We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT as advertised” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #64 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NOT as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have travelled to all points in Mexico (including PV 8+ times with approx 25 trips total to Mexico) so I consider us well travelled. I cannot say anything negative about the staff as they all tried hard but they are limited as to what they can give due to the hotel itself. This complex is in poor repair and could use a VERY serious upgrade. Half of this resort belongs to a time share company which caters to them and not the others.The rooms are clean and will definately accomodate but they are old and tired. The minibar is locked up and you have to get a key and PAY for anything in it. You can't even use it to keep your water cold. Water temp is very irratic and we almost always had an very cold shower, I guess if your happy with 1 warm shower out of every 7 then its OK. The sidewalks between buildings are made of block which is heaved, cracked, unlevel and missing many pieces. We are not elderly but certainly had a few trips and slips on the walk ways. (Without any alcohol, LOL) Fountains are plentiful but few are running and those that were needed cleaning. Retaining walls are falling over as blocks are falling out. Repairs we attempted but were just patched up and were falling apart again. There is no service around the interior pools (only the beach front ones) so you can't even get a drink of water. You MUST go to the beach to get anything. The concrete surronding the pool is covered in stains and pitted with holes. The beach chairs are so old they are starting to fray and it will mar your skin as fraying nylons feels like a fraying wire cable. It is also covered in bird crap which is not cleaned unless you knock it off yourself. (We know the diseases that birds carry!) The buffet is so TINY in comparison to other resorts. The food was tasty but choices were poor. Breakfast has NO sausauge, bacon, ham, or cold cuts. No cheese plates either! There was toast but nothing to put on it but butter, no jams, peanut butter or anything else for that matter. If this were a discount resort then I could understand "you get what you pay for" but it is NOT, although it certainly feels like one. The pictures for this resort on many websites are very old and do not represent todays resort. There are bars and food services listed as available but it doesn't tell you that some are them are cash and not included. This resort is not what it is advertised to be. We enjoyed ourselves as we do where ever we go, but it had nothing to do with this resort. Needless to say we went on alot of trips and spend a lot of time in town. This OLD resort should have sold out totally to the Hilton instead of just part of it and atleast the Hilton would have torn it down and started anew. I have never written a review on a hotel before as every place has its good and bad points, every vacationer has their own set of standards and everyone has there own perspective on it all. We have gone to places with bad reviews and found them all acceptable but, this is the ONE we just had to write a comment on. Please do not chose this hotel as your choice in PV. There are some great places to stay but this is not one of them!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    393
    272
    220
    213
See reviews for
406
348
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Made a fairly last minute decision to vacation in Puerto Vallarta, and this place was available. Pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a villa upon checking in. Private patio including a pool just for our unit.

The resort is conveniently located near the walmart and the upscale liverpool shopping mall; Walking distance to restaurants and a short bus ($.80) bus ride to the malecon. We like to explore locally and found several tasty options for meals withing walking distance.

Frankly, the bed was a little hard, the pool crowded, but when you have a private pool, who cares? But the service was excellent. The front desk was attentive, maid service was timely, and the concierge helpful.

The location of this hotel is right on the beach (beautiful) and there were none of the local street merchants around. This was really a week in Paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raynehri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The photos shown on trip advisor are terribly misleading. The pools shown in these photos exist but have been sold to the new Hilton property bordering Krystal with no access to guests at Krystal. Krystal guests have access to a smaller interior pool and a number of hot tubs usually overrun with children.

Room Tip: Simply book at the hotel or go downtown PV for a quality experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Tapachula, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My stay at this resort was due to a business trip, it was nice until I went to the restaurant then I noticed there were flies on the food, including carrion flies, which I tought was unpleasant and a bad image for the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliusprolixus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was featured two nights ago and the show ABCThelookout. The said the restaurants and certain activities are not included. The resort needs lots of repairs and they even showed them collecting bed bugs off the bed!!!! Look up the episode. I would never stay there based on this show!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Harleygirl310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Now its all about money and extras.........everything changes at the last moment...from free to gratuity enforced to not open because of renos....I understand Mexico, but not to this degree of manipulation.

Room Tip: Negotiate with front desk by offering pesos! Nothing is free in this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rugged2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I just watched an episode of the Look Out on ABC and realized that this is the same resort my husband, son and I visited about seven years ago. We were also very disappointed with the resort and how it was advertised on the web site. There was actually a party one night and we were barred from entering the restaurant and beach area! But the worst part was that we were duped (yes our fault) into buying a time share. It was such a hard sell that when all was said and done we had committed ourselves to a $10,000.00 time share. Quite a bit less than their original offer but high none the less. We immediately had buyers remorse but felt stuck. The next day I was outside our room and someone from Hotel.com asked me how our stay was going. I said ok except for the time share disaster. He asked what did I mean so I explained. He was so nice and said you know you can get out of it. I asked how and he basically told me that we had to go to what is basically the Mexican Better Business Office. So we did and sure enough we were able to get out of it. Later the manager of the hotel called us in and told us that if we were unhappy all we had to do was go to her and she would have fixed everything. But that is not what we were lead to believe by the sales person. Who, by the way even took us to dinner that night he was so thrilled that we had bought the time share. He was actually from England. Anyway we got out of it and that's all we cared about. Our money was saved and they didn't get our down payment. I hate time shares and wanted to start wearing a T shirt that said. PLEASE DON'T APPROACH ME ABOUT A TIME SHARE!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a private pool were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#43 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Property: Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av de los Garzas, s/n | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing