We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,752)
Filter reviews
2,752 results
Traveler rating
1,007
999
405
202
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,007
999
405
202
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungeswim up barspring breaknightly entertainmenta la carte restaurantpool sidegreat vacationtime share presentationoverlooking the oceanhot dogswater aerobicsbeach areacab ridecevicheresortpvmario
Filter
Updating list...
803 - 808 of 2,752 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Received 3 night 4 day free stay. We had a room directly over the lobby with a view of the pool and beach. Unfortunately they were working on the large pool during our stay. Didn't participate in of the evening festivities, but they certainly look like folks were having a good time. Staff very accomodating, room clean. It has been several years since we visited. Definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhondajeanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort. Everyone was very nice and totally accomidating. We had 5 adults and 2 small children in total and the rooms were perfect for us. We booked a two bedroom suite for two adults and one child and had a connecting 1 master bedroom for 2 other adults and baby. We could've easily accomodated 8 people. There were three bathrooms, a living area and kitchenette, and two balconies! We only stayed for 4 days in June (off season) but enjoyed everything about our stay. Amy from Phoenix, Az

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyL-C12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I agree with Darren, if you're looking for high-tech & elegant surroundings stay next door and their sister property Sunset Tower Plaza. My husband & I like a more traditional type resort where the "down to earth" types like to hang out. We visited from June 2-8 which is their off-season but we preferred it as it was not as loud and crowded. However, we also encountered the same issue with the local people coming in Fri., 7am by the bus load and staying through Sun. mornings. This didn't really affect our stay that much as we arrived early evening Sat. and departed Fri. afternoon but Saturday early evening there were probably 30 people down in the pool, drinking at the swim-up bar and having a great time singing and laughing. The children were many and had their floating devises in the pool which didn't leave much room if you wanted to swim. It was all good though, nice to see families enjoying time together.

Our room look out over the pool area and we could see the ocean and north end of PV which was absolutely beautiful at night. We particularly enjoyed going up to the Skylounge on the top floor which was all open with chairs and sofas scattered around along with a bar. We sat in the far corner so we could see Downtown and all the lights lit up at night, it was wonderful.

Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and relaxed. I had a massage at the hotel spa and it was incredible.

We had swapped our timeshare and got a 2 bedroom with full kitchen and went to the Soriana grocery the day after we arrived and stocked up on breakfast & lunch items which was great. We had every breakfast and lunch in the room and ate dinner out every night. We were so lucky to find a fantastic restaurant, in front of Plaza Pelicanos, Blake's Sports Bar & Grill. Don't let the "sports bar" fool you, it's not hot dogs & hamburgers and fries. although there is an awesome hamburger...the food is phenominal...all fresh, bought daily by the owner/chef Susanne and the flavors are incredible. You definitely need to try her fish & chips which is made with sea bass and is so flakey and lightly battered with her version of cole slaw made of fresh cabbage, dried cranberries and other ingredients I can't remember right now but out of this world, and I don't even like cole slaw!

The hotel is close to anything you would need to get to and you can either walk or take the local bus for 6.5 pesos which is about $.50. Totally felt safe when we were there no matter if we were walking to Downtown and around the cobblestone side streets or walking north to the Soriana market. I defintely suggest everyone visit PV at least one time in their life. We will definitely be going back in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking the pool have less noise from the pool and shields the wind if it's blowing hard
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clowndoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Clean , not too much of a beach, nice resort. No Wifi included. Great service.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the Plaza and it was quieter than rooms facing the pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

If you want extravagant, you should stay somewhere else. I will say that the influx of locals to the pool everyday was a bit annoying. However, Gabriel and his staff did all they could to accomodate our wishes. We requested a move to the Grand from the Beach Hotel to get a bit more space but the same locals problem existed at the pool there too. However, we were in Mexico so hard to get mad that other Mexicans were there. Our room had an incredible view and was huge (we had a two bedroom suite). The location is great. An easy taxi ride to downtown and an easy walk to stores, other places to eat, and even Gold's gym which I used trying to work off the tacos. The bar at the top of the 8th floor (sky lounge) was an incredible place to catch the sunset and have a drink every night. There were cabanas that many hotels would charge for set up for free use. There were kayak rides every morning which my wife went on. Puerto Vallarta is such an awesome city that I wouldn't want to sit around a hotel all week(day and night) anyways. So overall I'd rate this a good hotel based on price, location, friendliness of staff, rooms (at least mine), and activities.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews