We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2007

The Hotel Casa Velas is a wonderful resort for adults, primarily couples, to relax and enjoy vacation. The emphasis should be placed on RELAX because that is what this resort encourages. I don't know the exact staff to guest ratio, but it is the highest I've ever experienced. They think of things you need before you realize you need them.
Because this resort is so small you get to know the other guests. I enjoyed these brief vacation encounters with people from around the world. The pools at both the hotel and the private beach club have more than a sufficient number of chairs placed in strategic locations for everyone to enjoy the pool, shade, sun or combination of the two. Both pools have loungers in the pool to lay on and sun as well.
The food at both Emiliano's and the Beach Club was consistently very good. Some things were excellent, especially the Tempura Shrimp at the Beach Club and the Prawn Bisquet (shrimp bisque soup that was "to die for!") at Emiliano's. My husband loved the rack of lamb as well. Plan to gain about 5 lbs!
All of the bartenders were excellent, which is what you'd expect at such a property. I especially enjoyed Miguel in the Lobby Bar, with his Miguelito!
I found the music selection at both pool bars to be a little bit lacking in variety. My husband and I had brought some CD's with us and we took our Jimmy Buffett cd to the pool to help liven things up.
There is no scheduled entertainment at this resort. In the evening many of the guests sit around at the various tables in the patio area on the main floor and play cards or sit and talk. It was very relaxed. Guests at the Casa Velas could also go to Velas Vallarta and enjoy the entertainment and restaurants at that resort and then hop the shuttle back to Casa Velas.
The room we had at the resort was very nice and the bedding excellent. The room did not, however, have enough closet space. There is a large armoire in the room with space to hang your clothes. We didn't pack a lot because of the new airline weight limits, but had a hard time getting everything hung up.

Overall, this is a great resort! I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: February 2007
8  Thank Mkehonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2007

The Casa Velas was absolutely georgeous. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ordered room service tea and juice with a basket of pastries and it was delivered quickly . We then would later have a buffet breakfast eaten outdoors at the Velas Vallarta, the other property that is available for use by guests of Casa Velas. The food was delicious. We would later alternate lunch and dinner between the two properties but Emilianos was by far our favorite.

I am not a real drinker but the drinks were good and if you like top shelf liquor, they have it. We ordered champagne or other french wine by the bottle, every night for dinner, just because we could.

The rooms were large with marble floors and marble baths. The bed was so comfortable that I had to check to see who made it. They provided slippers, bathrobes, and over-sized towels. Bottled water and sparkling water was provided in the mini bar in each room. When you sit poolside, it is peaceful and the waiters would bring you nice snacks like guacamole and salsa with chips or hamburgers and fries or seafood salad. This was the royal treatment.

The only downside to the resort was that the spa services were not included and they were expensive; but we found a nice place going towards the downtown area called Essence Massage that had one hour and fifteen minute massages for US$30.00. It felt so good and was so cheap that I had to have a manicure and pedicure too. I plan to go back next year. All inclusive is the way to go.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank letitgroww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

We're on our third room, since the plunge pools and jacuzzis didn't work in the other two rooms. The jacuzzi still doesn't work, but I'm tired of requesting mainenance.
This 80 room "boutique" and I use the term loosely, is not on the ocean, they do have a "beach club", and sits on the original Marina Golf Course in Puerto Vallarta.
Service at the single restaurant can be plodding. It is all inclusive so after waiting and waiting for the check, which only requires a signature, we went to our room and fell asleep. An hour later, we were wakened by pounding on the door as the waiter, Martin, had to make sure we signed the check! I was aghast and the front desk seemed sorry too when I made it abundantly clear the next morning that little stunt better not happen again. By the way, the sheeting and linens on the beds are wonderful. That's the best part about this hotel.
We've stayed twice at the sister property in Nuevo Vallarta just north of town, the Grand Velas. It is far nicer, flawless service and worth the extra money.
Also be forewarned, this is an RCI timeshare property. If you like hanging out with RCI folks at the pool, you'll be in good company. To the Casa Velas credit, they do not try and convince you to take timeshare tours, though their property nearby, the Velas VAllarta is a time share machine and you will most definitely be accosted/invited to tour for numerous "gifts".
Besides the great linens on the beds, the bartenders are very good and quick. So once you check in if you're up at the front desk dealing with any number of service issues, just tell the bartenders to keep the drinks coming.
We met three other couples that had problems while we were here at the hotel, so that's not a very good recommendation.
Having read the other reviews, I'm wondering how many of the people have traveled that much, or if they were just so thrilled to be in PVR and impressed by the 4 Diamond Rating from AAA. We tried to figure out how they received the rating and our guessing that compared to other 3 star properties in PVR they are nicer, just not to the standards you would find in a 4 Star in the states....either that or the inspectors for AAA got paid off.
The TV intermittantly had only two english stations, but the hotel had service people trying to fix the issue, which appeared to resolve with several old movie stations and CNN/Fox.
Having stayed in PVR numerous times, we know all the main hotels carry better stations if you do choose to watch TV when you are in your room.
The hotel offers a shuttle between the airport, courtesy to guests and that's a very nice perk.
We won't stay here again. We paid $1900 for five nights and would have happily paid more to have good service and no issues with our rooms. While the staff sympathized with our problems, they offered nothing more than switches to various rooms, which became quite tiresome. There are better things one can do on vacation than to tour somewhat dated hotel rooms and repack bags to be move by the bellhops.
The spa is good, but definitely a notch below the Nuevo Vallarta sister property, Grand Velas. Also, the prices are steep. You can save more than half, simply by walking 10 minutes over to the marina and using any of the three spas there for similar services.

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

What a great place. It is an All inclusive that Rocks. Casa Velas is a small 80 room resort that has 2 other properties in the area.
It is by far the best of all of the others. The place is clean, in a constant state of updating and repair, which is good. The property is beautiful. The rooms are all very nice, clean, good beds and all have a small pool either on the patio, or right out side of the ground floor rooms. The staff is fantastic and very helpful Our favorite bartenders were Benny, Miguel and Freddy.
The pool area is really beautiful, staff is very attentive. Since it is not near the beach and is located next to the golf course, they have a "Beach Club" that they will take u to. It is right on the beach and is private. Nice bathrooms and showers .They have a wonderful Sushi resturant there. Up stairs is a big screen TV and couches to sit and watch the games. They have a full bar service and again, remember it is All inclusive. This was by far the very best all inclusive we have ever stayed at. Even your mini bar and water in your room are included. All you pay for are your tips. Even the internet is free!! The only negative that I can comment on were some rude guests from the Domican Republic
who were loud, rude and very pushy. The staff handle the problems that they created in a very professional manner. Would we go back, Absolutley!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank drgnflyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Casa Velas form March 25 to April 8, 2006. We were booked for Velas Vallarta, but were offered accommodation at Casa Velas. This was the best experience we have had on all our trips to Mexico. The room was exquisite, service impeccable, and the food fantastic. All employees of the hotel were very accommodating and friendly. We definitely didn’t want to leave! Although we were already RCI Gold Crown Members, we bought vacation share through Club Velas during our stay. We had no intention of doing so, but were so impressed with Casa Velas we couldn’t resist.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Panope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I have no idea what these bad reviewers are on or thinking. Casa Velas was the perfect resort for our honeymoon. We were waited on hand and foot. Everyone was so nice. Beningno at the lobby bar and Manuel of the beach are great bartenders and very fun to hang out with at night. All of the restaurants were outstanding and the service was fantastic. The pool was not crowded at all and most everyone there was on their honeymoon. The rooms were big and the bathrooms were really nice. The spa was amazing and the workout gym looked great even though I was too lazy to use it. We loved this place and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank dwight2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

Casa Velas was amazing; the staff were always working to make everything perfect for their guests and making the grounds look like the pictures. We were supposed to stay at Velas Vallarta, but were upgraded to Casa Velas on arrival, and very happy we were. Our stay was 100% perfect there, the bar tenders were attentive to our needs, the house keepers kept things spot-less and did our laundry daily, the lobby staff were always willing to help in any way. We had free shuttles to the private club anytime we wanted, and the club was awsome. Great stay, would highly recommend it to anyone, and would definitly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Xtremeford09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
566 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,944 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,762 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $404 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing