We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Decadence”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We had a wonderfu, relaxing experience at Casa Velas. I am a VERY picky "foodie" and they more than met my expectations. I could absolutely live on the Ceviche they serve. My husband is selective as well and was thrilled with everything he tried there. The staff is beyond accommodating, every request was met immediately. The rooms are spacious with a fabulous walk in shower. The private beach resort is a short van ride (or walk as we chose) from Casa Velas - probably 10 minutes maximum. The private beach club is a nice retreat on the beach. The food there isn't quite as good, but it is perfectly acceptable. The beach club is quiet and laid back. Perfect for relaxing for the day. Dip in the infinity pool, lay on your chaise lounge. Not a great beach if that is your priority, but if you're just wanting to unwind, Casa Velas is perfect. If you're seeking a more adventerous vacation, look elsewhere. Lastly - our Concierge Mauricio was the best. I'm amazed he remembered my name from day 1 and arranged the best ever birthday beach celebration for me (and Champagne in our room when we returned)

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pingree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

My friends and I decided to take a short trip to Mexico this year for our little summer get away, and could not have been happier with our selection of Casa Velas. From the minute we arrived we were treated with excellent, freindly service that made us all feel like celebrities. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the grounds were emmaculate, and I could go on and on about the food, excellent!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This trip was my fourth trip to this location and this specific hotel. I went in 2007 by myself and was pleasantly pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the service of the staff. They found out that it was my birthday and brought to my room a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and a desert! (not that I needed all of that by mself! :)) In 2008 I took my girlfriends-each year we do a girls trip and they absolutely loved it! We went in March for 5 days/4 nights--they wanted to stay longer and definitely go back. They fell in love with the beach club and felt like rockstars with the 'feel of private service' and the beauty of it all. In 08 I took another friend and she is quite picky and absolutely is wanting to go back and loved the spa, pool, and beach club. A favorite at the beach club is the sushi! 2009 trip I took another friend who needed a get away as she is stressed from work-she read 6 books, we worked out, we went to the Marina, we let the baby turtles out at the large sister resort, Vellas Vallarta-which was a cool experience, checked out a local disco spot. We spent most each day at the beach club-again a hit with the feel of 'specialness' of your own private resort and great food! The help is wonderful-everyone that you come into contact is super nice, smiles, and so eager to please to make your stay a wonderful one! I guarantee that you will want to return again if you go once! The Casa Velas -doesn't allow kids and you can use the beach club-the Vellas Vallarta is larger and allows kids and does not allow access to the beach club. Great place for honeymooners--my first trip when I went alone due to work situation that was a time I met many honeymooners. September is low season and rainy season but this past trip-it only rained twice at night and not at all during the day! In March-it was so beautiful...great time to go. My parents and aunt have gone three years in a row during Thanksgiving and they also love it and have no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bugs9965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

From the champagne waiting on ice in our suite upon arrival, to lunch before departing for the airport for our return flight, every moment was pure pleasure. We felt like the owners of a great estate as our every need was met with sincere and friendly service. In the "off season" there are no crowds so all the amenities were ours to enjoy peacefully. Our two-story suite was exquisite--with plunge pool, second floor balcony surrounded by flower hedges, patio seating, a jacuzzi tub, etc. The spa and fitness facility was a wonderful refuge--great equipment for a workout followed by the quiet enjoyment of sauna, steam, jacuzzi and lounge areas. The pool was beautiful--I spent many languid hours with a good book and a tasty margarita (they make really good ones). The onsite restaurant is top notch--no buffet food here. All the dishes are beautifully presented and a delight to the tastebuds.

What truly distinguishes this small hotel is its staff. Mauricio, the Mgr, sets the tone for excellent service provided by truly friendly, caring individuals. Everyone from the receptionist, the wait staff and bartenders, bell staff and van drivers, to the housekeepers make an effort to get to know who you are and what you like and seem to take enjoyment in seeing that you have it.

This small hotel is a true jewel and we'll make it a part of our travel plans on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Casa Velas succeeds at making guests feel at home - staff is kind, friendly & helpful (both Mauricio and Miguel excel at granting your requests); grounds & pools are immaculate & beautiful; and remodeled rooms (all #100’s, #200’s & #300’s which are hotel units in the main building) are clean, roomy & bright. For honeymooners and couples looking for relaxation, this is the place for you! (If you are searching for activity or nightlife, you may be disappointed.) We did not use the spa but other guests raved about the reasonably-priced treatments. The restaurant, Emilanio, is wonderful but after 7 days of all-inclusive gourmet dining, the menu was limited. Wait staff service is outstanding and requests are most likely accommodated. The Beach Club is a stand-alone house with delicious sushi and Asian fare but too has a limited menu. Guests can dine at the two restaurants at Velas Vallarta but the food was not of the same quality. Once was enough for us!! All bars are warm & friendly -- try the "Benny Special" in the lobby bar.

But there are some issues and although the staff tried to fix the problems, they were not successful. The villas (1, 2, 3 bedroom units) are NOT remodeled yet and have some mechanical problems (showers & toilets not always functioning properly.) Some villas are two-story (living room down and bedroom up) and lack of handrail makes the transition between dangerous. Communication problems at the management level occurred – let me explain. All Velas resorts use a highly scented soap and/or fabric softener on the sheets and towels. After spending the first night sleeping on the floor (due to a severe allergy to the scent), I requested a linen change. Although the laundry was closed on Sunday, the staff took a set of sheets/towels into town for water-only washing. Now that is service!! Unfortunately, EVERY day, the housekeeping staff tried to restock our room with scented linens. EVERY day, I complained and was reassured the problem would be solved. And yet the next day, the scented linens returned. Communication from top down did not occur. We finally had to refuse any housekeeping to keep the room medically safe. This issue marred what would have been a PERFECT holiday!

Other information: if you forget anything, Wal-Mart, Liverpool (like Macy’s), the Vallarta Mall and Starbucks are close by. For only 11 pesos round-trip, you can hop on a bus in front of Velas Vallarta (transportation from Casa Velas provided.) The resort provides airport service (five minutes away) -- just walk past all the hawkers to the outside of the main hall. The VIP Services the resort contracts with is located on the right nearest to the outdoor exit. The Marina Golf Club is nestled next to Casa Velas and one of the top 10 in Mexico. Activities are arranged through Vallarta Adventures - the Canopy Tour is a highlight. The resort has many types of rooms: Master Suites are typical hotel units with a plunge pool or Jacuzzi on the balconies, Grand Suites are larger with the same amenities, and Ambassador Suites are part of the Villas and are two story “condos without kitchens”. The gym is well-equipped with a Jacuzzi outside the door. Resident peacocks wander the grounds and are safe as are the numerous geckos and iguanas that sometimes visit your room.

Casa Velas is worth every penny, if you are looking for a quiet, slower pace resort with five-star service. The photos on their website are very realistic. We hopefully will return very soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickiville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We have an RCI timeshare and decided to trade a week for our honeymoon. This was well worth it. I am speechless if you have the chance to stay here do it. I have found some people are idiots on the internet and they found one tiny little problem and they want to bad mouth their entire vacation. This place is secluded and they have shuttles to the beach club. The spa is awsome. There are many things to do like the zip lines, dolphins, rythms of the night snorkeling and the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidneyStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We were greeted by Casa Velas staff as we cleared customs at Puerto Vallarta airport. . We were quickly whisked to the hotel which is less than 10 minutes from the airport. From the moment we arrived we were treated to absolutely perfect service from the Casa Velas staff. The manager, Mauricio, was on-hand to welcome us with a cool drink and a very efficient and personal check in service.
The hotel setting was perfect as we were looking for a quiet week to relax with no great desire to sightsee, shop or go to shows. Every aspect of the hotel was kept immaculately clean and we were more than pleased with our suite which had the king-sized bed, balcony and personal plunge pool we had requested with our reservation. The spa, pool, restaurant and service all get our top marks.
We ate at Emiliano's for each breakfast and for several evening dinners. Excellent menu, food and service and we were surprised at the really decent selection of wines included in the all-inclusive deal. One evening the chef asked if we wanted to try an all-Mexican selection not on the menu. We agreed and were glad we did. We were served with appetizers, main courses and desserts ... perhaps the best meal we had all week.
The beauty of this hotel is its intimate size and setting along with fabulous service around the clock. We also took advantage of the private Casa Velas beach club which is less than 1-kilometer away with a shuttle bus available on demand with never more than a 3-4 minute wait. The beach club has its own infinity pool, sundeck and restaurant. The service here was just as good as the main hotel. Bottles of water in an ice bucket the moment you arrive, personal cabanas with plenty of towels and attentive staff to keep the drinks flowing. All the drinks are top-drawer brands. You can order food at any time and we also had dinner one evening by the beach which we enjoyed. At the beach club the cuisine is predominantly Thai but we would defintely recommend that anyone try the Mahi-Mahi sandwich!
Shuttle access is also available to the sister hotels ... the Velas Vallarta which is very close by and the Grand Velas which is abouty 20-minutes away in Nuevo Vallarta. We had dinner at each hotel one evening as part of the all inclusive. The food was OK but a notch below Casa Velas and we didn't enjoy the ambiance as much; mainly due to the fact that they are much larger hotels and had very low occupancy levels while we were there.
So, everything was wonderful and we would go back in a heartbeat. We can't really think of any meaningful criticism. I'll end where I started. The service is outstanding ... fast, responsive, not intrusive and above all very very friendly. We were there for 7 nights and we left feeling like we personally knew about 12-15 of the staff! In fact this is a key component to enjoying being at Casa Velas. Although we have stayed at other top notch resorts and had wonderful amenities etc., the staff at Casa Velas truly make the difference. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. We look forward to returning and would have no hesitation to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nagal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
604 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
849 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,820 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $366 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing