We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready to be spoiled”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed from April 24-May 1 on an RCI extra vacation. We originally booked the Velas Vallarta but were not happy there. Not that it was a bad hotel, it's that the Casa seemed to better fit our wants in a vacation. We stayed the week before at the Grand Mayan, so the Casa was a nice change of pace. Thanks to Antonio at the Velas who went out of his way to help us. Luckily the Casa was not that busy. He showed us 2 rooms and let us pick. We picked the 1 bedroom with the plunge pool, #705, that has been acurately described in previous reviews. Check in was the most pleasant we have encountered on any vacation, timeshare or otherwise. We meet briefly with Stephano who helps organize activities and the vacation ownership package. One of the most professional gentleman you will ever meet. Absolutely no
pressure to attend, or purchase anything, as the place sells itself.He would check with us daily if we had any concerns, as did every employee we spoke to. The entire hotel staff made us feel special. Food and drink service was exceptional as was the room itself which was always spotless. The spa was amazing, often we had it to ourselves, as well as the beach club which was a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in a heartbeat, as it is in a class by itself. We travel often, and it will be tough for any other hotel to measure up. When an entire staff genuinely loves their job, and is invested in giving you the ultimate vacation experience, the Casa Velas is the result. If you are seeking a quiet place to relax and to be treated like royalty, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinjanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

We just returned from a fabulous week’s vacation at Casa Velas. We were there 4/18 to 4/25 and had an absolutely perfect time. We have 4 kids and only get away from them every few years, so we picked Casa Velas because it looked like it would be the perfect getaway for us. We were not disappointed!
We’re going to leave a very detailed review as we appreciated that from TripAdvisor when we were looking at where to go. Plus, this resort deserves that since they go to so much trouble to ensure that all your expectations are met and exceeded.
From the moment we got to the hotel, life was very relaxed, quiet, and all of their staff was focused on making sure you were having a great time. Cold towels to wipe off your face and hands and a glass of cold cranberry juice was provided as soon as we sat down. They had upgraded our room without us asking to one with a plunge pool, which was a surprise since we booked this through RCI. Check-in was quick and efficient. They walked us to our room and our luggage showed up within 10 minutes of stepping foot in the hotel!
The hotel pool was very quiet, lots of shade, and surrounded by palm trees and a beautiful golf course setting. Note that this hotel is not on the beach, but they own a beach club just a few minute walk or shuttle ride away (more details on that later). Food ordered at the pool was very good and the staff was very professional and attentive. There were top-notch liquors, good wines, and plenty of food selections throughout all the hotel bars and restaurants. Many times there were only 2 or 3 couples around the pool, so you really felt like you were at your own personal hacienda. A very nice touch was the lounge chairs were very comfortable, with fresh towels (nice big ones) always provided. As soon as you sat down, a girl would come with a bucket of iced bottles of water and refill those throughout the day as you drank them.
Emiliano’s is the main restaurant at the hotel – service and food were always superb! No buffets here – everything is ordered off a menu and cooked hot and fresh. We especially liked the rack of lamb, red snapper, sea bass, and steak. The artichoke and prawn soup were absolutely outstanding. From the hostess to the waiters and wait staff was all great.
We ordered room service a couple times more for snacks between lunch and dinner. It always came promptly and was hot.
The beach house is about a 5-minute walk or a two-minute van ride. The walk was very pretty – very safe area of mostly American and Canadian’s who have bought or rented houses and retired there. All you do is go to the lobby and there’s pretty much always a van waiting to whisk you away to the Beach House. You walk into the beach house and someone’s there to greet you and guide you either to a table if you want to eat or lounge chairs if you want to sit on the beach or by the pool. Again, most times there would only be 2 or 3 couples at any given time by the pool so you really felt like you had the place to yourself. The infinity pool was set beautifully overlooking the beach. Lunch at the Beach House was fantastic. California rolls, tempura shrimp, and their Thai chicken wings were all outstanding.
There are two types of dinner at the beach house. The main restaurant has tables they set up around the pool in the evening. We had rack of lamb and it was as good as Ruths Chris rack of lamb. The setting is gorgeous sitting outside as the sun goes down over the Bay of Banderas. Service was likewise just as outstanding as Emiliano’s. Don’t forget to ask for Mexican Coffee after your dinner – it’s quite a presentation. Your waiter comes out with a whole tray of stuff, burns sugar on the rims of glasses, and then pours a mixture of flaming liquors into your glass that has some coffee and ice cream. The other meal they cook at the Beach House is what they call the President’s Dinner. Returning guests or other special occasions will get you one of these dinners during your week. They bring a grill, several waiters, and set up 4 or 5 tables right down on the beach in front of the Beach House. The menu is different from the main beach house. We had lobster grilled right on the beach along with steaks. Fabulous! One of the most romantic dinners we’ve ever had. All restaurants will have Mariachi’s every couple days and wow – they had great voices. They did not hang around asking for tips like you get at some of the cheaper hotels. It was obvious they were well taken care of by the hotel and just sang and moved on.
We are food lovers and we found the food and service at this hotel to be like going to top-notch restaurants anywhere in the US.
We did do the timeshare presentation and found it to be reasonable and low-pressure. We really like this hotel chain but explained we simply could not afford nor use any more timeshares and they pretty much took no for an answer. They have to then call their manager over and give you their “best” deal, which we declined. Then we were on our way. Just plan on 2 hours (which included a decent breakfast) and you’ll walk away either buying into a great resort or at least learning more about it for if you ever feel the need in the future. If you think you’re going to get in and out in 1 hour, you’ll get frustrated. The perks for attending the timeshare were all provided without hassles.
We had two massages during our trip – this spa is top-notch. Outstanding.
Day-trips – Stefano, the activity director, was very helpful. He’s also the one that requests and organizes the time share presentation. We did the Rhythms of the Night – well worth it. Absolutely beautiful setting on a remote beach – all lit by candles and tiki torches. The show was good also. Only downside is it is about a 1-hour boat ride there and another hour back, so you’re pretty much wiped out when you get back to the hotel around 11:30pm at night.
Canopy Rivers Zip-Lining was also recommended by Stefano and it was a complete blast. It was a fun bus-ride up into the mountain and then a couple hours of hanging by a cable from one mountain top to another. Quite a rush. We were back in the hotel relaxing by about 1pm, so it’s a great morning excursion without giving up a whole day of relaxing at the hotel.
All in all, we found this hotel to be the best hotel we’ve ever been to. They obviously take great pride in training their staff as everyone was focused on ensuring you’re having the absolute best time possible. We would absolutely go back again – we have ZERO complaints about anything with this hotel – and that’s usually hard to say after spending a week somewhere!! Thanks Casa Velas – we can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WisconsinFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Casa Velas exceeded our expectations. From the top-notch service, good food, and beautiful grounds and rooms, we were rarely disappointed during our week-long stay.

The resort is small, only 80 rooms, and this means you will have avery quiet and relaxing stay. At times we found ourselves to be the only couple at the beach club or pool, and even at the busiest times, there were less than 40 people to be found. There is no beach at the hotel, however the resort's Beach Club complete with infinity pool, bar and grille, and beach is a 5 minute walk or very short shuttle ride away.

Staff is very friendly, from Miguel at check-in, Olivia at Emiliano's, and Fabian at the Pool. Mauricio was also a stand-out, often checking on us. By the second or third day, many of the staff knew us by name.

Food at Emiliano's and the Beach Club was usually very good with few exceptions. We also ate one evening at Vela's Vallarta, and found it also to be quite good. Liquor is all top-shelf and readily available. We ordered bottles of wine on several occasions with dinner and from room service.

My wife received a facial and pedicure and said both were very good. The spa was very relaxing and attentive. While we did not golf, the course which surrounds the hotel is beautiful.

Only one part of the experience would get a negative review from us - the welcome breakfast sales push. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful with the exception of Stefano, the "concierge". Once he finds out you're not interested in attending a timeshare presentation, his demeanor sours and he barely acknowledges you from that point forward. My best suggestion to Casa Velas would be to change how this encounter occurs as it is off-putting especially for such an other-wise high class establishment.

We only wish we could afford to return more often, but we will be sure to return again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikey06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed at the Casa Velas in Puerto Vallarta for a week in March of 2009. It was beyond what I thought I would get for an all inclusive hotel. What a deal! The rooms were very large with beautiful bathrooms that were extremely clean with a nice view of the golf coarse. The staff was exceptional. From the moment we arrive we had drinks in hand and anything we wanted at anytime of the day or night. The spa was very nice and had a great massage. The only thing lacking was a little on the food. I wish they had more regional cusine. The drink choices were very good offering higher-end liquers. The beach club was lovely and very private. There was always plenty of room. And no kids screaming!! Great relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingSpirit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Han ds down this hotel is so great Beautiful lobby, sleeping rooms. The hotel is just the right size (80 suites) so that you truly feel like a special guest, not just one of many. Mauricio the head concierge was great too.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

OUTSTANDING hospitality. Went with my boyfriend, we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The food at Casa Velas we exceptional and we are from San Francisco, were we get great gourmet cuisine. Great cocktails and we were so spoiled. The service was 5 star for sure and this place has something that most 5 stars don't have and that is warmth. Much pride is taken in the guest's experience and it is evident.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmaddipati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

One we figured out the "Mexican Minute", and how to work around it, our vacation was perfect! The golf was wonderful, the food amazing, the hotel was small, so we were able to build relationships with the great staff and learn them by name!! Maurecio, Monica, Jorge, Angel, Hector and Ivan helped make our trip special!

We've done the Spring Break trips, and were looking for something different, so we absolutely loved the relaxing, adult-only atmosphere....it was quiet and serene and we didn't have to fight for plush lounge chairs by the pool! The Beach Club was a great asset. At first, we didn't think we would like having to be shuttled to the beach, but we never had to wait for a shuttle and it was only a two-minute drive....well worth it!

If we had to say something negative, it would be that we missed the aqua blue waters of the Caribbean and that there is no nightlife at Casa Velas, however, when we wanted some nightlife, we took advantage of the sister resorts: Grand Velas and Vista Vallarta.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirkth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
604 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
849 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,820 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $366 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing