We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great rooms and service”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We love this hotel....they really take care of you. The rooms are large and nost of all ....clean.

The resort is right on the ocean and makes for terrific views of dolphins and whales.

And you are very close to the best part of PVR...downtown and all the restaurants,

Stay here...you will enjot it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    885
    364
    187
    127
See reviews for
930
741
68
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The resort looks nothing like the photos on the internet. The service was terrible. The first night I called three times to get a blanket to no avail and finally had to use the towels! The fridge did not work, so they brought a filthy Styrofoam cooler. Called the front desk several times to get an ice bucket to no avail. The terrace was infested with sand flees which got us pretty bad. Three days out of our five-day stay they brought the locals in with special deals such as all you can drink and the swimming pool was full of plastic cups and straws. If you come across someone who calls himself “C” for Cervando who claims to own a massage parlor across the street from this resort, run the other way. He tricked us into buying tour tickets from him and it turned out that the tour company had no idea who he was and when we went to the port to take the tour, they made us pay for the tour again as this “C” character had never paid them. When we went back to get our money from him, he said he had spent the money and could not pay us back! Apparently the resort staff knew about this character but never warned us about him. We were constantly haggled to attend a timeshare presentation! The internet access was free, but the service would shut off after every 15 minutes and we had to go back to front desk and get a new password. We will never go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pariskalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed in the timeshare building and had a good experience. Our room was a 2 bedroom and had everything we needed for 3 adults and 2 kids under 6. Our balcony looked out on the ocean and was magnificent. The staff was very helpful and spoke relatively good english overall. The pools and restaurants were fine. The beach was small, but very close by walking to better beaches. A quick bus ride or taxi to the centro or romantic zone for great restaurants, no problem. We stayed over the weekend and the place filled up with people from Guadalajara and the surrounding inland areas. So, the pool was packed and the restaurants were full. The entertainment was pretty loud until about 10, but considering the ocean waves were consistently loud too, it didn't make much difference. Overall, a good place and experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajdial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed at the Plaza Pelicanos Club Section April 15 - April 22 with my husband and two
kids. I was very worried after reading some of the reviews and was expecting the worse
but the resort is very beautiful and clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and
polite. They had lots of activities for the kids and nightly shows to entertain the adults.
The rooms are very clean and the beds are so comfy. Was surprised to have pillow tops. The food was average. Really enjoyed breakfast and also the snack bars with burgers and fries. Make sure to visit the Malecon boardwalk, the flea market and also Las Gamelas Beach & Dolphin Encounter. This beach is breath taking with white sand. Truly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Farina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We booked at this resort on the Grand side with a group of 8 people for my 40th birthday and we did so because it was a good deal, or so we thought. It's not really a good deal if you have to go elsewhere to eat because the food is not good. The breakfast was good but it was the same thing every day, no variety. They had good salsa's (I did not see much guacamole) and the cactus juice for the morning was good, very nutrious. The liquor is bottom of the shelf, not good at all, we saw some people bringing their own bottles and having the bar hold them to serve with the good stuff. The wait staff was awesome! Very attentive, usually had another drink before I was done with the other, or it was "happy hour" 2 for 1 (all the time at the pool). They wait staff remembered names and events and always very friendly.
Our hotel room (the 2nd one on the 2nd day) was nice, it took some major discussion with the front desk to get a room that had a balcony with a king size bed, even though our reservations noted a king bed. Very frustrating to try to get a new room, they almost made us wait until the 3rd day and when you are only there for 6 days, you want to start relaxing once you get to your room and unpack, in the end, we were satisfied but took a lot to get there and we aren't picky people at all, we just wanted want we had reserved in the beginning.
The reviews about the noise is true. The corridors act as an echo chamber, carrying the noise through the halls very loudly. We had to sleep with our music on to drown out the noise. One morning it was 5 am and people were still partying, it sounded like they were partying with their doors open, we finally called but unbelievable that they wouldn't do anything before that.
Not much of a beach and one in our group had his foot cut by the rocks coming up in with the waves. Definately not a play-type of beach.
The 9th floor rooftop bar was awesome!! The view incredible and very comfortable area, unfortunately the selection of drinks, not that great. You had to pay extra for beer and top shelf liquor. If you are a wine drinker, I would suggest buying and bringing it back or having it shipped to the hotel, it was HORRIBLE! One kind of white and one kind of red, both bad. The liquor is bottom shelf, drinks were not good at all. We even saw other guests bringing their own bottles and having the bar hold them to serve, another example this is not a good value if you have to do things like that for an all inclusive.
Done with the hotel, would not go back to this resort or would I recommend it to anyone.
PV was beautiful, the malecon area is great day and night time. Bus ride is very easy, only 65c or $5 for cab ride to most places.
Excursions: Outdoor Adventure with Vallarta Adventures, by far the highlight of our trip, it was incredible and I would do it again. Jet boat ride a beaufitul bay, jeep (huge jeep) ride through the towns then mule ride the rest of the way up. And the mules were very well feed, they were not like ones I've seen in Mexico before. 10+ zip lines and 2 water fall rappels, INCREDIBLE! I was a little bit chicken but the staff made it look easy and felt very safe. One of the only places that has the double zip lines and was always connected to one before being released from the other. Also, Rhythem of the nIghts was a must do, especially if you want a romantic evening.
Food: go to Casa Isabel up in the hills, view incredible, food awesome and inexpensive!

Although the resort itself was a disappointment, I had a great birthday in Puerto Vallarta. It was a great trip, would definately go back to PV but would pick a different place for sure!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meximamaOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed at Plaza Pelicanos with my 9year old daughter for our annual spring break girl trip.
The Hotel is old, but very clean, rooms are basic, but fine if you are in a place like Puerto Vallarta, you won't spend much time in the room anyway.
The staff was the best! There was always somebody asking us if we needed anything at all, at Dinner, the restaurant manager would walk around asking if there was anything he could get for us, and if everything was ok.
Everyone on the staff was very friendly and super helpful.
When we got there, we got a welcome drink in the lobby, nice touch...
The drinks were good, not weak as they are in some other resorts, the are not skimpy on the liquor here.
They had activities for the kids in the evening, pinatas and games, right by the pool, wich was perfect, I could sit at my table, have some food and wine and watch my daughter play.
Also, they had some shows in the evening, mexican dancers, very cool.
The food was ok, not super awesome, but always lots of fresh fruit and great fresh salsa and guacamole, wich is our favorite.
When you get to Puerto Vallarta, don't talk to the people trying to get you a cab or other transportation inside the airport, they will try to sell you timeshare.
Go to the cabstand right by the entrance and get your cab there.
The beach is across the street, it was small, but pretty and not crowded at all.
If you are looking to go on a snorkeling cruise or some other adventure trip, try to find Daniel, he is always walking around on the beach and he is selling the tours, he is the nicest guy and will tell you honestly if the trip is worth it and give you lots of other useful information, he was awesome.
We had gotten a great deal on this Resort and everything was great, we would definetly come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The resort was "OK" . It was old, and the quality of the workmanship in the guest rooms, especially the bathrooms was sub-par. Speaking of bathrooms, the tubs must have been coated with something to cover up the old age of the tub. This coating was chipping and pealing off all the tubs, which themselves were small and the bathrooms overall cramped. We had a "standard" view. Their definition of standard was some public walkway below our room were on 3 occasions, I witnessed the locals urinating on palm trees! Ahh now that is a special vacation memory! The rest of the view was hotel room balconies in need of paint!
The pool area was pleasant, though the pool,itself must have some issues because it was lined with a liner, that had many wrinkles in it causing one to catch their toes on the liner and trip.
Any of the staff which was NOT affiliated with selling a time share was courteous and efficient.The house keeping and wait staff did an amazing job. The food was repetitious and the drink quality poor. Avoid gin and tonics and white Russians!
There was an issue with a side trip we booked through the hotel "travel agent" "Isabella".
When we booked our side excursions she was very informative and covered all issues with the exception of a VERY important one...TIME CHANGE. She had neglected to tell us that the the time in Mexico would be advancing one hour. Needless to say, after we had paid for a cab, the port entrance fee, and showed up 20 minutes before what we thought was the correct time, the agent at Vallarta Adventures kindly advised us we had missed the boat, literally! We were shocked. Her first question to us did the hotel advise you of the time change? The travel agent NOR the hotel itself advised us of any impending time change. I'm sure all the guests from Mexico were very aware to the change, but those of us from out of the country were oblivious. We ended up having to re-book this trip and cancel the other excursion. We were out round trip cab fare, and NO apology from "Isabella", no offer to reimburse for cab fare.
Last , but not least AVOID at all costs the time share offers!!! no matter how much sweet talking, charismatic "Alex" offers you. It does NOT take 90 minutes! More like 4 plus hours! and more sweet talking from "Craig", and then the loud, aggressive, pushy, bullying of "Rob" and then more selling from some guy from Texas, whose name I can't remember because by that time I was so distraught from the hard sell and bullying, I was reduced to tears and literally thought I was going to pass out! I am not exaggerating! The time share thing is big in PV, MX. No matter where u go you will be confronted by individuals trying to get you to go listen to some dialogue on a specific time share, enticing you with all kinds of "freebies" I have been to other time share presentations, but NEVER was I left to feel as terrible as I did after the presentation at the Plaza Pelicanos. For me It put a damper on my whole vacation!

Room Tip: avoid rooms with
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank motb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
527 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
758 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
2.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Property: Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Address: Jose Clemente Orozco # 131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing