We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$331
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$184
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$257
$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$257
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$389
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$449
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$159
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
$500
$422
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
63
68
19
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
68
19
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel setno elevatorla playitamexican hoteldoors open all nightocean view balconiesbeach boymini kitchenquaint hotelnight managerhotel zoneromantic zonewalk into towncoffee makerbeach servicebeautiful oceansmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 172 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was everything we had hoped - clean, comfortable, and quiet, with a stunning view. Comfortable bed, clean rooms, hot water. The food in the restaurant was good and the other guests were congenial. One night, there was a wonderful singer/guitar player playing dance tunes. We danced every dance and had a wonderful time. The beach was small but lovely. It was a bit too cold for swimming, but we dived into the clean pool anyway, just to say we did. From the restaurant, we looked out over the ocean. Once we saw a whale. The staff couldn't have been kinder. The first night, we arrived at 10:00 pm. - too late for dinner but the man at the desk offered to get us anything we needed from the kitchen. Our on-line reservation was honored with no problems. When we needed help making phone calls or catching a bus, the staff was happy to help. Wonderful service.

My only complaint was uncomfortable beach chairs. You might want to pick up a folding chair in town. Be sure to bring reading material, as English bookstores are practically nonexistent. Sometimes you'll discover that the location is a big inconvenient because it's outside the city proper. But sometimes that is just what you want.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mtbenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I do not usually write these but this time I had to. We went on this trip after a lengthy wait of 7 years expecting what it said an authentic mexican hotel. Well it can be but we were sorely dissappointed. All the ratings did say clean friendly good value but we found the total opposite. This motel is not run well at all. The management and maintenance is almost non existent. I would warn a family or anyone if they expect this to be 3 or 4 stars as they claim that you will be sorry. Do not expect any help from front desk except to try sell you things (trips, excursions). If you ask for anything like we did plunger, matches, batteries, chairs on the beach do not expect to get them. If you have any bad knees or anything I would recommend against this hotel. There are many many stairs everywhere. The rooms were probably at one time great but now are poorly maintained. Mold in the bathroom with shower doors so old that barely shut, sinks glued with putty that barely hold, kitchen that does not have enough items to cook with and what is there should have been garbaged years ago. The sheets and towels are all stained and smell awful as well as the rooms. The balcony doors on our kids room did not open on one side etc. etc. Cleaning of the rooms was poorly done, the sand was in our tub all week. Unfortunately I booked this motel over the one my family wanted, and was greatly dissatisfied. I have lived in mexico and stayed in many places but would never stay at this one again. I just do not want anyone else to go here expecting 3-4 stars and be as sad as we were.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank evelyn065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

How sad..... the hotel is deteriorating.... bathroom was dirty... television was broken, phones were broken, service was terrible and the restaurant next door "El Set" is noisy and disrespectful to guests at the hotel.....

With all of the hotels to choose from in PV.... steer clear of Playa Conchas Chinas!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mbg228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have stayed at older Mexican hotels in the Zona Romantica, but this hotel has them all beat. They put us in the penthouse suite which was nothing short of breathtaking. Nothing but the sound of the ocean to put you to sleep. No elevator and 136 steps from the beach to the top, but it was great exercise. The place was old but very clean and the folks at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Small beach at the base of the hotel and larger nicer ones just off the service road to the north. We swam every day at the small beach at the hotel. As others have said, the restaurant at the beach is awesome. We shared the mixed fajitas and were stuffed!! Nice quiet beaches in Conchas Chinas comparede to the viejo Vallarta. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I carefully selected this hotel for our first stay in Puerto Vallarta, and is was perfect. I prefer a smaller town to visit, but this location gave us easy access to the city of PV, only an inexpensive 10 minute bus ride away. The Conchas Chinas area is beautiful and quiet, without the hustle of Puerto Vallarta.

The La Playita Restaurant serves decent but tasty Mexican food, and you cannot beat this location, steps above the beach. We watched the sun set there every evening, and sipped morning coffee listening to the birds, and watching the whales swim by.

Lots of stairs: when we checked in the front desk person said "Welcome to Exercise Hotel". The hotel is not a high-end resort, but has charm and warmth, and it felt very much like a true Mexican experience. There is even a short beach walk to take, and you can walk into PV along the shoreline in about 20 leisurely minutes. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbiebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews