We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Best”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of Best”
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed from oct 11 to oct 18 2008 .Super service in every way from spa to rooms,pool ,food,bar, staff and management.Would be nice to have some live music in the evenings.That would make it perfect. Thanks Casa Velas for giving us a unforgetable week . Arthur and Carmen Fulop

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arthur62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    131
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
113
1,090
33
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

We are in our 50s and have traveled a lot for many years. Usually want a beach front. This was much better! Manicured tropical grounds. Beautiful rooms. Privacy and gated security. Access to a private beach house with an infinity pool only two minutes away! The staff was best we have ever experienced. At Casa Velas you get what you pay for and it was worth every penny. The Assistant Manager was even waiting for us one day when the shuttle picked us up at the beach. He wanted to know how it was going.
If you want particulars and photos of Casa Velas email me. We liked this property so much that we will go back many times and were willing for the first time to post on line.
At the Beach House Roger, Victoria and Manuel will take care of your every need. Mariel will make dinner reservations for you and Jorge seems to do everything in the resort! These people work long hours so be generous with your tips.
Skip the City Tour and unless you really are interseted in a time share do not do sit for the 90 minute presentation because it lasts 4 and 1/2 hours!
Again, one of the best places we have been and we have been all over the world. A lot of Brits and Canadians which made for great conversation...Many young honeymooners.

  • Liked — Privacy, security, unbelievable service and access to private beach house
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kentdan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

This hotel was top notch before we even got there. They confirmed our reservation weeks in advance and upgraded us to one of the few rooms with both a plunge pool and jacuzzi since we were honeymooners.

We were greeted at the airport for VIP transporation and did have to make a stop by the "check in desk" at the airport where they tried to sell us a timeshare presentation. We quickly gave a quick firm, "not interested" and moved on. We had read reviews on this before arriving and knew to take care of right away so we could enjoy our 10 days in paradise.

We were given bottles of water at the aiport and put in a private SUV (not a huge shuttle with tons of other people) and taken over the gorgeous hotel grounds.

When you enter the guarded gates you come upon the most amazing and beautifully kept grounds that we have ever experienced. The ambience of the hotel is breath taking.

You enter the lobby (that has koi ponds floating thru it!!!) and are again greeted with cold drinks and towels. Check in was a breeze and you get these get string and bead brown bracelets for the all inclusive instead of those itchy plastic ones. Everything here is a step above the rest.

Our bags were taken from us as soon we got out of the SUV and taken to our room separately. We were shown around while escorted to our room and given a tour of the room when we got there.

The service was impeccable for the entire 10 days and everyone was so friendly and eager to please. They remembered our names, where we were from, why we were there and what we liked. We had a drink before we sat down and the food was AMAZING. It was like eating at the finest restaurants every night. We had a private dinner on the beach at the Beach Club and really enjoyed Manuel, the server there. He was so attentive and funny. We went back and ate there quite a bit. The drinks were always strong and there was a steady stream of them always coming! We ordered bottles of wine and champagne to the room just cause we could!

The pool areas were never crowded and we always got a cabana. We had a couples massage outside overlooking the ocean and it was like a dream.

They took our souvenirs and packed them up and shipped them to us without hesitation.

If I had to point out a negative to be fair and objective the rooms could use some updating. They were still nice but could have used a little maintenance.

This was an amazing resort with an amazing staff and I can't say enough great things about it. I would recommend it to anyone and am counting the days till I can return.

  • Liked — The service and amentities
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank agiove0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

I'm writing this review from their business center. I've got an hour to kill before heading back home so I better write my review before I get too busy. Anyways, we can still have drinks and snacks from the bar.

My husband and I are workaholics so this was the perfect place to stay. Everything positive I've read about was correct. We checked in last Friday afternoon with no wait! We were greeted at the door, seated quickly at the reception, given hisbicus tea and a cool towel, and in our room within 5 minutes. Note it's their off season.

We used one of our bonus weeks from RCI so we had to pay the all inclusive fees minus the 3% since we prepaid before arrival. The all inclusive was not bad at all. Yes, they give you a itemized bill after every meal, which I think is good so you know how much you've spent. For us, we made sure we spent $250.00/day since that was the fee per day for both of us. Also, an excursion is included...highly recommend dolphin encounter...we did the canopy tour too, but it was extremely physical and hot. We've done it in Hawaii and was easier. My right arm is so sore. The cab fare to the dolphin encounter was $18 one way!!!
Also these items were inlcuded: Golf usage (cart fee additional), City or Cultural Tour, $100 Spa Certificate, All the food and drinks you can want. I'm a personal chef so I'm very picky.
You have 6 different places to eat...Emilianos, Pool Bar, 24 hour Room Service, the Beach Club, Andreas and La Ribera from Velas Vallarta their sister resort. There was plenty of variety between all choices...most I picked were excellent and some were so, so, but I've never liked everything from any restaurant's menu. Depends on your taste!

I think we got a great deal and had a wonderful time. If you like being waited on hand and foot then this is the place. So quiet and peaceful..no kids...and everyone is so nice and attentive. Bring at least $100 in ones for tipping if you plan on staying one week! Tipping is included in the all inclusive but we always gave extra since staff employees don't really earn much as I was told. I was curious so I asked at the front desk!

I think the negative reviews are just bad luck. The airport is very close but so is all the other resorts. Airplane noise did not bother us. I love this resort...we've stayed at many...and we'd love to try their sister resort..Grand Velas.

Mariel, Jorge, Hugo, and all their staff members were awesome!!!

  • Liked — Peaceful, clean, spa, relaxing, food and drinks!
  • Disliked — Very Hot and Humid...Not their fault!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

If you are looking for a QUIET get away, I cannot recommend this Boutique Hotel strongly enough. With only 84 rooms, it is a quiet, adults only, ( NO KIDS running around the pool) with a very attentive staff who will pretty much do anything you request and in a timely manner. The grounds are as beautiful as they appear on their website. The All-Inclusive was such a great touch as well. Never had to worry about money at all and YES, actual 24 hour room service. VERY NICE.
The food was excellent for all meals. Please try the French Toast with Rum Butter. MMMMM Good.
If you want loud music, it's sister hotel on the beach can take care of that, but if you really want to get away from everything and just relax in the quiet and beautiful surroundings of a top level hotel, this is the place.
You are welcomed as FAMILY upon you arrival by Mauricio, the head concierge, who will lead you to the front desk, make sure you have a cool drink in your hands and then once you have checked in, he will make sure luggage arrives to your door promptly.
His staff is always around to take care of any of your needs.
If you want to golf, please play the 2 Mountain Courses and not the one that boarders the Hotel.
The only changes I would like to see, would be an outdoor HOT TUB that is actually hot for those late night dips and the spa allow couples to have treatments together if they desire.
Other than that, you have a pool all to yourself, a beach club with beautiful sunsets and food that is wonderful.
We cannot wait to get back.

  • Liked — Very Attentive Staff and Beautiful Surroundings
  • Disliked — No real Hot Tub for late night dips.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GOLFNUT288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudia figueroa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

This place was everything and more than we expected! It was a wonderful getaway... nice and peaceful:) The place looks just like the pictures in their website! .... And the staff... WoW, such great customer service! They made our stay an even better one (specially Pablo and Jorge) =D We will definitely be staying there again! Thank you!

Carlos n' Claudia

  • Liked — Room Service
  • Disliked — Everything was excellent
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank claud257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We had the most wonderful time at Casa Velas! We loved not only the resort, but also the people! They were all so friendly and so helpful! Even in the storms, they were happy and helpful! We were there for our honeymoon and we didn't want to leave! We felt like royalty and everyone at Casa Vela did everything to treat us as such! The room was gorgeous! The private pool was wonderful! We loved room service! And, we loved swimming out to the bar! We want to say that Angel, Pablo, Monika, Julio, and Mariel were exceptional care takers! We are hoping to go again many times in the future. We have shared with everyone we can about how wonderful it was there! It was truly a dream come true!

  • Liked — Everything--the pool and the landscaping--palm trees, everything was beautiful!
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything at this time...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEMR080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing