We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our honeymoon resort”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
East Point, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our honeymoon resort”
Reviewed June 23, 2007

For our honeymoon, we ended up staying here through our timeshare company. Originally we were supposed to stay at their sister hotel Velas Vallarta, but once we got there we got bumped to Casa Velas. We were so glad they did! Casa Velas is much more of a romantic getaway than Velas Vallarta, which is more for families. We also purchased the all-inclusive package because of the great variety of restaurants to choose from. Casa Velas is pretty private, the pool is very relaxing... even though it is not on the beach, you do have access to their private beach club, which is fantastic and has a great restaurant as well. I would definitely go back!

  • Liked — Quiet romantic getaway
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hakeberrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    135
    46
    23
    19
See reviews for
118
1,119
33
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

We purchased the Gran Velas Suite Romance/Spa Package for 4 nights. We rec'd nothing in the mail re: vouchers, confirmation, etc. No one picked us up at the airport. The room they gave us was not what we booked. We insisted upon changing and getting what we paid for. The so-called mini bar in the room consisted of 2 beers. It was supposed to be all-inclusive 24 hrs but we had a terrible time getting champage delivered. After 3 nights they finally brought a bottle. They groom the grounds constantly and it was very noisy. You can't enjoy the grounds when their are workmen all over e.g. painting, etc., Enjoyed the beach club alot but got hounded by the vendors coming right up to the pool to sell you something and they didn't leave right away after telling them 5x you didn't want to buy anything. Everyone we met there was on a time share paying $100 per day. We paid alot more than that and felt we didn't get what we thought we booked according to their internet site. The hotel is beautiful but not 5 star 3 diamond. They compare themselve to the Four Season down the road and it is far from that.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Disappointed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed at the Casa Velas from 2Jun until 8Jun. We arrived at the Casa Velas with no bags, since the airline lost them. Our moods changed since we were beyond impressed by the hotel once we arrived. its a little intimidating at first, since everything is included. You can have whatever you want and as much of it as you like. Bottles of wine, champagne, no problem!

The grounds are unbelievable. They are continually grooming them around the clock. We asked for the golf course view, and we recieved it, with a huge king sized bed. The room itself was huge, and the bed was fantastic. If you order correctly, you also get the plunge pool, which is great to cool you off.

The food is pretty good, but the Beach Club sushi is prepared with cream cheese. This can be a little strange, so look out for it if you dont thing you are interested in trying that. The pool is amazing, and they have someone serving you the whole time you are there ( drinks, lunch, snacks )

The golf course is nice, but certainly not worth what it costs. The concierge has vouchers to get you on for free, but you will pay for a cart only. I think if you can score this deal it is worth it, otherwise check out the other courses for that kind of money.

We were never bothered about timeshares.

Be careful of your items. I left my sunglasses in the computer room for about 2 minutes. When I went back, from only being 20 feet away, there was someone cleaning and the sunglasses went missing. Even though the person helped me look for them they could not be found. Dont be careless like me......

The final night we were offered to stay at the grand velas which is a sister property in the northern part of puerto vallarta. This area is being develeped rapidly and is very upscale. All the rooms have an ocean view, and the services are much like the casa velas, but a little more crowded. High season must really be crowded. Also, there are children allowed here, so there is much more of a family atmosphere and louder, with tons of activities for the adults and the kids.

There are also more restaurants at the grand velas.
Even though this place boasts being the most prestigous of the velases there were many complaints going around of horrible check in stories. This didnt affect us so this is not included in my review.

The all inclusive services from these hotels are amazing and are the best that I have experienced.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aal2mcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Loved this hotel. If you're looking for an adults only relaxing hotel with great service Casa Velas is for you. The rooms were nice, the bed comfortable and the property is kept very clean. The main restaurant is very good. The Beach club restaurant, although more limited in menu was excellent. Really was surprised about how good the sushi was. It comes with cheese and since we usually don't have cheese in ours we asked for it without the queso, no problem! The staff waited on you so you never left your lounge chair. The rack of lamb at the Beach Club was the best. The timbale of tuna at the Main Restaurant was terrific. Played golf at the Marina Vallarta course. It was challenging and pretty but a little expensive for that course. Talked to a golf pro who preferred the Nicholas course. Watch out for the time share sell when you first arrive. They are only allowed to do this once, but don't waste your time unless truly interested. You can order room service and its presented just as nice as in the restaurant. Bottles of wine can also be ordered to the room.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Time share talk
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southjerseytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

We just spent May 12th-19th at Casa Velas in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. It was absolutely wonderful! The hotel is very small and private (it only has 80 rooms) and is adults-only. It is the perfect place for a romantic getaway or a vacation with friends. The hotel itself is located on a golf course and has a beautiful pool with a swim-up bar. The bartenders there are wonderful and great to talk to! The snacks you can get at or by the pool are delicious (I recommend the guacamole!).

The restaurant at the hotel, Emiliano's, is set overlooking the pool on one side and the golf course on the other. We had breakfast there each morning and the food was delicious. We had lunch there a couple of times (the fish sandwich was great!) and we had dinner there once. The ambiance of the restaurant is what makes it truly special!

The best part of this hotel is their private Beach Club. The hotel provides a non-stop van to the Beach Club (it's about 5 minutes from the hotel). The Beach Club is located right on the ocean and has amazing views! They have an infinity pool that is absolutely beautiful! The food at the Beach Club is oriental-style and is absolutely amazing! My husband ate sushi there almost every day and I enjoyed the best shrimp fried rice I have ever eaten!! The staff there is always on hand to provide you with a cold beverage at any time!

Overall, our experience was perfecto! The staff at both Casa Velas and the Beach Club were wonderful! Be sure to visit Benny and Miguel at the Lobby Bar for great conversation and jokes! Vidal and Pablo are the best bellhops out there and are extremely polite and helpful!! Our room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable!

We would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a quite and relaxing vacations. We will definately be back there again!

  • Liked — The Beach Club
  • Disliked — Lack of live music at night
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank strika625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Recently I spent the best weekend in Puerto Vallarta. Aside from the warm weather with very little humidity, I particularly enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere at Casa Velas. The service was superb, especially at the Spa which is really a relaxing experience! The beach house is lovely, the perfect place to watch the sunset and have a light supper. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LaLuna305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Overall, I would have to honestly say that our stay (my boyfriend and I) at Casa Velas was more than we ever expected or hoped for. From the moment we stepped foot on the premises, we were treated with 5-star service with typical Mexican style hospitality. The grounds were beautiful and impecably maintained and all facilities were clean and inviting. The food was the best I had ever had in my entire life and the cocktails strong and neverending.

A few pointers:
1.) We stayed in a villa through RCI, which was comfortable and beautiful. If you can afford it, go for it. Keep the AC on while showering, however, because the bathrms aren't equipped w/ exhaust fans.
2.) An older crowd do seem to be attracted to the resort. If you're young and looking for a party atmosphere (we weren't,) this is not for you. The hotel grounds are quiet and more well-suited for a romantic vacation.
3.) If you want to score lounge chairs and/or umbrellas on the beach, get there early - preferably around noon if not earlier. The chairs go quickly and they don't have too many.
4.) Service at the Casa Velas Beach Club is fantastic. Order lunch and they will deliver it on wooden trays out to your lounge chair along with cocktails and bottled water all day. The food is incredible. Sunset dinner is also not to be missed but make reservations early in the day, as they close around 9:30pm.
5.) The food at Emilianos is INCREDIBLE. Don't miss the seafood fantasy or the lobster and crab rolls. Definitely order dessert and try the variety of wines. One weird thing is that even if you're on the all-inclusive plan, you still have to sign the check after each meal. The wait staff seems to take a long time bringing it to you and if you leave without signing, they track you down. Getting up to leave is definitely one way to get the check.
6.) Visit the lobby bar at some point - their margarita on the rocks is the best in the world.
7.) Play golf! The course is gorgeous and challenging. Watch out for aligators and iguanas!
8.) The hotel gym leaves a bit to be desired but it's functional for the most part. It's always very very hot in there and crowded in the mornings. Try to go around 6:30pm or later.
9.) Be careful with the lounge chairs out on the beach. The hinge mechanism is tricky and will cut your finger pretty badly if it comes down on your hand (we saw that happen to a guest while we were there and he ended up with his arm in a sling.) You're better off not messing with them too much or get one of the waiters to help you.
10.) Although a shuttle is avab. to the beach, it's perfectly safe to walk through the golf course to get there. Watch out for people tee'ing off.
11.) Room service is a must, especially if you're in a hurry. It comes quickly and is just as great. Try the green juice for breakfast - it's to die for!
12.) Get to the airport early for departure - about 3 hours - if you're flying Continental. Check-in was a complete disaster and took almost 2 1/2 hours.

Hotel Casa Velas really made our vacation special and we hope to return someday in the future!

  • Liked — The 5-star service, the amazing food, the relaxing and beautiful atmosphere
  • Disliked — The humidity in the bathrooms and no screens on the windows or doors
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank eageltonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
511 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,889 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#15 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,710 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing