We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first time staying here and we were very impressed. I am in the hotel industry so I know what service is all about and their level of service and the genuine friendliness of all the staff was outstanding. Two people in particular that I would like to thank, Antoino and Xunaxui, both were exceptional. The rooms were nice, had everything that you need and the location was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel, you won't be dissapointed. And a special "Thank you" to Mayra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Executive09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    774
    323
    180
    121
See reviews for
781
639
59
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rees, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We werre there two weeks in December 2011. The staff was very friendly the food was great and since we did not like our first room they gave us a better one. The cook should get a star and Captain Canales was more than friendly and helping. We would go there everytime

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

As a timeshare owner, I pay a lot on maintenance fees throughout the year and hope for my money's worth when I make a choice for my vacation. Shell has two Puerto Vallarta options in their system, Pelicanos and Sunset. I choose Pelicanos based on comments by a shell advisor that turned out to be bad advise. He told me that Pelicanos was better because it reflected traditional Mexico. What he didn't tell me was Sunset was brand spanking new and absolutely beautiful. Incidentally, we learned that by taking a timeshare presentation from Pelicanos.

Pelicanos is more traditionally Mexican in styling and very popular with vacationing Mexicans but it is getting older . I think the Mexican tourists are great but it was so busy that finding room in the pool was almost always a challenge and finding a lounge chair was darn near impossible.

We only ate twice in the buffet because we prefer to explore the local haunts when on vacation. The buffet was ok, nothing bad or spectacular- the service was great. In fact the people who work in the hotel, from maids to front desk, are extremely friendly. There are two specialty restaurants on sight but I neither ate there or looked at them.

The room was a bit of a problem for my wife and I. They are big and airy but unfortunately not airy enough to sweep out the very strong smell of mildew. It was very bad. We gave it about an hour or so to see if it would diminish or if we would adjust. It didn't nor did we, so we asked to be moved. They showed us another facing the ocean that was just as bad. They showed us one that had a partial ocean view that still had a slight musty smell but we felt we could deal with it. In fairness, I didn't ask to see more so I don't know if they are all musty.

Gabriel, the manager, a sweetheart through it all, had a dehumidifier brought up that we used for the entire 12 days. It helped somewhat but we never really did get rid of the smell. In fact upon return home, a couple articles of clothing left unused in the hotel closet, smelled strongly of mildew.

Mildew was the only major issue, but enough that would prevent me from returning unless they make a major announcement of severe bleaching in all of the rooms. Again to give credit where it is due, Gabriel, credited my shell account with enough points to rent a studio for a week. Very generous.

Our next visit to PV should we return, will be at the Sunset Plaza, which is stunning- if we decide to return to the hotel zone, which is a bus or taxi ride to old town (or a 45 minute hot walk). We may decide to get a place in old town and use the timeshare points on another trip.

Room Tip: don't settle on a smelly room- don't unpack until you are satisfied, Ocean view is lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michaelmaxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the first time we stayed at this resort. The 2 bedroom unit was very large. The pool was always packed with kids, not sure where they all came from, but not much room in the pool. There was only one waiter running nonstop trying to keep up with the orders around the pool area. Pool was not very clean by midmorning due to so many people. We ate a few meals on site, did not do the all inclusive, the food wasn't that good. The people working were fantastic, just too many people to enjoy the pool. Great location tho.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this all inclusive on a whim. It turned out to be very relaxing and generally a good expereince. Some of the restaurant options were closed due to a special event and the hotel was more than willing to "make this right" for us. The food was very good, the staff exceptional. The resort very clean and the rooms were nice. The beach access was closed for a few days due to the event and the hotel shuttled us to the more exclusive beach club where we had a great time. In general I give the management and "excellent" and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have stayed here 4 times and it has always been very good. It can get fairly booked up during high seasons with Mexican families and a lot of kids. Puerto Vallarta is the vacation destination for many Mexican families from Guadalajara, so you are going to have lots of families with children there during the Summer when school is out.

This year I went over Labor Day weekend for 10 days and it was very quiet and not crowded at all. Once all the families with kids left, dinner was in the Ala Carte every night, no reservation needed!! The food was wonderful..

The staff is very friendly and the waiters always greet me by name when I arrive. The rooms are clean and the service is very good. The buffet food is usually very good, lots of fresh fruits and salads, along with several Mexican dishes, beef, pork, chicken and fresh fish. There is always a cook at breakfast and dinner for cooked to order eggs, omlets, pancakes and french toast, and steak, chops, or fish at dinner. Of course the Ala Carte resturant is much better but you do need to make reservations early in the morning.

The drinks are just average unless you tip the waiter or bartender! A few good tips and you will be amazed at how good the drinks are and how quickly they are replaced before empty!! Take a LOT of US $1 with you, you'll need them and be glad you had them!

The location is very good for PV. Don't judge the resort by the street as you arrive!! My first time there I thought what did I get myself into here? Once you get into the resort and have a drink, you won't care about the streets!! There are actually some nice shops across the street and basically whatever you need or want is within a block.

Close to downtown, close to the Marina, and close enough to the airport without being so close you hear the planes! A Taxi is about $5 US to the Marina or downtown, $8 to the airport. From the airport, Taxi's are $20 due to the airport tax the drivers have to pay when leaving the airport. Walk across the street outside the airport and a Taxi is only $5 to the resort.

I am a timeshare owner so perhaps my experience is different than others have had. In any event, I will be back again over New Years and I'm sure it will be packed with families and kids.. I have been told that you can see the Whales in the Bay from the resort during the winter when they come to PV to have their babies.

Room Tip: I usually get an Ocean Front condo, but as an owner you do get better room choices since the front t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texblondi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I divided my vacation in 2, i spent some days at the marriott and then decided to try out an all inclusive resort. This is a prime example of the saying " what you pay for is what you get." The resort itself isn't that bad. In previous years this resort allowed you to switch between two properties freely using either installations. However in recent years they have closed down the adjoining property to convert into their high end timeshare. Making the pool a little small for the capacity of guests, in my opinion.
The reality is: if you are looking for a bargain, then this is place. The truth is, the food is not that great, BUT, you can def manage. Its true, that the buffet is a little on the weaker side. Yet, are you really planning on never leaving the hotel? If so, then I would def look for a higher end all inclusive. Yet, if you are going to mix in tours with your stay at the resort then you wont even notice. I had the omelette bar everyday for breakfast, ate burgers or ceviche by the pool and made reservations on the ala carte restaurants. Make sure to make the reservations IN THE MORNING.
The drinks are good, if you know what to ask for, but don't think you will be getting top shelf liquor. Be honest at the price you are paying, what could you really get? There are people that swear by this hotel, and they love it, and they want to back every year. Something very important is that you need to understand the waiters work day and night and because it is an all inclusive people tend not to tip them, but they still work for tips, so its a pretty bad situation. If you are nice talk to them, and tip them a few dollars here and there, you are in for a maharaja treatment. Ask for the waiter in the pool area and tell him you want to him to give a super service, slip him 50-100 pesos in the morning and 50-100 pesos at night. Its like 7-12 dollars for a great service from sunrise to sunset. I think its a bargain. They will bring you a drink as soon as they see your drink getting low, you wont even have to move a finger. I literally vegetated in the pool and just let the drinks roll in with a snack break here and there.

A very important tip is not to stay at this resort if your visiting the hotel in high season. Call and ask what their occupancy level is. If its high you will be probably surrounded by locals. Some people love this, because they get to interact with Mexican people. Yet it can get a little loud. Mexicans love to party, and the all inclusive liquor tends to turn it into a little bit of a party. If you are looking to interact and goof around and have a good time with both locals and tourists from around the world, this might be the place. If you are coming with the mentality of absolute tranquility stay at a higher end resort.

Room Tip: Try to tell them to give you a room facing the pool or a pool with a kitchenette, if not try to sway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#39 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Palmas by the Sea
Las Palmas by the Sea
#43 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#27 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#21 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing