We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Ranked #50 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Resort”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location! Take a taxi from the airport $18, rather than wait 45 minutes for the bus. It's a 10 minute drive. The only downside is the "time share" hassle at the airport. Make a beeline for the exterior doors and don't look back!! Smooth check in and quick bag drop at the room. We had a garden view room and could still see the ocean. Comfortable, air conditioned and clean. The buffet was good, we favored the Mexican restaurant over the Italian and seafood. It's worth the few extra dollars to buy a nice bottle of Mexican wine off their wine list. Clean pools, great lobby bar and wonderful kids club. The only downsides were the constant pressure to join the Melia club. It was hard to walk through the lobby! The nightly entertainment went late and you could hear it from your room. Tough with an infant. Free wireless would've been a bonus but it was complimentary in the lobby. Staff was extremely attentive and friendly.
Would reccomend it and definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    1,209
    635
    265
    225
See reviews for
1,649
839
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is wonderful for families - really geared for kids - lots to do for them. Unfortunately our kids have grown up so we had to move from crying babies and others having a meltdown to a quieter place. My brother inlaw got after a little boy peeing in the pool - right in front of everyone - including his parents! Only one pool too. We went to the beach after that!

But the service was great- our waitress Rossa was amazing! She had our drinks to us pronto! We did tip her as she was the best! She has been there for 12 years - if you go there you must ask for her!

Breakfast was always good - had a fresh omelette every morning!

Dinner was good except for the steak- very tough. My husband would order the prawns which was on the main course as his appy! Then the main course.

Music was great, they had adult aerobics, we went on the kayakes, played tennis, rented a boat and saw dolphins for 40 bucks for the four of us for an hour - the guy was great - we tipped him 10 bucks and we got our photos done the professional photographer there for free - then bought a few - she was so cute and such hard workers there.

We upgraded our room and it had a coffee maker in there - which was great! Beds very comfortable, but pillows not so much. Free Internet in the main lobby which was a pain. 10 dollar cab ride to down town PV.

Time share people are brutal in the airport! Also the people trying to sell you things on the beach! We did buy some really nice silver jewellery and we got henna tattoos and they are such nice people but I wish it wasn't every day you go to the beach!

We had a fabulous time there - good food , food friends, good music, good weather - very humid - but like I said we are out of that era of our lives with little ones - wish I knew about this resort when our children were little! We will not be going back until/unless we have grand children!

Room Tip: We upgraded to ocean front which was an extra 60 bucks per night - but it was worth as it had just t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were attending a wedding of a friend and they recommend this hotel. The stay was very good. We enjoyed the property. Melia is a resort geared more towards family. If your without your kids you may want to stay at other hotels. Service was great. Staff made every effort to make sure the stay was good. Food was average, not the best, but not the worst. The location is good if you are not planning to get off the resort. We were going to downtown everyday so the cost of taxi's adds up. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yourpatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We came here on a United Vacations Package & our expectations were not set too high but, I have to say that the Melia exceeded our expectations & left us with a satisfied experience. Of course satisfaction doesn't come without excellent service of the staff. Giving all the credit to Gaby (management @ the front desk) & Tony (@ Public Relations Desk), we felt very welcome & the both of them went to the EXTREME to make sure we were very happy. I say this because we had several issues arise when we checked in but, they quickly solved them & compensated as well.
The pros: rooms & buildings are kept clean. Food was great(especially the restaurants needing reservations), something for everyone! Service by all the staff was exceptional! Lots of kids activities; rock climbing wall, batting cages, pool games, archery, etc...
The cons: hard pillows, wifi only free in lobby (have to pay for wifi anywhere else on resort), fee for renting coffee maker in room, no hot tubs, pool bar closes early, many mosquito bites( bring repellent!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Opinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My 6 year-old daughter and I stayed at the Melia Puerto Vallarta in mid-November for a week. This was our fourth visit to the resort in the past three years and we have not seen a lot of changes, which in the Melia’s case …. is a good thing!

As repeated in other reviews, this would not be my first choice for a romantic couple’s getaway, but it’s definitely the place for young families. That being said, they had a couple of weddings while we were there and everyone I spoke to praised the onsite wedding planner and they were highly recommending ‘Fabiola’.

The kids club is a safe, clean, and caring environment for the kids. The women working there truly care for the kids and ensure that every child is included. It is because of the quality service that these people provide that we continue to recommend the Melia in PV.

As for the facilities…our room was very clean, modern, and comfortable. The restaurant food was average, nothing stands out, but nothing made me run away either. There were specialty restaurants available every night and the staff in the lobby was helpful in making reservations.

The one thing that I felt has improved was the customer service. It seemed that each and every staff member wanted to ensure that we were happy and cared for. Lesson learned…if you need something, just ask before you get frustrated☺

Unfortunately my daughter had to make a visit to the onsite doctor. He conducted a thorough examination and then prescribed medication that got my daughter back on her feet almost immediately. The staff were genuinely concerned and continued to check in with us throughout our stay to see if we needed anything☺ I do NOT blame the illness on the Melia…kids get sick.

I would recommend the Melia PV to families with children 10 and under, and to couples who are not annoyed by having children around. At no point during our stay did I feel that the kids took over the pool or the restaurants.

Based on the high quality of customer service that we received on this past trip and how easy the staff makes your holiday, my family will return to the Melia. We’ve stayed at other resorts in PV and keep coming back to the Melia. Please feel free to message me if you have any questions specific to our experiences at the Melia in PV.

Thank you Melia.

Room Tip: M-Experience rooms are ocean front. Our room was 1907..high corner with two balconies and amazing vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Table43Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed our week at the Melia. The staff was attentive and fantastic. The activity staff provided lots of enthusiastic options for fun filled activities. The aqua aerobics was my favorite and the music they played was great. The evening DJ at the bar should take some lessons from the pool staff.The food is great, there's always something for everybody. Every night there was a different place to eat with a wide variety of food. I am gluten free and it was very easy to eat at all meals. It's a short cab ride to the Malicon and the Maritime Marina. We went with friends and I think it's a fantastic place to vacation for couples, families and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josefina T, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is a great pleasure to know that our Hotel exceeded your expectations.

We will continue to improve our personnel, service and installations to give you the best experience.

We look forward towards welcoming you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The grounds and hotel were spotless and very nice. We stayed in the Melia Club section and our room was also very nice and kept very clean. No problems there at all. What put the biggest damper on on vacation was that we went with a group of friends and in the evening we would gather in the lobby for drinks before dinner. The problem was it was so hot and humid and no breeze what so ever and the lobby was open air and no ceiling fans. It seriously felt like a oven there. So needless to say one or two drinks was all we could stand, so much for all inclusive when it is the only bar on the resort open in the evenings. Now lets get to the food....None of us are picky eaters but come on, pork every single night in the buffet ? The food was boring and tasteless, we truly had a hard time finding something we liked. We only got to eat at one reservation resturant because every time we went to make reservations they said their computer was down and they wont let you in without reservations. Breakfast was fine, enjoyed that one. Most of our group ended up going to the marina to eat, what a shame.

Now for the pool.....loved the pool, nice and big to float on our air mattresses. The only problem there was the 'pool police'. No eating or drinking in the pool. I can see the part about no drinking, but who doesnt want to sip on a cocktail in the pool on vacation ? And speaking of drinks, you better order a double if you want alcohol in it or you drink beer which is Modello and pretty good beer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lauriedoutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josefina T, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
First of all thank you for share your comments and your positive notes. Regarding the food, our chef is working on it to provide a new, varied and best service.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope you can give us the opportunity to have you with us in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#49 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
4.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
9.1 mi away
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
#34 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Property: Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive and quiet areas of Puerto Vallarta, a four star luxury hotel just 5 minutes from the airport or 10 minutes from downtown. Just a short walk from the 18 hole, par 71 Marina Vallarta golf course. 318 rooms in a vast tropical sanctuary on the beautiful bay of Banderas, ideal for a family vacation. Gazebos facing the ocean, the place is perfect for photographing perfect sunsets over Puerto Vallarta. Nightly themed dance shows live, from traditional retro style dances to traditional ones performed by the hotel's own dancers. Where is Puerto Vallarta? Located on the beautiful Pacific coast of Mexico, with an international airport and a seaport, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations. Romantic ocean views ready for your special occasions. Experience the best Mexican experience from the moment you enter Melia Puerto Vallarta. This all-inclusive, 4-star luxury resort offers its guests a variety of dining options and perfect leisure activities, whether for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or a corporate meeting. The property has a timeless tropical charm, thanks to the large open spaces and spacious, peaceful ecological gardens (full of iguanas, ducks, coy, birds) and wide sea views. The hotel has been designed by architects Oriol Bohigas and Joseph Martorell, authors of other projects such as the Olympic Village and the Olympic Port of Barcelona. The ingenious climate-focused design allows you to enjoy Puerto Vallarta's climate all year round. Are you traveling with children? Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive is a family-friendly hotel offering babysitting services with trained and certified professionals. Children's activities include crafts, billiards, table tennis, table football, arcade machines and more. Attention: FREE TOBACCO SMOKE-FREE HOTEL IN CLOSED AREAS: Melia Puerto Vallarta is concerned about the environment and as part of its Sustainable Tourism program, offers its guests and associates a smoke-free environment in all our rooms, theater, Lobby, restaurants, elevators, hallways of rooms and in some open areas delimited by the Hotel. This strictly non-smoking room is charged a room cleaning fee of $ 200.00 USD for guests who violate the "smoke-free" policy. For all visitors who smoke, hotel puts at your disposal assigned areas in the pool area, motor lobby and public beach. Ask for the map with the designated smoking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing