress but for me this is very preferable to a soft mattress.
- Excellent wifi connection.
-A massage on the beach was heavenly.
-Access to the facilities at two nearby sister properties, the plaza Pelicanos Beach club and the Sunset Plaza
-No pressure from sales people to take the usual "tour". There was an offer but they didn't pester me.

Cons:
-Lacking the options of a huge resort, but I prefer to go off property to visit the town and what it has to offer so for me this is not a negative.
-The beach area is not really a highlight of the property. It's pretty but very small.

Finally, I love Roma restaurant just across the street. The service, food and sidewalk café seating options are superb. The fish soup was my favourite. And, despite the name, Blake's Sports Bar just around the corner has great food and a sidewalk dining ambiance. One night I dropped in and without reservations, was lucky to get a table. The coconut shrimp was the daily special and they were the best I tasted in PV. And this is saying a lot!

I am very fond of Puerto Vallarta and have gone every year for the past four years for up to two months. So I think I'm qualified to say that Plaza Pelicanos is close to as perfect a spot as I have found, in town, at the marina or in Nuevo Vallarta. I'm booked to return next Christmas and new Year weeks with another member of my family.

Well done folks!

And P.S. This is unbiased as I am not an owner here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank heatherdcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your experience with other travelers!

We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all the services in the hotel. Our location in the middle of Puerto Vallarta is a plus for all guests of the hotel, because they will enjoy a short walk to go to malecon and other amazing places to visit while their vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Thank you once again for your comment, because it help us to keep working hard everyday, and our best reward is to know we have exceeded your expectations and you will return with more family.

See you this Christmas! It will be a pleasure for the staff to serve you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Plaza Pelicanos Feb 28 to March 21/2013...for our 40th wedding anniversary. We arrived at our room to chilled champagne, a fruit basket and decorations with beautiful flowers… It was our 1st visit to the Grand but definitely not our last.… The food was excellent and a great variety. The resort is spotless. The staff at the front desk were very courteous and ready to help in anyway, with big smiles. ….. All the restaurant and bar staff were also very friendly and helpful…We want to thank Manuel C. at dinner. He made dinners always special with his smile….Thank you to Victor O. in the morning, at breakfast and lunch. The resort is small and romantic. The perfect place for a restful vacation. The entertainment was top notch. Big thanks to Raul and Saul for bocci ball, bingo and other activities…We also want to thank Victor at the pool bar…. We will be looking forward to our return visit…

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominican_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are very thankful with you for sharing your comment with other travelers!

Our staff is very happy to know that you had an amazing time during your stay at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort. One of our main priorities is always to give wonderful moments to each of our customers who have trusted us their vacations. Thank you for choosing us and we will be more than glad to see you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Weather was amazing the facilities are gorgeous and clean, and the staff is superior, Love coming here every year, place gets better every time, Guys at the pool bar are the best, say hi to Rigo, victor, And Armondo......guys do an amazing job. Mike

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvr_partier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for you comment!

We appreciate the time you invested to share your experience with travelers over the world, it is very important to us to give excellence in service to all our customers who stays in our hotel, and it seems we are going in the right direction.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#39 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Palmas by the Sea
Las Palmas by the Sea
#43 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing