We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! Suites are great for families or groups, very clean and comfortable. Excellent service at the restaurants. Resort is in a great location, shopping out the street side door, short cab ride downtown or to the marina. Very impressed with the fabulous staff, not just the managers but each and every staff person, super friendly, helpful and professional...always smiling! Victor the restaurant manager was outstanding, Victor at the pool, Claudio, Luis Angel, Saniago just to name a few. They really made our vacation a special one! Folks at the Vacation Club...Gus, Tavo, Ernesto,Gabriel, Mary, Grace became fast friends too. Many activities each day for every personality, water aerobics to black jack! We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We were in the Vacation/Time Share Wing. We had a pool view room for the first week which was super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onvacAllendaleMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you very much for you comment!

It was a pleasure for the staff of the hotel to make your stay a pleasant experience. We are doing our best everyday to please our customer and be able to make your stay like at home away from home. Your positive experience encourage us to keep going in the right direction.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 2,533 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We love this place. It was our second time there and each time we have felt like we were family. The staff is great - Claudio, Antonia, Victor, Luis Angel, Paloma- all super kind and helpful. The pool can get a bit warm in the sun, but that's better than being freezing. The swim-up bar is great. The rooftop bar has great views for pictures. This is more of a family place, wouldn't recommend for a group of college kids looking to party.

We like to eat out, we so don't eat a ton at the resort itself, but when we do, we're not disappointed. The breakfast buffet is always full of fresh fruit, pastries and made to order eggs and pancakes, etc.

The rooms are spacious, a bit dated, but we don't spend much time in there anyway. They are very clean, and our housekeeper Claudia was fabulous.

This hotel is sweet, def not fancy, but tidy. The hotel staff is very warm and kind. We love it there. Great value and great experience.

Room Tip: We love the first floor rooms with a patio facing the pool. Room 1111, 1109, 1103-05 are great. It c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the view is beautiful & the resort grounds are nice, it's conveniently located, but that's where is stops. The service at the pool, restaurants, front desk, etc... was the worst service I've ever experienced! It was so bad, by day 3 I went & had a chat with the manager. She did absolutely nothing to make our stay more enjoyable. I would not stay here again if someone else paid the way! The food was not good, breakfast was the only meal we ate there after day 2.
Where you stay makes the vacation and this was very upsetting to us. I stayed at the Holiday Inn last year and wish I would have paid a little more and went back there! If your not down at the pool by 7:30 am, you will not get a pool lounge. The rules say if a lounge hasn't been occupied for an hour, the security agent will go around and remove towels. That never happened, even when MANY guests asked for a lounge and showed the rules to him. He refused to help. This resort caters to local vacationers, & it's apparent they get the "good" treatment.
We spent most of our time away from the resort for the lack of getting pool chairs & service. Also, if you like the sun and plan on tanning, be prepared to move your chair constantly because of too many palm trees planted all around the pool where it's very shady. Not the place for someone who likes to lay in the sun! If you do not tip the cleaning ladies daily, your room won't get cleaned until late afternoon and you will not get your refrigerator restocked. Unless you ask for clean sheets, you won't get them. We realized on day 5 that we hadn't had clean sheets yet. So I paid our maid to put some on. This vacation was just one incident after another. I fell in love with PV last year and this time I was heartbroken as to how we were treated at this resort. Thank God the locals are so kind! I would strongly advise anyone not to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On arrival we were given a room with the kitchen on one side and the main laundry on the other.. Phew , what a smell.... Front desk changed the room without any delay. We waited 3 days for someone to fix our safe, in the end they had to replace it with a new one. The staff, no matter where they work are friendly and go out of their way to help you. The resort is well kept and very clean. On the down side ,the pool chairs were a distaster!!! Everything was taken by 7am..... every day!!! Towels were left on the lounge chairs with nobody using them at all. When you read the resort rules and regulations it states very clearly that nobody is allowed to reserve pool chairs. When I asked one of the pool boys , they just said they there was nothing to be done. The resort really needs to follow up with what they state in their handouts. !!!! Management needs to look into this as there were a lot of people who were upset.

Breakfast was the best meal, well, I suppose it is everywhere in the world. Lunch and Dinner were the same most days , but we were there only for one week and did not starve!.

Would I return to this resort ?? No.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HistoryofEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Biggest gripe is that we were supposed have access to two other resorts not so the food was good enough the service was good the drinks were bad ended up going out and getting our own. There is no nite life bars closed at 11 . Probably would not stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chevy5596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very friendly and accomidating staff. Great food and drink. Very clean and well cared for property. Well located. Close to a few stores and amenities and a short bus or cab to down town.
Not the best beach. Very limited space as the tide is ruff and will sweep you away. The lounge on the top of the 8th floor has a mega wonderful view and is lovely up there but they open mid even and close by 11:00ish depending on the nite. Do not open on Sunday nites. The only other bar is the one by the pool which is great all day but not nice for evening visiting cause your sitting on the plastic chairs by the day snack shack. There is no other formal club/pub place to go. Note: alot of rooms do not have balconies and alot of the ones they have do not have great views.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony when you originally book. Recheck when you check in. A few dollars to the desk att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

check in was easy, well organized, very friendly people, very accommodating, daily room service was more than expected and very clean. Pool has an area for kids & a swim up bar. Enough chairs around the pool with umbrellas.

Room Tip: all rooms are great throughout the resort. entire resort is very quiet after 10 pm , with the except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#45 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,769 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Marina and Beach Resort
Vamar Vallarta All Inclusive Mar...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $124 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing