We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family springbreak 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Ranked #47 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family springbreak 2013”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Despite disasterous reservation screw up by Hotels.com (made for mexico via the phillipines call center and el slavador call center). We were greeted in the lobby by hotel staff and treated great. I had left my drivers license at the budget car rental and the concierge patty made a phone call and had it sent over to the hotel for me (thank you so much!!!) When we checked in we had two little chocolate covered strawberries in the room which was the m experience room. We had room 1125 and I would recommend it if you are offered it. It has nice hammock on the balcony and glass railing with fantastic view of the ocean and nice sound of the waves at night. Room clean and up to date nice tub over shower some fluctuating water pressure but it is Mexico. Mini bar restocked with a little difficulty each day but put the tip inside and you should be good. We got the maid to leave four towels by midweek and they were good about cleaning but spotty on turndown service until we left a buck or two then it was over the top good. Food was really good you could always find something that you liked at the buffet (quetzal) the mexican buffet nights were amazing out on the patio do not miss. Think ....making tortillas infront of you ...pozole, tacos al pastor, mexican corn on the cob, multiple sauces from burning hot to guacamole, fresh quesidillas with queso fresco. Breakfasts were the buffet with fresh fruit and omlettes to order with a special egg dish each day the lady that makes the omlettes to order was very sweet and speedy efficient. They have an orange salsa that is tasty yet mind blowing hot that I could not get enough of. They had a french toast with cinnamon sugar that was fantastic that had coconut and a vanilla dipping sauce that was excellent as well. Ate way to much each day and sat on the patio most days with a mimosa. Resort was filled with friendly people and met really nice Canadians and some girls from U of Indiana that we played the bean bag toss game with. Kids enjoyed climbing wall and the rifle shooting and archery each day. Always plenty to do during the day and a show each night that was entertaining. Even won a tshirt and some tequila one night. Beach volleyball and beach soccer were played each day. Use caution on the soccer stubbed a toe and got some sand burn but the guys from the resort were fun to play with. Spring break was raging next door but its mexico in march and other than a few F bombs over the pa system it was all good and they added a nice spark to the beach scene.
We ate at the specialty Italian it was fine so was the palapa seafood for dinner. I mostly loved the buffet with all the choices and variety each day. Food is not five star but is rock solid four star clean and fresh. Wait staff and the hostess at the buffet very sweet and friendly each day.
Eat at the palapa for lunch food was good including sushi and burritos and stir fry.
The duck ponds with coy and iguanas were beautiful and the ping pong was fun for the kids.
No one goes to mexico for the time share pitch or beach vendors but take it all in stride and you will have a great time.
We fished two days out on the ocean and went to the marietas for whale watching and snorkeling and it was worth it for both. Whales breaching and lots of dolphin and son caught a striped marlin.
One day up to suyalita and then another day no one would leave the resort just wanted to hang out drink dirty monkeys bob marleys and eat the three squares plus the bacon wrapped dogs off the lunch snack buffet.
All in all good for families with young to teenage kids looking for affordable four star food and accomodations.

Room Tip: pay for the M experience only if you want to be on the ocean view newer section we were in 1125 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spendingdagreen406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager. at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear spendingdagreen406,

All the Meliá staff appreciate for giving us the opportunity to stay with us, I would like to thank you greatly for taking the time to share your great experience with another futures costumers.

Our staff always will be happy to give you the best service to have a good experience, we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Greetings,

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    1,240
    642
    273
    228
See reviews for
1,709
855
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had the most wonderful time. I love the Melia. It is rated as only 3 star I think and deserves 4. Not new and not fancy as a RUI for example – but for people like us who are not complainers – perfect in every way. Excellent customer service from hotel, food is good. “ALa Carte” are OK – nothing too fancy, but certainly nothing to complain about. – 5 minutes from airport and when we drove up I could not believe it – I had no idea it would be that nice.

Of course we ran into some complainers – always do – but, we met lots of couples that are return visitors to this location. Two couples met there 10 years ago and keep coming back.

Location is great – across street from the private marina – shopping/eating – Thursday nights a market over there. $8 for cab to PV.

This location works for all ages. Young people with family – so much for kids – they keep them entertained. Didn’t even seem like there were kids there. – lots of pool chairs. They serve you drinks continually all day at pool. Beach is marginal – but I just walk it so not a problem for me.

The place is clean and rooms are just fine.

They offer many excursions and are always ready to help. They upgraded our room to ocean view after first night – no charge.

Room Tip: We just asked for upgrade to ocean view - but none of the rooms have bad view - some look over the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessiemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager. at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear jessiemarie,

Thank you for the time that you spent with us and share your experience with a future guest, we expect you back at the hotel and give us one more time an opportunity to have a good time.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

If you go to this resort be prepared to eat somewhere else. The food was awful. Breakfast was the only food that was tolerant. We ate at the seafood restaurant the first night and the portions of food were small and it was very bland. If you stay here be sure to ask for room 1807 because the view is amazing. This was the only part of the hotel that we truly enjoyed. The minute you walk in you are given a sales pitch for a tour of a new property that was not a "time share." (that is what the lady kept telling us anyway.) We were not the only ones who complained about the food. My husband led the revolution for people to eat at the marina because that was the place to get food that was actually good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyDBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear AmyDBT,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your experience. Your feedback is very valuable to us, and we deeply regret not having met your expectations, it is never pleasant to hear one of our guests has encountered dissatisfaction during their stay.

For all our staff, your comments are very important, since they are the tool to improve our quality and service levels and also to highlight the opportunity areas that you as our important client noted during your stay.

We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future so that we can recover your trust.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just got back yesterday from the Melia PVR. All in all we had a very nice time. First time to an all inclusive resort and were quite impressed the resort overall. We didn't get harrassed even once by a time share rep, and we found the hygiene standards to be very good. I've seen worse here at home. The food was good, with a decent variety but my wife complained that some of the items could have been hotter. My son and I eat anything so we were happy with the variety. We didn't try any of the a la carte restaurants. There was a Mexican Fiesta on two nights and we really enjoyed them. Live mariachi guitarists, artisans and vendors set up (no pressure) and different Mexican food than what we had been having all week. The service at the pool and in the buffet restaurants was excellent and the waiters very pleasant and quick. We brought single US 1$ and would use them as tips.

Our rooms were very nice and spacious with a nice view of the ocean and the main courtyard, where they set up the tables for the fiesta. We were in rooms 1408 and 1409. Each room had a nice flatscreen, although we didn't really watch TV except for a show or two at bedtime. There were music channels too. Not many English TV channels though.

The hotel and grounds are very well kept and spacious. There is a little store, a beauty salon and spa and lots of sitting areas. There are two pool tables as well for a late night game or two. The pool is huge and there are daily activites for young and old. My wife and daughter really liked the aquarobics in the morning and my son and I played water volleyball, basketball and even Bingo. There are many other things to do such as archery, air rifle target shooting, a rock climbing wall, shuffleboard and free kayaks and boogie boards for the beach. I even played in a blackjack tournament (free chips). The nightly entertainment was good and we were impressed with the level of talent and variety.

The beach isn't huge but there are plenty of chairs and palapas (sun shade). The water was comfortable and the waves were pretty decent on the windier days. The beach vendors are not aggressive, and go away with a simple, "no, gracias". If you are in the market though, you can bargain for a good deal for the most part. The view of the mountains ( I think the Sierra Madre), and the town of PVR is beautiful while sitting on our balcony or on the beach.

The city bus stops outside and for 7 pesos (40 cents) you can take the 20 minute or so ride into PVR. We took the bus there and an 80 peso ($7) taxi back after dark. Make sure you set the price with the taxi driver before getting in. The marina is a 5 minute walk away and there are many shops and restaurants to choose from.

Oh, one last thing. When you get to the airport and you've got your luggage and are now in the narrow hallway with counters on each side, don't be fooled by the guy who tells you that you have to go over and register for your hotel shuttle. Just keep going. Those counters are where the time share reps are and they are pretty pushy, offering all sorts of deals to get you to a presentation. If you want to go to one however you might be able to get a free excursion out of them.

Anyway we had a great time and enjoyed the Melia very much.

Room Tip: When you check in try to get a room NOT in buliding 2. This is near the lobby bar area and is closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Satisfied49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Satisfied49,

It is a pleasure to know that we fulfilled your expectations for being your first time to an all-inclusive resort, since they help us improve day by day and motivate us to continue to provide a quality service.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and our multiple facilities, as well as the comfort and view of our beautiful rooms.

We hope you come and visit us gain, it will be our pleasure to serve you.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Though the staff seems genuinely ready to assist you in any way possible when you arrive, the closer you get to leaving the less "enthusiastic" that assistance becomes. Better have the taxi waiting when you check-out or you'll be reminded of exactly how little you mean to the resort in short order! Thinking about the $200 "resort credit" if you book the resort? It's NOT A CREDIT! It is a broken up series of $25 discounts off resort offerings above and beyond your limited all inclusive package. By the way, the discounts WILL NOT be applied when you checkout as there seemed to be an exclusion for nearly every application. In short, it was a rip-off!
Food was consistently horrible with general hygiene being the least of the worries of those preparing the food. On the other hand, this "kid friendly" resort will definitely serve you liquor until you pass out, provide access to their favorite taxi service, and everyone has a kick-back built into their suggestions of where to go.
When you check in, before you can see your room, walk to the beach, or get a glass of wine, you are immediately taken to the side for your first of many sales pitches!
In short, believe the stars (or lack thereof) 3 1/2 stars for an "All Inclusive" is equivalent to one star service. BEWARE

Room Tip: Good luck! We had an electrical "buzzing" in our bathroom and our friends did as well in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Namon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Namon H,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent visit to Melia Puerto Vallarta. We will take under very serious consideration your comments which will help us to constantly improve. We are deeply sorry for your situation during your stay, and for not fulfilling your expectations, of course it is never pleasant to hear one of our guests has encountered dissatisfaction dring their stay.

We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future so that we can recover your trust.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Dear reader: This is a perfect place to stay. Their staff is knowledgeable, friendly, courteous and the cream of service. I would like to praise the management of this hotel for selecting and investing in training on individuals that want to give their very best, Individual that are people oriented. You will find them excellent, thoughtful and beyond their call of duty. I would like to highlight some individual that exemplify this: Caption of all restaurants, David Cisneros, who made sure all my business dinner engagement were at the right place. Captain of Italian restaurant Jonathan, who made my guest feel so special and treated with the utmost care and respect. Wait staff Juan Guerrero, Simon, Pedro and Roberto. Not to mention our special lady, Sylvia who every day clean our room so neatly and then left special detail to make the room warm and inviting. Thank you for making our stay a delightful and restful experience. I would like to mention it was such a neat site to see whole families stay at the Melia... I see why there is something for everyone and every age and all the enmities that a family would need. While on the elevator I meet the doctor in residence. It sure was good to visit with him.... While on this trip we had no need of it, I can see how this becomes essential for any traveler, older individuals, young adults having spring break having fun or families. I will whole heartily will recommend this Hotel to anyone. They will make you stay a memorable experience. Again thank you Melia staff for kind and thoughtful actions. Until next time. Norvi M

Room Tip: Just express you particular need to the staff, they will listen and will meet your need
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Norvi M,

I would like to start saying thank you for your warm words, every comment, every detail are important for all Meliá staff, we are very grateful that you have had a great time, just imagine how important is for us that memorized all employer names, for them will be important, I am going to let them know.

See you next year.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pleasant, friendly resort. Never had to wait for anything ( bar/buffet etc,).....you don't have to get up at 6am to save a seat like many places......always a pool or beach chair available..Enjoyed our stay.....Everything was just fine. 3 1/2 or 4 star I would say. Physical plant is a bit worn. Great for families and the middle aged crowd....if your lookin to party....not the place for you. Food average but the service staff fast and friendly...wow Angel at the pool bar runnin serving drinks all day...outstanding. Only complaint was at checkout they took our wrist bands and our shuttle did not arrive for 3 hours.....when I said we planned to have lunch to kill the time the front desk said we would have to pay extra for that....$10.00 each??? Been to many resorts and that is a first for us.....we were very disapointed with that policy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Brian R,

We really appreciate the time that you took to share your experience with our future guests.

Regarding your disappointment, I really sorry this caused a discomfort in your last day, it wasn´t an intention, but the all-inclusive service finish a specific time.

It will be terrific that you visit us the next year and this point doesn´t affect it.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
4.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#49 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Property: Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive and quiet areas of Puerto Vallarta, a four star luxury hotel just 5 minutes from the airport or 10 minutes from downtown. Just a short walk from the 18 hole, par 71 Marina Vallarta golf course. 318 rooms in a vast tropical sanctuary on the beautiful bay of Banderas, ideal for a family vacation. Gazebos facing the ocean, the place is perfect for photographing perfect sunsets over Puerto Vallarta. Nightly themed dance shows live, from traditional retro style dances to traditional ones performed by the hotel's own dancers. Where is Puerto Vallarta? Located on the beautiful Pacific coast of Mexico, with an international airport and a seaport, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations. Romantic ocean views ready for your special occasions. Experience the best Mexican experience from the moment you enter Melia Puerto Vallarta. This all-inclusive, 4-star luxury resort offers its guests a variety of dining options and perfect leisure activities, whether for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or a corporate meeting. The property has a timeless tropical charm, thanks to the large open spaces and spacious, peaceful ecological gardens (full of iguanas, ducks, coy, birds) and wide sea views. The hotel has been designed by architects Oriol Bohigas and Joseph Martorell, authors of other projects such as the Olympic Village and the Olympic Port of Barcelona. The ingenious climate-focused design allows you to enjoy Puerto Vallarta's climate all year round. Are you traveling with children? Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive is a family-friendly hotel offering babysitting services with trained and certified professionals. Children's activities include crafts, billiards, table tennis, table football, arcade machines and more. Attention: FREE TOBACCO SMOKE-FREE HOTEL IN CLOSED AREAS: Melia Puerto Vallarta is concerned about the environment and as part of its Sustainable Tourism program, offers its guests and associates a smoke-free environment in all our rooms, theater, Lobby, restaurants, elevators, hallways of rooms and in some open areas delimited by the Hotel. This strictly non-smoking room is charged a room cleaning fee of $ 200.00 USD for guests who violate the "smoke-free" policy. For all visitors who smoke, hotel puts at your disposal assigned areas in the pool area, motor lobby and public beach. Ask for the map with the designated smoking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing