We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Fanastic Resort!”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barrie
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“What a Fanastic Resort!”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We have just returned from another (2nd time) 2 week visit to Casa Velas. There are a lot of resorts out there and we don't normally do repeat visits--but this resort has it all. The pick up at the airport was quick and within minutes we were at the hotel. We were welcomed most graciously, like returning to our old "home". Our room was 304 which is part of the main building. If you look at their site you can see a picture of it. We had a great view of the golf course/mountains and fireworks displays (which happened 3 x while we were there).It is a good sized room with 2 steps down into the sitting area. There is also a table for your room service items or your computer. We had a nice warm pool (thanks to the new solar panels) on the outside patio and a couple of chairs and table. The closet in the bathroom is small so they brought up a zippered clothes hanging unit which was quite functional. Marble bathroom/walkin shower nice amenities(shampoo/cond/body lotion/q tips/lots of bottled water etc.).Our room was kept so very well maintained during our stay. The linens on the bed/the pillows (down??) the mattress---all were so comfortable! I do think there is or will be a pillow menu. The meals at the resort are excellent. Again look at the web site and you will see the varied menu offerings.Also look at the back of Emilianos menu for "Spa" foods. They are low cal but high taste meals and drinks. The restaurant mgr. Gabrielle is a most charming congenial host. Make sure you meet him at the "cocktail social" on Tuesday 5-6. Also try to go for a garden tour with Gabrielle. He will show you all the plants native to Mexico, the herb garden, show you where the solar panels are located etc etc. I had no idea this part of the resort existed and it was a really interesting 20 minute walk. You will hear the sound of running water most times due to the large number of ponds and small waterfalls. It is so very relaxing and the gardens are worth many photos.
The loungers by the pool are very clean and comfortable. There is no need to bring down a towel as the girl puts them on the chairs first thing each morning or refreshes them after you leave.Lots of loungers and beds so no worry about getting there early for a spot. Watch the cherry in your drink (on a toothpick with pineapple) if you are down at the pool. There is a good sized yellow bird that had us in stitches as he quite successfully swoops in and steals the cherry--all within a nano second. People are left open-mouthed as to what just happened.Off couse we had to get an empty glass with the cherry and poof .. gone. Try it!!!
If you choose to go over the the Beach Club (Casa Velas only) they are now open for breakfast. You must make reservations. We were there for 9:00 am and oh what a treat. The tide is in so the waves crash onto the shore. What a wonderful site. Well I had to see how close to the breakwall the water was coming in (you are up about 5 feet) and low and behold what washes in but a tiny baby turtle. I held him in the cup of my hand, showed other guests then released him. Turns out I would have been smarter to have someone keep him in water for the day and release him at night due to seagull predators. So keep an eye out! Must have at the Beach club are the famous shrimp tempura on a stick- jumbo breaded shrimp.
There is an ATM now at the resort-behind the main check in.
There is a computer for your use jus off the main lobby. In the same room is the small library for read it and leave it.
Minimum wage in PV is 60 pesos a day-yes you read that correctly.
We also enjoyed going to Andrea for dinner. Go to Velas Vallarta web site for their menu.Great hostess...Pauline and Brenda.
There are 2 concierge..Jesus and Gabriella. Both are so helpful for all your needs. Want a bottle of wine on ice (pinot grigio for one) taken to your room?... just ask Gabriella.
Cynthia is the "control manager" keeping an eye on pretty much everything to make your stay comfortable.
At the pool bar Freddie and Hector keep hopping to bring you drinks and food. Something not on the menu is oysters on the half shell. Yum!! Just ask Freddie if they are available and if so he will bring you a serving of 5 very fresh oysters.
If you would like to see how they do their wonderful presentations of fruits and veg go to Gabrielle and ask him which day they do the presentation.
One dear girl was Cyndi the girl with the incredible eyelashes..and when you see her you will know what I'm talking about. She does everything from bartend to hostess to server.Such a pleasant girl that made our trip even more special with her great conversation and interest in what we were doing.
The fellows that take you back and forth to the Beach Club, and open the door for you at the resort are simply fantastic. They are so genuine and friendly making the stay that much better. Pablo, Eduardo and Jorge....just great guys!
Again our stay was simply magic. The cleanliness..spotless shining marble hallways, incredible manicured grounds plants and flowers, food prepared so wonderfully and with so much variety, the hand over the heart gesture by most employees,the friendliness of everyone...If you have chosen this resort you are in for a big treat. Thank you once again Casa Velas... we will return...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    131
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
113
1,090
33
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We spent one week at this resort, here are the PROS and CONS. PROS: NO CHILDREN!!! We thought we had died and gone to heaven, we search the world for places without kids. CLIENTELE: Sophisticated, quiet, mature crowd, no loud and noxious people drinking to get drunk around the pool or in the evenings. Attire is smart casual, no slobs walking around in their bathing suits and flip-flops in public places or screaming at each other. Gentlemen wear long pants for dinner, no shorts in sight. Guests respect other guests, how utterly refreshing!! ATMOSPHERE is spa like and the spa is fabulous. Peacocks walk around the grounds.
SERVICE: Outstanding, friendly, warm and it appears to come from the heart or they are doing a great job of fooling all of us. LOCATION: about 5 minutes from the airport. Yes, you get some air traffic but it really is not a bother and this statement is coming from someone who loves peace and quiet. As it is so close, it is a great location for stressed out people, as it is off the plane and into paradise in about 5 minutes. The resort will pick you up and drop you off at the airport. The resort is on a golf course, however, they have a beach club with a restaurant about 5 minutes away via shuttle or you can walk. The beach club is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ATTENTION TO DETAIL: You will find this everywhere in this jewel box of a resort. If I listed all the things I would be writing for a long time. Attention to detail in everything they do is what will separate the outstanding resorts from the very good resorts and few resorts are able to accomplish this. Casa Velas Boutique Hotel nails it!! ACCOMODATIONS: Tranquil and peaceful rooms with all the amenities. FOOD: This is cuisine, not food. The chef and sous chef and all the staff involved in this gastronomic production can stand shoulder to shoulder with the finest and the best in this industry. PROBLEMS: If you have any they are managed by a very qualified staff. I had a few and was impressed by the efficiency and the response. FELIX: This gentleman is at the front desk and he epitomizes the qualities and tone of this resort: refined, class, warm,friendly, discrete,artful. I was told he is new, don't lose this one! And now for the CONS. I only have one and it is a big one. Other guests have also written about this problem. It is not appropriate to present food and beverage invoices to guests when the guest has entered into a contract that says "no tipping." The invoices are clearly presented to pressure the guest into tipping and it proves embarassing to the staff and the guest. I was also told the invoice is a way to keep track of inventory, there are other ways to keep track of inventory besides asking the guest to sign for every drink and food article. I expect the service to be exceptional and I don't need to be reminded with an invoice. Not all guests enter into this no tipping contract, therefore, the ones who do should be identified perhaps with a different coloured bracelet. There needs to be transparency and not smoke and mirrors.
No tipping means no tipping, not somtimes or maybe.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bibliognostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

this was our first stay and we were impressed with the hotel. Service of all was outstanding. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Excellant spa & pool area. Room service for breakfast was excellant always on time & hot. Once we got the room we were to have when we arrive everything was much better. The Beach Club was excellant place for pool & beach with great food & service, also evening dinning was great & watching the sun go down. The staff at the hotel & beach club were great & friendly ready to help you with what ever your needs. We would go back again. The only bad thing was it is close to the airport and you do here the planes when you are outside.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I have traveled extensively in Mexico but we had never been to Puerto Vallarta. We've stayed at AI (Iberostar, Riu, etc) in Playa del Carmen, Cancun, and Cabo, but this is by far the absolute best All-Inclusive I've ever stayed in ! The rooms were spectacular, the food was great, and I can't say enough about the fabulous service. Reuben in particular was so helpful and friendly. He showed us to our room, got the stay off on a great start, and was there daily always doing anything he could to exceed our expecatations. The entire staff was truly fabulous. The beach club is the best part - a short shuttle ride away and you are in paradise!! We look forward to returning here many, many times.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebonnet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Upon our retrun for the second straight year we both were so exicited that the day of travel for a two week stay at Casa Velas had finally came after countless weeks of counting down the days. As soon as we stepped off the plane we couldn't get there fast enough, we are talking "Heaven" people. Last year was our first stay with Casa Velas, ten days of absoulte bliss. This year we decided that ten days was not enough so we extended our stay to fourteen days of absoulte bliss. Expectations were high after last year and again this year we were not disappointed, every whim that we had was met, from room service and Noe bringing special deserts, to Gabriel and Jesus making sure that every turn during our stay was perfect. Another example of how great this place is, at time of us making our reservation we specifically requested the exact same suite that we had last year with the plunge pool and the huge in room jacuzzi. Should not expect anything different, the exact suite was maticulously prepared waiting on us with the bed already turned down with the white chocolate in the tweed bag, We rave about Casa Velas so much on our return people go to the website to see what it is all about. While the website is well done and is beautiful with the grounds landscaping and pool, it does no justice to the beauty of the resort itself, needless to say it can not even descrbe the best attribute, it's employees and there care and service they provide tiredlessly ever day and night. Normally when you find something so special you want to keep it to yourselves but we are so absoutely in love with the people and Casa Velas itself we burst with information. In short we would again like to thank Rueben, Pablo, Jesus, Gabriel, Benny, Carla, all of the staff at Emiliano's Restruant, and off course Noe. We look forward again to return to the place of exquisite service, care, and decadence that we have not seen anywhere else. We love you all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bliss_131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hargirl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This resort was amazing! The size is perfect. Staff gets to know you in a day or two. Calls you by name. The facility itself is so well maintained and beautiful. Although the hotel is not on the water, there is a wonderful pool and within a minute's drive you can be at the exclusive beach club.
There is only one restaurant but the food was never disappointing.
We were impressed from our pick-up at the airport until the drop off for our reluctant trip home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,637 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing