We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value and a Very Enjoyable Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Ranked #47 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
jacksonville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and a Very Enjoyable Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We visited the resort May 1 - 8, 2010. I was a little nervous about the resort, since we got a great deal online. From the moment we got there, expectations were exceeded. We got there very early, but were able to leave our baggage in a secure area and cruise the resort. The resort was clean and the staff very friendly and courteous. Every staff member spoke to us or smiled a greeting. Manual, Omar, Benjamin and Diego did an outstanding job at the swim up pool bar. They poured rail, but had no problem reaching up for the premium, should you request. By day two, they knew what we drank and/or preferred at what time of day... great! I also found them to be very patient with the children who wanted a smoothie. Let's talk kids.. Ours are grown. I was a bit aprehensive about the kids. The resort did a terrific job of entertaining them and they were no more present than any other resort would see that was not exclusively adult. Food: For the most part, it was good. Plenty of variety and well heated. By day 4, we really wanted a steak or fried chicken. Going into downtown to the flea markets is a must. 7 Pesos, take the bus to Centro. We also went to Meslamoya and visited the tequila distillery and had a great lunch at El Patio with Jorge. He was off work when we finished our meal, so he offered to take us home. We accepted and he stopped several times so we could take pictures. The oceanfront room was wonderful. Sometimes the music from the lobby bar was a bit loud, so we closed the door. The beach was a bit disappointing, small and brown sand. Not the bleach white, crystal blue we are used to from the Carribean Mexico side. If you get a chance, come to Melia. It is a fun time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbtoys928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    1,132
    602
    253
    211
See reviews for
1,515
797
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

The Melia in Puerto Vallarta was not what I expected. The room was good (#2802), the ac worked well and teh view was wonderful. This was the first hotel we stayed at that was only all-inclusive. We wont be doing it again. All the food was cafeteria style and not that great. It wasn't awful, but not that great. The alcohol selection was terrible! There was no name brand alcohol and I found this to be complete crap! No Jack Daniels, no yager, no grey goose, no bud light....none of the stuff we drink was offered. It was all cheap liquor...period! The hotels we have stayed at in the past all had a great liquor selection but this was did not.
There were a lot of little kids with parents letting them run all over the place. The beds were TERRIBLE. They were super hard and the pillows were exactly the same way. I think it might have been better to sleep on the floor. The hotel did offer little events and shows in the evenings. Mostly geared to kids.
The hotel was close to the marina and it was a very easy walk. The cab ride to downtown was $10 and took about 15 minutes. It wasn't a bad ride.
All in all....we wont be going back to this Melia. The Melia in Cancun was lots better. This Melia was just not that great!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

I have read a lot about this resort prior to trip down and most of the reviews were pretty good but there were a few that were very critical. We traveled with our three boys, ages 1, 3 and 9. The kids clubs were fantastic, they took wonderful care of our two younger boys and the one day that our oldest went he had a great time and didn't want to leave. The food was very good, nothing just spectacular, but we never went hungry and there was a very good selection every day. The rooms were obviously older but had been updated and the beds were firm but not uncomfortable. I would say that if you are looking for a wonderful trip that is not going to cost a small fortune, this place is for you. The people here are great and very accomodating, every request we made was fulfilled in very short order. The only thing that you must watch out for is the con artists at the airport trying to sell you a timeshare and when you get to the hotel, they will ask you to meet with them about their timeshare. We politely told them no and were never hassled about it again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damonpaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

It was our anniversary and also our best friends they are only a couple days apart. We decided to celebrate them at the Melia in Puerto Vallarta in Mexico. It was our friends first time to Mexico and they had no idea what to expect. I contacted Julián González the front desk manager for help with there first visit to the Melia. He made it one of the best and most romantic days and vacation of our lives. They had rose peddle In both of our rooms to the most romantic dinners you could ask for. Everything was perfect from start to finish at the Malia. We take our hat off to the staff and manager Julián González of the Malia for the best experience of our lives that we will never forget. You all did perfect. We love you guys!!!!!!!

Thank's
Sue, Paul,Staci and Lane
Silverdale Wa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this resort during the last week of April. Our entire stay was great until our very last day when customer service became at an all time low.

We knew flying to Puerto Vallarta that our flight out won't be the greatest as our plane back to Vancouver was scheduled to leave past midnight (Sun) and our pick-up time from the hotel to the airport was near midnight (Sat). So when we checked-in, we inquired right away if there are alternative accommodations for us on the day of our departure since that's an entire day that we didn't want wasted. We inquired whether there could be a place for us to shower and change and was informed that the resort will provide us with a hospitality room where we can tidy up before we leave. We checked again by mid-week and inquired if we needed to book the hospitality room. We were told that a room will be provided to us at the same time as we check-out by noon of our departure date (Sat). The front desk personnel informed us that we wouldn't have any problems booking a hospitality room. Come Saturday noon when we checked-out, we were informed that they only have a hospitality room available for us from 1pm to 2:30pm. We were outraged as that obviously wouldn't be any good considering that we don't leave until close to midnight. We were told that the long weekend (Labour Day) brought the resort to full capacity... PLEASE!!! We inquired from one of the hotel personnel and they estimated that the resort was only at 70% - 80% capacity and judging by the number of people in the area (the resort isn't too big), it sure doesn't look like it's in full capacity. So, for whatever reason the resort wasn't able to provide us with a room is totally beyond comprehension. This also reflects poor planning on management as they did not anticipate the influx of people that could result from their own holiday.

After showering, soaping up and being stared at by people passing by in one of the open rinsing areas by the beach and pool side areas, we demanded to speak to the hotel manager named Julian. We voiced our inconvenience and were told that we could have used the shower area in the hotel’s spa. Again, this is another failure on the front desk staff. It seemed like they don’t know the facilities within the resort. We asked several times if there was any shower facility in the resort but was repeatedly told that there was none. If it's any consolation, Julian did apologize for our inconvenience.

However, not to overshadow the great time we had in this resort with one negative experience, let this be a warning to visitors who will have very late or near midnight check-outs that this resort doesn’t have a shower/change facility in the vicinity other than those provided in the rooms. That being said, the rest of the services provided in the resort were good. We didn't have any problems or complaints with regard to the food and service in the buffet area. One fellow worth mentioning is Francisco in the main buffet area as he attended to our needs with much enthusiasm and kindness every time we had him as a host. Our room and the resort grounds were kept clean and all the staff were friendly (albeit the front desk). Activities available in the resort were great too. It varied from kayaking (we did this the most), archery, air rifle shooting, rock climbing, the usual aquatic activities and crazy games in the pool area, table tennis, billiards and volleyball. With regards to excursions though, we suggest going with the resort’s tour desk area specifically to a fellow named German as he is very knowledgeable of all the excursions and what the best ones to go to depending on what you want to do. He actually went and experienced most of them. We made the mistake of booking one of our excursions with our tour operator representative who wasn’t available in the resort for most of our stay. Although we did not book any tour with German, he was very nice and kind to answer all our questions.

All in all, with the exception of the inconvenience we experienced on our last day, we still would recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwosomeCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

This might be long, so in short this is a great property, we did our research and for the value you couldn't beat the staff, drinks and ambiance.

We had free tickets to use on Continental so going to PV wasn't necessarily in our plans. My wife is great at doing research and finding exactly what we enjoy doing while on vacation. She loves being in the sun, getting good service and....well the sun. I love to hang in the shade, preferably at a bar and drink loads. So Mexico and an all inclusive was perfect.

We booked through cheapcaribbean.com and transfers to and from the airport were included. They let us know at the airport that we would be "given information regarding Melia's Vacation Club (time share)" just after checkin. We side stepped that by telling them we were tired and going straight to our room. We were never asked about it again. The lobby is spacious and inviting. Staff were everywhere to assist or answer questions. Btw, we were quickly taken to a cab before all the tour guides were to approach us about excursions and on our way to the hotel promptly.

It was our anniversary and we belive after we mentioned that we got upgraded. The room was spacious, but some of it looked a bit dated, but certainly not the worst I have ever seen. Our bathroom lights weren't working when we arrived. One phone call and 15 mins later everything was fine. Also there was a problem with the safe, ten mins and it was fixed.

The first night there we were delivered a bottle of champagne and the second night we were there our room and bed was covered in rose petals and a nice towel swan display was on the bed in the shape of a heart. Very nice.

It was high 80s during our entire stay (wife happy) and there was a pretty good selection of Mexican beers. Including ordering Tecate and Tecate Light and getting a full can. There were also a few beers in the mini bar, and I am certain if we asked for more they would have provided.

The pool was the place to be during the day. There was never any trouble finding multiple chairs to spread out on and the bar staff were excellent about bringing drinks from the bar on a very regular basis. On multiple occassions my wife and I go in to the pool from our chairs and swam to the swim up bar to have a couple of beers, and when we got back to our chairs we had missed a couple of cycles of the bar staff but there several beers waiting for me.
There lot's of acitivites to take part in that were included (Kayaking, air rifle target shooting, pool games and free Bingo with a bottle of Tequila as a prize).

The lobby bar was the place to be at night. They had karaoke, a dj or a band playing. The drinks were plentiful there too. I felt like was being chased by a bottle of Tequila. They were nice and when you were ready to head to the room if asked they would give you a couple of beers for the road.

The food was overall very good. Lot's of choices from Mexican, Italian, American....on and on. There is also a burger bar that was open all afternoon that also had chix nuggets and chix wings. Nice for a snack. Also an ice cream bar was there.

There was a show each night except for one and on whole they were hard to watch. I used to work on cruise ships for ten years and I have seen dance troups struggle, but this was on another level. We left one early b/c it was horrendous. Although, to their credit I did see them rehearsing for hours during the afternoon. Entertainment shows weren't high on our list so it didn't matter.

Two things that impressed me. When the gentleman came to fix the safe he wouldn't knock on the door b/c the Do Not Disturb sign was out. So I got a phone call that he was at the door and I needed to open it up. Most places would have just banged on the door. As well, I stopped by the room while it was being made up. The attendant politely asked me to run my card through the door, which was open already, to make sure it was my room and I wasn't someone just coming in open doors looking for stuff.

On whole you didn't really notice any big crowds, staff was always around to assist or answer questions. The last day we were there this Mom with her kids caused a big scene b/c she thought her camera had been stolen. My wife and I were highly skeptical that somone would take something. To the credit of the resort, security, activites staff and someone from the front desk was there instantly taking a report. Turns out, her husband who was also freaking out, left it at the breakfast table. In the end they looked like idiots.

We had a late checkout at 1pm but weren't being picked up for our flight until 2:30pm. We asked it we could still enjoy the ammendites of the pool, bar and lunch. They gentleman said "Yes, Yes, please enjoy. Have some lunch, a few beers and some Tequila!"

We were met by a representative of Cheapcaribbean.com at the hotel right on time. He helped us with our luggage, got us a cab (included) and gave us information regarding the airport and told us if we had any other questions there would be another agent at the airport.

And not to mention there was free internet which we could access from our room. They advertise that it was only available in the main lobby but I think we were just close enough.

To be honest, we got a great deal on this stay. I drank way more than we paid for the entire stay. This is a good value and the staff make you feel right at home.

Book it w/o hesistation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMCLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We LOVED Melia. We selected it bec. we have a 2 and 4 year old. It was fabulous for kids. The shows were fun and entertaining. The food was good, but not great. The pool was big and great for kids. Lots of shallow areas. I loved that many of the guests were from Mexico rather than the US. I didn't feel like we were in a US bubble. The childcare was excellent. We used a babysitter named Karina who was fantastic. This resort is not 5 star or ultra luxury. However, for the price it was much better than expected and just great for families with young children. I highly recommend it. Oh, and make sure you get an ocean front room. We were in 1427 -- right on the water. Just perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLN2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#53 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Property: Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Mexico from the moment you enter Meliá Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive. This complex four-star luxury under the concept All Inclusive, has 318 rooms and suites and offers guests a variety of dining options and recreational activities perfect whether you're looking for a romantic getaway, a family vacation, or planning a corporate meeting. Overlooking Marina Vallarta, in one of the most exclusive and serene neighborhoods in Puerto Vallarta, just 5 minute ride from the airport or 10 minutes to the town center and a chip shot walk to the 18 hole/ 72 par Marina Vallarta Golf Club. The property has a timeless, tropical charm thanks to large, open, airy communal spaces, serene eco-friendly gardens (alive with iguanas, ducks, coy, birds) and wide-open water views. Traveling with children? Meliá Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive is a family friendly hotel offering baby-sitting services led by trained and certified baby sitters. The Kids & Co Clubs are available for children from 4 months to 11 years old. Kids activities include arts and crafts, billiards, Ping-Pong, foosball, arcade games, and more. Attention: TOBACCO SMOKE-FREE HOTEL IN GUEST ROOMS, ROOM BALCONIES AND ENCLOSED AREAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing