We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

This vacation was booked for us by a friend. We were joined by 10 couples and stayed for a week. We were greeted at the airport by a driver from the hotel. Only a 10 minute drive from the airport, Casa Velas is a beautiful property located in a lovely residential area, within walking distance to the marina, shopping, and the beach clulb. Our room was beautifully decorated, bright, clean, spacious and well-designed. Good lighting in the bathroom, well-placed outlets, hair dryer and iron provided, a desk, couch and bathrobes made this a very user-friendly accomodation. The bed was very comfortable, with puffy, plumpable pillows and a duvet. The service was, without exeption, outstanding. I was trying to learn to speak Spanish, and was graciously helped by many of the staff. We spent a lot of time at the pool, where the bar staff was very attentive. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and accomodating. The food was great, the spa services wonderful and relaxing. We spent a day at the spectacularly beautiful beach club, where we had a delicious sushi lunch. The hotel is located in an area which is safe for walking and exploring. The marina area has many restaurants and shops, or you may choose to simply stroll along the docks and admire the yachts.

  • Liked — location and amenities
  • Disliked — perhaps a mirror in the main bedroom would be nice
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tamparealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    127
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
110
1,062
31
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

Let's get the timeshare stuff out of the way first. Yes, they will want you to have breakfast at the Beach Club. Don't say NO too fast. We got an awesome breakfast, 3 bottles of tequila, FREE ZIPLINE excursion, discounts on massages and another 5 free days at the resort. Yes, it took most of the morning and we said no with no hassles. See what you'll get before you say NO.

Our experience was amazing. Starting at the airport with our name on a sign so we knew where to go right away. Stay away from the guys at the airport who want you to sign up for stuff, you don't need to talk to them. The car was waiting for us and off we went for a short trip to the hotel.

Our first impression was WOW. Everything was ready for us and we were in our room pretty quick. They may try to sign you up for stuff just tell them you'll talk to them later.

The rooms are very very nice with new beds, flat screen TVs and a very nice bathroom. I would recommend the plunge pool room, very romantic!

The beach is a little ways away from the hotel, but all you have to do is ask for a shuttle ride to Vellas Vallarta (lots of kids) or the Beach club and you are at the beach. It's easy!!

The pool at Casa Velas is very nice, clean and pretty warm. There is service at the pool whenever you want it. The drinks are plentiful and the pool food is really good. If you want a secluded romanic time at the pool or beach, go to the Beach Club.

The restaurants are very good but I would stay away from Alejandra restaurant at Velas Vallarta. The Beach Club dinner was the best meal we had there. It's such a nice quaint small location that only Casa Velas people can use. Don't forget the 24 hour room service. All included.

One of the nice little perks is rather than having to wear an ugly neon colored bracelet, Casa Velas has you wear a nice braided bracelet that is small and unintrusive.

The people that work there are very gracious. We heard they don't make much money at all (not a surprise) so extra tipping is very nice. I believe for us they added 3% to our charges, so we would just add a little more. They'll do anything for you if they can!!

You won't go wrong at Casa Velas!! Bring your sunscreen!!!

  • Liked — The secluded location and NO KIDS!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Flaggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

if you are looking for a quiet, elegant worry-free stay, book it today! The all inclusive feature is just a bonus. Everything is top shelf here, from ambience, food, bar, service, transportation all flawless. Absolutely nothing to complain about. They will anticipate your every need or do anything to make you happy, if you just ask. Avoid the larger resort across the street (too many children) and Andrea's Restaurant. Stick to the boutique hotel and the Ocean Club. You will not be disappointed. They will ask if you would like to have "breakfast" at the Ocean Club, which is a hook to get you to discuss time shares, but they take no for an answer with no problem. Enjoy the quiet, eat yourself silly, and enjoy top notch beverages. Don't forget that room service 24 hours a day is also included and makes for a very romantic evening. Have champagne and walk the beach at the Beach Club at sunset. Spa is intimate and wonderful. We took a cab into town one morning just for a diversion and could not wait to get back to the hotel. ENJOY!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SherriO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

Just returned from Casa Velas. We are not fans of all-inclusives
but as our stay was only going to be for a few days we decided
to give it a try. This hotel could not be more different from the
stereotype. It was sophisticated and elegant and the grounds
and swimming pool were absolutely beautiful. In addition we
had the use of the Beach Club which was great - no crowds,
lovely pool and fabulous food. The staff throughout the hotel could not have been more helpful. Our only dissappointment was that we could not have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Spacious and quiet - not overlooked
  • Disliked — Quite dark - lighting in bedroom was poor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonFranklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Casa Velas is the perfect spot to stay near pool at the hotel or for PV centric adventures. Restaurant is top notch as is the service and grounds. Very friendly and upscale. Not hectic and crowded like most PV stays, but calm and collected. Surrounding golf course adds a special touch. Sharing all-inclusive with other Velas properties was an added bonus, especially the Beach Club. Definately on the places to return to.

  • Liked — Restaurant and service personnel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pistach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

This hotel is very special.
The bedroom was beautifully furnished to a high standard and the splash pool was a welcome retreat from the hot humid weather.
The food was excellent whether you ate around the pool, had a leisurely breakfast or lunch on the patio or had dinner more formally at night in the restaurant.
The pool area was an oasis of tranquility surrounded by manicured lawns and gardens. The swim up bar served up top branded drinks with a smile.
The staff could not have been more friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The service was faultless.
The beach club was a short ride away by a complimentary air conditioned vehicle. The service was impeccable and the food that was served was of a very good standard.
If you want a quality hotel with superb service, stunning surroundings, great food and a relaxing atmosphere, Casa Velas is for you.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2008

Overall a average place without easy access to the beach and now annoying time share presentations. If you are on a honeymoon and are spending all your time in your room it may be okay. If you are looking for a beach vacation - forget this place.


Pros and Cons

Pro

Food was excellent!

Pool area was well kept and seldom used.

Room was okay.

Cons

Time Share alert - they have started selling time shares to an affiliated resort (last 2 months). They will try and get you to a free breakfast - stay away. I don't appreciatte this treatment when I am spending serious coin for a room.

No Beach on property - must take a shuttle to beach.

No real bar - only a semi-bar at the lobby.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulldogge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
7.7 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#11 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing