We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean fun . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Ranked #47 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Went with our family of 5 (3 kids under 8) at end of Nov 2011 and it was a a great time. They loved the kids club. Other than the front desk staff, EVERYONE who works there is a pleasure to deal with. The wait staff is great. The bar servers are great, the kids club staff was amazing, everything. For some reason there is something off putting about the front desk staff. And the concierge staff too. They arent as helpful as you'd hope. The location is great -- right by marina. The pool area is amazing. Sure the time share gig is painful at times, but we figured out how to avoid that pain in the rear. . . .it just involved a little extra walking . . . as far as the food, i thought for the off season it was real good--sure by the end of 11 days we were ready for home cooked but i think you would feel that way about anywhere. With kids I'd go back in a heartbeat. If we were going as a couple id find something a little kid friendly. . .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 3,738 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed with our 3 kids (5,6,and 9). This was our second time at the Melia. It's only 5 minutes from the airport which is a plus. The pool is heated and HUGE and we and the kids always had tons of room. The service is fantastic. Rossy and Angel were always near surviving us drinks by the pool. Please tip at these resorts. The workers with how much they get paid need the tips. The grounds were SO well kept and clean. This is one of the few resorts that will take 3 kids (plus 2 adults) in a room. We ha two double beds and a bunk bed. The maids did a fabulous job cleaning everyday. We tipped them too. (most only make around $300/month). The food was really good. Lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. Of course thy have different theme nights each week and we ate out in the courtyard twice. They also had supper on the brag one night. The girls at the kids club were very nice. The kids did crafts there a couple days. They are beachfront and we spent more time on the beach this last time. There are peddlers, but a polite "no gracias" sends them on their way. We were never hassled. We went to a couple shows. The dancers were quite good. Our kids loved them.
We were sad to go once again. I recommend this place especially for families with young children. Email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TKcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just sent a week at the PV Melia and can't stop raving about it. Staff were warm, helpful and hardworking! So great with the children at the resort. Food was excellent and the whole resort very clean! Can't image staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Just returned home from Melia Puerto Vallarta. Stayed there for a few days with two little children in tow. Both of them enjoyed going to the kids club every day. They provided kids with activities from 10am to 5pm. Nadia and staff are attentive and friendly. Great work ladies!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My first impression of Melia was extremely good. It was your average resort in need of some general repairs but the service at reception and the main floor was amazing...later to find out they only were being so friendly to try and get us to visit their presentation. Disappointing to say the least. Erika at the front desk and the employees there were wonderful throughout. Our room was ocean view and had the recent upgrades but didn't feel like it offered anything different. The air-conditioning didn't work for the full 2 weeks we were there as they said it was a known issue and offered a fan in place. As for the general service, our room was never properly refilled with beverages or amenities so it was always a guessing game to find out what we were going to find in our fridge each day...if there was anything refilled at all?!?! The restaurants had great service the first week but when the hotel reached full capacity the second week they had terrible service as the waiters/waitresses were way too busy. The buffets were always running short on food, bowls, cutlery and it took forever to replace. I don't blame the employees for this but rather management as everyone was doing their best to keep up. The snack bar was always out of something...ketchup one day, mustard the next, french fries another, popcorn another...what's with that? Pool service was good depending on your server. Some simply walked by and tried not to offer you anything and the next was taking care of you as one would expect. The activities were ok but seemed everything happened at the same time and early in the morning...water polo, beach volleyball, water aerobics, batting cage, mini golf all within an hour of each other and the music was horrible. Should be upbeat music but it wasn't.

Were their good things....definitely. Some of the employees there were amazing - as I mentioned Erika at the front desk, the morning/lunch buffet restaurant captain (didn't catch her name but she always had things under control and was very pleasant), all of the activity team, the egg maker at breakfast, and a couple of the servers were amazing. Thanks to those as they make the stay great!!

Couple of horrible service areas, the lounge was terrible. The waitress and the bartenders were some of the worst working in the resort. Was bad enough we only went there twice out of our 14 day stay AND the captain/host in the Italian restaurant was RUDE at best. We asked for 2 bottles of water as housekeeping didn't leave any in our room and we definitely put him out of his way to grab us a couple and he let us know. Very poor service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scottieg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very nice property, very friendly and attentive staff, especially Teresa in Lobby Bar. Breakfast buffet was good dinner and supper buffet varied very little. Towards end of stay spring breakers were starting to show up. Typical young Americans and Canadians rude, obnoxious think they can hold their liquor, but can't, and think they rule the world. Overall very good resort could use some updating, rooms and beds were comfortable. Plenty to do at resort very family oriented except the 1 morning they played the song Let's Get Drunk and Screw 3 times at the pool, was a little shocked by that with so many kids around. Was here Feb 4th-21st great weather 1st week, 2nd week sucked but no one can control the weather. Met some great new friends from Minneapolis here and we are all planning on coming back next year

Room Tip: I am Expedia VIP so got free room upgrade that moved me from 2nd floor to 4th floor in tower 1 noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We returned home yesterday. The food was great, we were there for 10 days & didn't want to leave. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in PV and i would stay here again. There was 6 of us and we all agree on this hotel. We all had rooms in different areas & had no complaints. Nightly shows were very good. Pool was nice yes there are kids around the pool but we still had a good time. Let me know if you have any questions. We would stay again at this hotel. Rosey waitress at the pool was great.

Room Tip: Stay in the M experience rooms really nice, with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#46 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,699 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,885 reviews
1.0 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $184 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Marina Vallarta, one of the most exclusive and quiet areas of Puerto Vallarta, a four star luxury hotel just 5 minutes from the airport or 10 minutes from downtown. Just a short walk from the 18 hole, par 71 Marina Vallarta golf course. 318 rooms in a vast tropical sanctuary on the beautiful bay of Banderas, ideal for a family vacation. Gazebos facing the ocean, the place is perfect for photographing perfect sunsets over Puerto Vallarta. Nightly themed dance shows live, from traditional retro style dances to traditional ones performed by the hotel's own dancers. Where is Puerto Vallarta? Located on the beautiful Pacific coast of Mexico, with an international airport and a seaport, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations. Romantic ocean views ready for your special occasions. Experience the best Mexican experience from the moment you enter Melia Puerto Vallarta. This all-inclusive, 4-star luxury resort offers its guests a variety of dining options and perfect leisure activities, whether for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or a corporate meeting. The property has a timeless tropical charm, thanks to the large open spaces and spacious, peaceful ecological gardens (full of iguanas, ducks, coy, birds) and wide sea views. The hotel has been designed by architects Oriol Bohigas and Joseph Martorell, authors of other projects such as the Olympic Village and the Olympic Port of Barcelona. The ingenious climate-focused design allows you to enjoy Puerto Vallarta's climate all year round. Are you traveling with children? Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive is a family-friendly hotel offering babysitting services with trained and certified professionals. Children's activities include crafts, billiards, table tennis, table football, arcade machines and more. Attention: FREE TOBACCO SMOKE-FREE HOTEL IN CLOSED AREAS: Melia Puerto Vallarta is concerned about the environment and as part of its Sustainable Tourism program, offers its guests and associates a smoke-free environment in all our rooms, theater, Lobby, restaurants, elevators, hallways of rooms and in some open areas delimited by the Hotel. This strictly non-smoking room is charged a room cleaning fee of $ 200.00 USD for guests who violate the "smoke-free" policy. For all visitors who smoke, hotel puts at your disposal assigned areas in the pool area, motor lobby and public beach. Ask for the map with the designated smoking areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing