We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most relaxing vacations I have ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Ranked #47 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend your vacation. Rain or shine we had a lovely time. The staff could not do enough to make us feel at home. The food was five star and the accommodations were perfect.
Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to let us know your experience in Melia Puerto Vallarta.

Your Comments are our goal, we work everyday with all our best to create phenomenal memories for all our guests.

Thanks again for the time and the intention to exhibit on tripadvisor the great time you spent with us.

We will waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards,

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,680)
There are newer reviews for Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 3,680 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Puerto Vallarta where we stayed at Melia for 5 nights. The staff was super nice and friendly but that's about the only good thing at Melia. This hotel is in serious need of some remodeling. Our AC barely worked and several of the things in the room we're falling apart. Yes, the price is good but I would have rather paid a little more and stayed at a better hotel. The buffet was average but I've had better. The hotel is in the perfect area - close to everything. Another thing to know about Melia, is a lot of their guests are locals so don't expect to see many people from other places than Mexico. Not a bad thing, just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JZS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments about the Hotel.
We would have liked to know about your inconvenients the moment of your stay to give us the chance of change some aspects that were in our hands.

Again, Thank you for your time, all our staff work everyday in the quality of our products and services to give you always the best. We expect that you give us the opportunity to change your perception.

Best Regards.

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent 8 amazing nights, service really friendly, food was really good, The front desk team was Amazing in special Gaby Bahena, at la palapa Restaurant Simon, at the pool area Angel, our room was really clean and nice every day! Im sure we were ready for our trip, but also I'm sure that Melia Puerto Vallarta its a nice all inclusive resort!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank valentinnoz600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your last stay in Melia Puerto Vallarta. Most of all, that your experience with us was pleasant. We work everyday to create good experiences, our work full us of joy and know that remembers the names of employees who had the pleasure to serve you makes us even happier. With all the pleasure we'll let them know your gratitude.

We hope see you soon in your house Meliá Puerto Vallarta.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently returned from a 5 day stay at the Melia Puerto Vallarta. As new Club Melia members we were not impressed. We have come to expect more from Melia properties. While the service was consistently excellent and the staff more than friendly, the hotel is dated and simply run-down in some areas.

Let me start with some of the positives. The lobby is very welcoming. We liked how it incorporated the reception, store, spa, bars, and restaurants in one large two-storey area that felt both open and contained. We found the front and serving staff genuinely friendly and helpful. They were always enthusiastic. There were also a lot of activities throughout the day. Although we did not have kids on this trip, the kid's area and playground looked fun. In addition, the pool has two zero-entry areas.

As we were there the first week of October (very low season,) we essentially had many activities to ourselves, including the tennis court. It was also very easy to borrow the equipment. Keep in mind, only one of the two courts was actually equipped and maintained, as the other was in need of repaving. (This seems to be representative of the resort in general: some parts are well maintained while other areas seem to have been abandoned.) There is also a well-equipped gym but it lacked mats and smelled of mildew. Archery was fun, the nightly shows were entertaining and amusing, and the kayaking was also good. It is convenient that you can arrange a number of different off-site adventure activities directly with the resort staff.

The food was adequate: consistently acceptable but never exceptional. Since it was very low season, the restaurants were only open on a rotating basis and reservations were hardly necessary. The wait staff was very attentive.

We had a one-bedroom suite that looked updated. It was small but very well-maintained and comfortable. The room was nicely appointed, the bed was in good shape, the bathroom was very clean (and looked like it was renovated within the past few years), and our balcony had a nice jacuzzi-tub.

The buildings themselves do not look like they have been well maintained. It looks as if the exterior hasn't been painted in a while, and the walls were scarred black and cracked in many places. Some of the stairwells smelled of urine and mildew. The elevators also appeared old and were not reliable.

While the grounds were nicely maintained, the pool area and its design are outdated. At the same time, it is large with some nicely shaded areas. However, numerous missing tiles and a tired color scheme detracted from the attractiveness of the setting. Although the pool chairs were comfortable, it looked as if the cushions were very old. Many of them were stained by bird droppings! The pool towels were also in bad shape, sometimes threadbare.

The beach is also fair. A cement wall separates the beach from the pool area but it was not landscaped or decorated. The cement landing/walkway to the beach is just functional, not attractive. Kayaks were available at the beach and the attendant was very helpful. There was debris on the beach.

Overall, I would not return to this resort until it is updated. I do not think it lives up to the standards I expect from Melia. One nice thing about the resort is that it is nestled between some nice looking and well-maintained properties, allowing one to plan a better stay at a neighboring (non-Melia) resort for one's return to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Beachfront one-bedroom suite was small but nicely appointed and appeared updated.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JTO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Don't be deceived by the hotel pics, the grounds are not nearly as nice. I stayed 3 nights at the Westin($54/night not including meals) and 3 nights at the Melia ($280/night all inclusive). I would have rather stayed at the Westin the entire time where our room/meals/drinks averaged out to about $175/night and the property is much nicer. While the Westin kindly upgraded us to an ocean view room due to low occupancy (low-season), Melia had a nice sign at the front desk with "special" pricing to be upgraded to a better room. Just upgrade your guests if you have empty rooms! Did I mention that upon check-in we were asked if we wanted to do excursions (which we did) and we were then handed over to timeshare people within the hotel? I've been at your hotel 10 min. and you're already harassing me?? When we declined the presentation, they didn't help us with the excursions. And while Westin had heavenly bedding...Melia had 3 scrawny pillows on the bed which looked like they belonged in a baby's crib. Go to the Westin!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is NOTa 4 star hotel as they list it. This is an old hotel, the mattresses are old and pillows are low quality and the beds are uncomfortabel, the water pipes are old and nosie and the tap water smells really bad , the air conditioner are all old as well and dont work all the time, the rooms have a damp feel and smell.. The activites on the property are not maintained, or repaired, the beach is unswimable, the pool temperature is way to hot and needs to be repaired. The restaurants are not 4 star quality and the only afternoon one is a hamburger stand. The night entertainment is for children ages 2 - 10 not for adults. The bar inside does not open till 5 pm so getting water or pop or beer you have to go to the pool area. Was very disappointed in our stay at the Melia and will not recommend it to anyone. I

Room Tip: Stay at a new hotel, one built in the last few years, not the old ones, and photos can and will be a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I arrived at the Melia and was not impressed by anything! We upgraded our room to the M level for an additional $80 and found that there were no additional services provided. You could not get a drink before 11:00 and the only bar that was open was the pool - almost fell in while walking down the stair because they were slimey. You only had a choice of 8 mixed drinks at the pool - I had a mojito which had moldy mint in the drink. The Lobby bar opened at 5:00 which was not air conditioned - this was the only bar that you could order tequila or any other shots. Although the bar people were friendly, the rest of the staff barely understood english. The first night we made a reservation at the only restaurant open and when we arrived we were told that we did not make a reservation. We insisted so they sat us. This hotel caters to local mexican-speaking families - not americans. We did spend the evening in the only bar open, sweating our butts off while listening to music and being the only Americans in the hotel. When we woke up our bed and counters were covered in ants. We got a taxi and decided to buy a day pass at a hotel elsewhere. After a wonderful day at the Barcelo - highly recommend - we checked out of the Melia and truly started enjoying Puerto Vallarta.

DO NOT STAY AT THE MELIA!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank hiredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#46 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,877 reviews
1.0 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $165 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive and quiet areas of Puerto Vallarta, a four star luxury hotel just 5 minutes from the airport or 10 minutes from downtown. Just a short walk from the 18 hole, par 71 Marina Vallarta golf course. 318 rooms in a vast tropical sanctuary on the beautiful bay of Banderas, ideal for a family vacation. Gazebos facing the ocean, the place is perfect for photographing perfect sunsets over Puerto Vallarta. Nightly themed dance shows live, from traditional retro style dances to traditional ones performed by the hotel's own dancers. Where is Puerto Vallarta? Located on the beautiful Pacific coast of Mexico, with an international airport and a seaport, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations. Romantic ocean views ready for your special occasions. Experience the best Mexican experience from the moment you enter Melia Puerto Vallarta. This all-inclusive, 4-star luxury resort offers its guests a variety of dining options and perfect leisure activities, whether for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or a corporate meeting. The property has a timeless tropical charm, thanks to the large open spaces and spacious, peaceful ecological gardens (full of iguanas, ducks, coy, birds) and wide sea views. The hotel has been designed by architects Oriol Bohigas and Joseph Martorell, authors of other projects such as the Olympic Village and the Olympic Port of Barcelona. The ingenious climate-focused design allows you to enjoy Puerto Vallarta's climate all year round. Are you traveling with children? Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive is a family-friendly hotel offering babysitting services with trained and certified professionals. Children's activities include crafts, billiards, table tennis, table football, arcade machines and more. Attention: FREE TOBACCO SMOKE-FREE HOTEL IN CLOSED AREAS: Melia Puerto Vallarta is concerned about the environment and as part of its Sustainable Tourism program, offers its guests and associates a smoke-free environment in all our rooms, theater, Lobby, restaurants, elevators, hallways of rooms and in some open areas delimited by the Hotel. This strictly non-smoking room is charged a room cleaning fee of $ 200.00 USD for guests who violate the "smoke-free" policy. For all visitors who smoke, hotel puts at your disposal assigned areas in the pool area, motor lobby and public beach. Ask for the map with the designated smoking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing