We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower expectations and have fun!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #64 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lower expectations and have fun!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've owned a timeshare here for 20 years. The shrinkage of the property over time was disturbing but they're taking better care of what's left, and what's left is decent. A short taxi ride from the airport makes it very convenient.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Casitas, they have plunge pools in the backyard. If not, the beachfront rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickynelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    393
    272
    220
    213
See reviews for
406
348
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family of 4 just returned from a week stay, my girls are 18 and 12. I was a little Leary due to the negative reviews I was reading right before we left, but I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The property is small, which we like, but what I really loved is that it felt like a Mexican neighborhood with cobblestone roads and old style architecture. The grounds were very well maintained. The room was comfortable, all 4 of us could move around easily. They were also clean. Yes there was a touch of mold in the shower, but I had to really look for it. The beds were on the small side for two people, but comfortable. Our thought is we aren't there for the room, we are there for the beach and sun. Food was decent, service was good especially if you gave them a tip, $5 seemed to be the perfect amount. They were very attentive then. There are two restaurants that require reservations, easily made. One was Japanese the other Italian. Again decent, not out of this world. The buffet was all three meals and then a snack bar. Pretty much the same food all the time. Only one bar for visitors and waitstaff. Two pools and they were heated, and then there were hot tubs under the trees which was a bit different. Plenty of beach chairs and a wonderful beach! Front desk people were not very helpful or informative at check in and concierge was good if you talked to the right person. Wifi was a complete joke which was the most frustrating thing of the whole trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the crystal week of March 23-30. Never presented or used my credit card there, but recieved a fraudulant charge from them, that my credit card company caught and disallowed. Thank you, Capital One ! WIFI service was intermittent to nonexistant. Food was okay. Staff was great. Will not use this hotel again because of it's criminal activity. Love Mexico and have traveled there often, and this is my first experience with fraud. Avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here one night, after being in puerto vallarta for a week and having stayed in 2 other hotels (really cheap ones) we decided to have one night in a nice hotel. BIG MISTAKE. the first two hotels even though cheap were GREAT... but this one.. horrible, the place REALLY needs to be renovated, it looks like one of those hotels that were once great but are not less than average. Our air conditioning sounded like a truck, the room was really away and smelled weird. We asked for them to fix the AC and took forever to get there. We had to stay there while they fixed it.. which they didn't. So they changed our rooms to one even farther away from the beach. same thing the AC was anything but silent.
The food was mediocre at best.
I was not happy with this stay, i'd recommend the romantic zone of puerto vallarta. hotels are smaller but the service is EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah_dcm_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIsconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Don't be fooled by the pictures on the Krystal website as they are not representative of this property. Only a few of the fountains are actually active. Villas are really beat up. FILTY dishes in the kitchen areas. Showers don't drain properly. Floors are falling apart. Pools are not heated. One bar for the whole resort. Food is so-so at best. WiFi hotspots are hit or miss. If you decide to go here avoid spring break at all costs. Drunken kids all over the place. Heard one vomiting off of a balcony. Beach sand is really coarse. Hard to swim due to the undertow. Beach vendors are relentless. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sherm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been holidaying at the Krystal for the last 24 years.When owned by the Krystal family, it was a 5 Star property. Since NH has taken over, they have ruined most of the ambiance, reduced the facilities, ie now only one bar in the resort which closes at 6pm, and a limited choice for dining. The fabulous Bogarts restaurant as well as the Kamakura Japenese restaurant are gone.
Both swim up bars have been eliminated at the main pool and the pool itself has been cut in half so that Hilton could build a hotel on part of the property.
The 1st weel we paid for the all-inclusive package. Big mistake. Very limited breakfast buffet . Not at all like it used to be. Very disappointing.
On the bright side however, the staff is amazing From Roserio at check-in to the waiters, Arteario, Culotta , Roberto, Angel, Enriques, you are the best. You all looked after us so well during our stay and management is very lucky to have people like you.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa with a private pool. The Villa's are in need of updating and the pools are in need of repair The Hotel rooms around the Aquaducto pool have had some updating.
Too bad its not what it used to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank russell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This resort was advertised as a 4-star, all-inclusive and family-friendly. On arrival, we were given a room that reeked of cigarette smoke and had no windows, so the only way to air it would've been to keep the entrance door open - but since this is a ground floor room, no balcony or anything - there were safety and privacy concerns. We asked for and were moved to another room -this time with windows. The room itself was ok, the bathroom was dirty, stains on the mirrors, walls and counter; mold everywhere. No shower curatain and no water drain on the floor- so each time someone takes a shower, the water gets on the floor and just stands there, making it very slippery. Out of promised 3 restaurants - 2 were only open twice a week, and at the time of our arrival were already booked up, so our only choice was the buffet. We've been to many all-inclusive resorts: this time, food was by far the worst, and this goes for both selection and quality. Another thing: the resort was full of spring-breakers. I have to agree with one of the previous reviewers pvjunky: this was painful and scarry to watch: constant swearing, drunken kids falling over, screaming and yelling at night, screaming obsenities from balcony, littered grounds in the morning - no respect for other people staying at the resort...The resort should really advertise itself as Adults-only or spring-breakers-friendly - this would allow families or other travelers looking for a better scenery make an informed decision. I see other reviewers saying that this place used to be much better. Maybe so, but right now, part of it is sold to Hilton, and what's left (Krystal) is catering to locals, and mostly used for conventions, etc. -so this is rather a hotel, and not as much as an all-inclusive resort. Maybe, this explains poor food choices, lack of evening entertainment, etc. However, we pay big buck for airfare and all-inclusive option - and this place is not what all-inclusive should be, and shouldn't advertise itself as such. The only good thing about this place is its friendly staff - but you can only go so far when you advertise yourself one way and in reality you're something else entirely different. Bottom line: Krystal Vallarta is not a family-friendly resort, and not a good value for your money; there are other, much better choices in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerb0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
3.3 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#43 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Puerto Vallarta

Property: Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av de los Garzas, s/n | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda-style Resort on 32-acre gardens with private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Krystal Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Hotels Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Vallarta
Nh Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Nh Krystal Vallarta
Krystal Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing