We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice pools, but won't be back!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #76 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice pools, but won't be back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We ended up at the Krystal b/c of a mixup with our travel agent. We started in a reg room but b/c of mixup we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom condominium. It was beautiful with a wonderful balcony but unfortunately the people in the condo above us, left a tap on and flooded our bedroom causing us to be moved again. The hotel then moved us to a timeshare villa. It was nice as well and close to the pools.
The pools were great, very clean and nice staff who were eager to please. The beach was great, but LOTS of vendors. So, if you can't handle them, sit by the pool. We chatted with many of them and enjoyed hearing about their families and lives in Mexico. The gym was adequate, but very warm if you went first thing in the am b/c they turn the air off overnight. There is only one restaurant and the a la carte Italian. Food was a 5/10 at best, with much of the same stuff being served day after day. The snack bar by the pools and bar never varied from day to day. The bar in the lobby is never open and the restaurant right beside it serves supper one night a week with entertainment. We enjoyed the dancing and singers, but other than that one night, there is no other nightly entertainment. So, the resort is very boring in the evening. You could fire a cannon through the lobby and never hit anyone. Sun/Wed at 5pm there is Bingo with prizes in a comfy air conditioned room right across from villa 523. It will cost you $10 but you get drinks and popcorn included. There is NOT a swim up bar at this resort. If you happen to be looking at an older website it will tell you there is, however it was removed about 4 years ago. This is mostly a timeshare place and you will see lots of older American timeshare folks. Minimal activities at the pool each day. Aqua size, bingo and darts. Couple times we saw poker at a table next to pool. I did get two 75 minute massages in the resort for 900 pesos. Excellent massages with Lupita! One other staff member who provided exceptional service and lots of helpful advice was Eduardo. He is a gem and so very friendly! He went above and beyond and we always enjoyed chatting with him! If you ask him how he is, he will tell you "Heyyy, I'm fresh as lettuce man!" Most of the other staff were pleasant and helpful as well. We really enjoyed a whale watching tour with Juan. (Fellow on the beach) It cost us 900 pesos for two and included all the water, juice etc plus lunch and a four hour tour. It was excellent including the yummy lunch! We also visited the Malecon. Lots to see, do, buy, eat and drink there, but be wary of all the sharks wanting to get you into a timeshare presentation. If you want to eat at a great, great seafood restaurant, try Melissa's. It's a couple blocks east from the ocean boardwalk and the food is excellent! We went twice and enjoyed giant Portugese style shrimp. Stuffed with cheese and wrapped with bacon then grilled to perfection, these are a big piece of Heaven!
In a nutshell, the Krystal was clean, had good staff, but the food really lacked and there was next to no entertainment in the evenings. I will also add that the grounds were kept very clean and manicured as well. Not the worst place but we would not stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pysankakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    346
    256
    206
    209
See reviews for
344
306
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rhinelander wi
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at the Krystal for two weeks in March 2014. The resort has brick and cobble stone walkways/streets that make it feel like old Mexico and the style of the buildings isn't the slick highrise look of so many of the resorts. the buildings are lower (4 floors or less). The grounds were well kept and clean. The grounds crew was working on the upkeep everyday. All of the staff was very friendly and Enrique by the pool kept us supplied in drinks and food. The staff at the lobby bar were also very friendly and the drinks there were excellent. I had a couple of massages while we were there and the prices and service was great. You could get a 75 minute couples massage for $80USD or 40 for one person. The massage was a great way to help unwind. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinelandermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Sure, it's an older resort, but, the rooms are very clean, as are the beaches, eating areas. Registering and checking out was a breeze, however, upon departing, we had no airport shuttle; had to cab it ( 100 pesos ) Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast ( all inclusive ) is plenty with good variety. Excellent location, minutes to downtown PV, near the marina, can walk or take a bus for 7 1/2 pesos. Supermarket very near. Grounds very nicely groomed. I would suggest to remove the mini bar currently in room and replace with a mini fridge. Nice beach, but, really cannot swim as the surf is too strong, but, I am not complaining. Lots of activities you can choose, i.e. para-sailing, horseback riding, massages in enclosed canopy on beach. The girls are fantastic at giving massages. Oils they use are wonderful smelling. Stayed for one week Mar 2-9( 9325 ocean view ) and have nothing but great reviews and fond memories.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room. Enjoy the sunset and surf while sitting on your deck. Good soundproofing, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I just returned from the Krystal Vallarta Hotel. We enjoyed every minute of it with their super friendly staff. They are always ready to help you in any way you ask. They go out of their way to show you their hospitality.

Room Tip: The room were hot that spacious but comfortable. We had an oceanfront with a balcony which was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonCoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I loved everything about this resort. Spent five days there last month ... staff was great, rooms were in good shape and clean. Good location. Restaurant options were good, bars had good selection. A good experience all-around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Only spent two nights at the Krystal, but would stay again. A great beach, good lounger chairs, lots of sand, great waves, jacuzzi's pools and the food was tasty, other than the Brazalian BBQ, which tasted gasey on the grilled meats. Only complaint is the cost of the WiFi, it should be included in the price of the room. However I like the location, close to Walmart, Costco, other restaurants in the area, and we had an ocean front room, ground floor, which is our choice and it was great, step out to the beach and enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for the room you want and the desk will do their best to accommodate. Ocean front is supreme
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

WE LOVE THIS RESORT. The staff are TREMENDOUS! After five years staying at the Krystal they have truly become friends. Thank you to Carlotta, Aristeo, Roberto, Angel, Bruno, Martine, Eduardo, Elroy, Saul, Enrique, Jesus, Francesco & last but not least Marcella. Each day Marcella and her staff ask if we are happy and were we satisfied. So many we still do not know by name but their smile makes our day.
The hotel rooms are not brand new, however, they are clean and very comfortable. People have to remember that this resort is an older "Treasure". The Mexican ambiance is warm & very, very pleasing. We go to Puerto Vallarta - yes to enjoy the sunshine but most of all the hospitality of the Mexican People. We receive all of this at the Krystal. We meet fellow Canadians & Mexican tourists as well. We spend our days looking out at the very wide/open expanse to the Blue Pacific & the Sierre Madre Mountains. What a view!
The hotel seems to be working very hard to improve their image. However, we have to realize that in todays economy it takes time. We truly hope that the management, of the wonderful Kyrstal, will do everything in their power to make necessary improvements but never, never, lose the ambiance we so dearly love. Good Luck to you all.

Until we meet again,
John & Sheila (from Canada)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room in the hotel> By doing so you do not need to put the a/c on, instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krystalconcierge, Maitre Lobby at Krystal Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear John & Sheila.
I am so glad to hear you had a great time staying at Krystal Puerto Vallarta. I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences you lived and enjoyed during your stay with us, I am delighted to read your positives comments, I will happily share them with our staff.

Aristeo , Carlotta, Roberto, Angel, Bruno, Martin, Eduardo, Eloy, Saul, Enrique, Jesús, Francisco and Maricela already know about your review and are very proud to have made you feel comfortable and very special, they´re looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you again for allowing us being your host and we hope to have the opportunity in a near future to provide you one more time with the excellence in service we are known for.

Please let me know if you´re planning you next vacation, It´ll be a pleasure to have you back in this beautiful resort.

Cordially
Bárbara Gamerdinger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#33 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#20 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#52 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Property: Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av de los Garzas s/n | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing