We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week at Casa Velas”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just got back from CV and everything every one says about the service, people, and atmosphere about this resort are true. It was a great relaxing week at a beautiful resort.

A few comments to add to all the great things already mentioned by others:

- Great wi-fi service all over the resort
- Don't prebook transportation to the resort. It is only a 7 minute taxi ride so you can do that on your own
-We were there during a low time so the resort was quiet but the people we met were all very friendly. Quite a few Honeymooners.
-It was HOT during the first week of June though. Too hot to really do much except sit by the pool. High humidity too.
-The Beach Club is great just like everyone said and we really liked the Asian Fusion menu there
-Be sure to ask what special events are being held since they aren't always well advertised but definitely worth attending
-We took at taxi down to the Malecon (Boardwalk) which was fun (went on a cloudy morning before it got too warm) - worth a trip down there. It is nice and new with lots of shop, restaurants, and bars.
-The AC worked too well in our room - we had to have them turn it up a couple of degrees since it was too cool in our room for us to be comfortable.

We don't usually go back to the same place twice but would definitely consider returning to Casa Velas with friends.

Room Tip: Our first floor suite was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NEcruiser9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Thank you for your terrific insights on your experiences during your visit to Casa Velas. We are really pleased that your relaxing vacation mirrored much of what you had read on TripAdvisor before you came to know us in person. And now you have come full circle by writing your own review on those pleasant times. I hope that the memories of your stay last a long time and become a deciding factor when it is time to plan your next relaxing week in luxury. Thank you again and from all of us we send you our kind wishes to everyone in Omaha, Nebraska. Take care.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Casa Velas was a quaint, quiet way to end out 12 days in Mexico. A beautiful garden property with friendly & attentive staff and optional amenities for your use, making it versatile for any traveler.

FAVORITES
1. The restaurant on property was RIDICULOUSLY AMAZING. Being low season, we had the restaurant to OURSELVES. The food was phenomenal and the staff was amazing. Everything from the Caesar Salad to Beef Filet was incredible- ALL INCLUSIVE dining option a MUST. *see picture

2. Although the property is not located directly on the beach, the private ocean club you have access too is AMAZING. Again, low season was fantastic for us- no people, wait staff of 7 at your service. You have a shuttle driver at your disposal when ever you want to go back and forth! *see picture

HELPFUL HINTS

1. The rooms aren't anything to gawk over- so don't upgrade to a room with a "plunge pool". Not worth it. The bathrooms should be bigger for the price point, just sayin'.

2. Although there is only one restaurant on property, you have access to their sister resort with TWO MORE restaurants and the private ocean club with a restaurant as well. Utilize these amenities to get a bigger bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to room with a "plunge pool", NOT WORTH IT. Stick with a regular room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thank you very much Shawn for your glowing comments on your May vacation with us. Actually there really is not any such thing as a low season any more, but more like low months. And May is precisely one of those. Right after Easter the vacation demand tends to decrease and in reading your review I am pleased that you were able to take full advantage of the personalized service that we have. It was almost as if you were in your own house/mansion with all the hired help that you could ever wish for at your beck and call. I am glad Shawn that we could provide for all your needs during your relaxing stay and maybe on your next luxurious visit we can show you some suites that are available at the moment in order for you to decide which category is best suited for your needs. Thank you again Shawn for your delightful review and on behalf of all of your 130 employees, I send our warm greetings to you and yours in Tucson, Arizona. Take care.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

From the moment you get there the staff are genuine and truly interested in making your vacation memorable. I can't imagine a better experience than what we had. If you want to have a relaxing totally amazing vacation this place is for you. If you want rugrats running around, crowds of people etc this place isn't for you. If you want a great adult vacation in a beautiful setting run by a staff that truly takes pride in their jobs this the place for you. The pictures you see on the web site is exactly what you get. There isn't any smoke and mirrors here. We will be back there for sure . Thank you to everyone on staff for making our vacation like a 2nd honeymoon.

Room Tip: Plunge pool rooms are wonderfully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0uplereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2014

Thank you very much for expressing your delight on your choice of adult-only resorts. This boutique hotel in Puerto Vallarta is a distinct alternative from the mainstream resorts. It’s one that lets you relax and submerse in a tranquil and luxurious atmosphere with no rushing or crowds to surround you. I am very glad that you felt that my staff was very attentive to your vacation needs and that the ambience that complemented that service was the perfect combination for your “amazing vacation”. I hope that you consider us in the future for when the time comes to “feel like you´re on your honeymoon” again. Take care and our special regards to you in beautiful San Diego, California.

MANUEL OVIEDO
GENERAL MANAGER
HOTEL CASA VELAS
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A friend and I, just returned from spending 3 wonderful days in this beautiful hotel. By the time we arrived to the hotel, the warmest welcome from each person , made us fell at home.The bedrooms are decorated in a traditional Mexican style, and the bathroom products and the bedding were just with an excellent quality..The facilities are beautiful, it enjoys peace and tranquility in all the areas.. The food in the restaurant Emiliano was very good and with excellent presentation each dish..
But what makes the difference in this hotel , for to be one of the best of Puerto Vallarta is the people, each person was smiling and doing everything possible to make us happy. In special Vanesa the manager, who gave to us the best attention every second, almost reading our mind for any desire we had.. Thank you so much Vanesa you made our holiday the best, with your smile and all your attentions.. Thank you also to Joel, who did for us all reservations, giving to us information about Puerto Vallarta..and anything else we needed.. Thank you so much Joel for to be really interesting every day in all our activities, smiling with your great personality.
I highly recommend the Casa Velas Hotel, and of course we will be soon there!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a wonderful vacation at Casa Velas last week. My wife and I had been to this hotel four years ago and liked it very much. We returned this time with a small group of family members and friends, three of whom had special needs. The staff couldn't have been nicer to us and the service was excellent. The entire facility is still very well maintained, as is the beach club, and access to Velas Vallarta gave us many options in terms of activities and entertainment -- quiet for some, more lively for others. The food and service at Emiliano's and the beach club are excellent, and the staff at the spa was particularly welcoming. Vanessa, about whom a couple of other reviews have commented negatively, greeted us upon arrival and was terrific in terms of making sure that our accomodations met our needs and that we were happy throughout our stay. Other staff members who gave us special treatment were Rangel, Jorge, Joel, Efrem and Oscar (concierge and front door) and Carlos, Marco, Benny, Daniel, Jorge and especially the always smiling and extremely pleasant Gerardo (restaurants and bars).

We would highly recommend Casa Velas to anyone looking for a relaxing, quiet and very enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lookingforfivestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This place is just so special and we really enjoyed our stay. We were celebrating my 40th and wanted someplace special and luxurious. We were narrowed down our choices to Enchantment Resort in Sedona (considered one the finest destination spa resorts in the world) and Casa Velas. We ultimately chose Casa Velas and don't have a single regret.

We arrived on the day of my birthday and we had let the resort know ahead of time it was my birthday. Our prearranged transportation with VIP (arranged by Casa Velas) was easily found at the airport and we were at Casa Velas within minutes. When we arrived the concierge was able to confirm our dinner reservations for our stay which included a dinner at the beach club, the chef's dinner, and one dinner at Emiliano. Check in seemed a bit confused as there were unclear on how much deposit we had put down and what balance was due. It was settled after a short wait and we were shown to our room.

Our room was a Grand Class Suite (not the plus category) which had a king bed and a Jacuzzi on the balcony. I think it must dependent upon what room you get if you have a Jacuzzi or plunge pool on the balcony. It was too hot during our stay to sit in the Jacuzzi. Not sure I would upgrade next time as we never used it. King bed was very comfortable and bathroom while a bit small and dated was clean and nice enough. Quite a bit of noise does come in from the hall at night including birds all night long and the occasional squak from a peacock. We simply downloaded a whitenoise app on our phone and didn't hear a thing after that. We enjoyed the room and found it to be very comfortable. Airconditioning was very strong and kept us cool. There was a bottle of wine and a happy birthday cake in the room when we arrived which was a nice touch.

We changed and went for a late lunch by the pool. There were only a few people by the pool and bottles of water and drinks were brought quickly. We had a steak quesadilla, shrimp wontons, and shrimp cocktail (not on the menu but so good so ask for it). They were all delicious and the shrimp cocktail was wonderful with a kick of chili lime sauce. The descriptions of the food on the menu sounded plain but the actual taste and presentation far exceeded our expectations. This was the highest quality pool food we had ever had at an all inclusive by a long shot and I think is on par or exceeds that in non-all inclusive 5 star resorts.

That night we headed to the Tequila Tasting headed by Ecker. It was an informative lesson on the types of Mezcal and in particular Tequila along with cultural background. We really enjoyed it (even if I didn't care for the Tequila as I am not generally a drinker of spirits.) We had dinner at the beach club and found the food to be wonderful and the setting was amazing. The guitarist (along with the several other guests there) sang me happy birthday and our dessert plate read happy birthday. My husband surprised me with a bottle of champagne that he had arranged prior to our arrival. Service was outstanding and the sunset was just the perfect ending to the day. We went to grab a glass of wine at the lobby bar to take to our room and Benny offered us the bottle. It was nice as we stored it in our fridge and we were able to have a bedtime glass of wine in our room the rest of our stay.

Breakfasts were either room service or at Emilianos. We found all the food to be delicious and freshly prepared. Plenty of fruit and healthy options on offer as well as sausages and bacon. If you don't see what you want on the menu, just ask.

The following days were spent at the beach club enjoying the beach side infinity pool, great drink service and lunch. I have never found Asian food to be good at any Mexican resort I had been to previously, though they all try to do it. However, we found the Asian inspired dishes to be very tasty here, specifically I enjoyed the shrimp fried rice and tuna tataki at the beach club. If you want something listed as an entrée as an appetizer, just ask. Really, whatever you want, just ask. They don't miss a beat and if it is possible, I felt as they would make any reasonable request happen.

We enjoyed the chef's dinner one night led again by Ecker and the wonderful chef which is served with cocktails and wine pairings. The food is presented in front of you and they explain how it is made and the ingredients. They incorporate the popular dishes at the chef's dinner into the main menu so they ask for your feedback to see if it should make it to the main menu. I enjoyed that I would not have ordered the items presented to me so I got to try things I would not have thought to try. For example, I never order Mahi Mahi as I usually find it to be overcooked and dry. The night of the chef dinner they served Mahi around a fish mouse (seemed like a meatball to me) with pepper and cheese sauces and it was moist and so delicious. The tamarind margarita was also something I wouldn't have thought to order but really enjoyed. We got to know the others at the table and because this is such a small resort we continued to have conversations with them wherever we saw them the rest of our stay. Really an outstanding experience. We would have paid several hundreds of dollars for this experience in our home state or in Napa, so to have this included in our stay was amazing. Dinner at Emiliano's the following night was as wonderful.

We can't wait to return and I hope to make this an annual birthday tradition. The service is on par with most U.S. five star resorts and better than many. By far the food and service here is better than any other Mexican resort we have stayed at. While not inexpensive, the value is there. Thanks for my best birthday weekend ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noodle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a truly fabulous week at Casa Vela.

Our experience at this boutique resort was outstanding in every regard. It started with our initial contact with their booking agent, Fernanda Olmos, who not only satisfied all of our enquiries, but was impressively prompt in her follow up on our additional requests for information. She couldn’t have been more helpful and her attention continued even after the booking, through to making personal contact at the resort to ensure all our wants were being looked after.

The service we received at this property was second to none. From check-in,the lobby staff, concierge service to the staff at the restaurant, to the housekeeping staff, the attention and service we received was truly outstanding. The dining experience at this property was nothing short of gourmet. The restaurant is open from 7:00am to 11:00pm and regardless of the time of day that we showed up, we were warmly greeted, seated, and served to the highest of standards. Beyond this the menu options were extensive and the food was fantastic. Throughout our entire week at Casa Velas we did not have a meal that we did not thoroughly enjoy.

Our room was spacious, well appointed, and included a plunge pool on our balcony, which offered a great view out onto the 11th and 18th fairways of Puerto Vallarta’s Marina golf course. As we are both golfers, the view in itself delivered some great entertainment value.

A primary motivator for this trip was our love of golf, and this resort provided us with full access to three golf courses: the Marina golf course next door, as well as the two courses at Vista Vallarta, both of which are spectacular PGA champion courses, located fifteen minutes away, up in the mountains overlooking Puerto Vallarta.

Overall this trip either met or exceeded our expectations. The golf was exceptional as was everything about Casa Velas.

My husband and I have travelled extensively, and we typically seek out new destinations and experiences, however Casa Velas is definitely on our list of properties we will return to.

Thank you everyone at Casa Velas for going out of you way to ensure we had a truly wonderful and memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yamina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
538 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,919 reviews
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,732 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,598 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $423 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing