We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Food was awesome. Service was second to none. If you're looking for a relaxing week this is your place. You get full all-inclusive at the beach club and sister hotel which is more up beat if that's what you want for the day. Highly recommend this place to any/everyone.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Slypatnode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    130
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
112
1,078
33
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Casa Velas is a beautiful property. The staff are very friendly, especially the concierges, they both went out of their way to accommodate our every needs. Everyone always addressed us by our name, something that impressed me being that the resort was sold out.

The Marina Golf Club is next to the Velas and was able to pay it a couple of time. It was a great course and very well maintained.

If there was a shortcoming to our stay I would have to say the dinners we ate (two dinners) were not very good. We choose the all inclusive package and found that we ate out most of the time. With all the great restaurants in Puerto Vallarta I would highly recommend not getting the all inclusive package. I must state we ate breakfast there every morning and it was excellent.

The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and even though the resort is close to the airport we never heard the noise of a plane, come to think about it, even out in the pool we never heard a plane.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We travel about 6 weeks out of the year to many different places. We rarely go back to the same place. However, our favorite destination remains Casa Velas in P.V. and this was our third time. Words that describe it include "tranquil", "beautiful", "welcoming", "laid back", and "pampered". This small, intimate, boutique hotel is simply a gem. The "adults only" policy helps, but it also attracts a more mature clientele that appreciates the genteel life style that is Casa Velas. Of course, the people make it along with their attention to detail.
STAFF: There is no better staff around. They are well trained and provide a level of genuine personal service that is at the pinnacle of high end resorts. You won't want to leave them as they make you feel special and very welcome - like family. Everyone from the wait staff at the restaurant (Karen, Marco, Jorge, Luis, and Edgar come quickly to mind), to the pool (Freddy and the gang), to the Terrace (Benny and Daniel), to the front door/bellmen (Joel, Jorge, et al), to the concierge and reception, to maid service to maintenance crews - everyone does a great job.
THE GROUNDS: Beautifully maintained, intimate, relaxing. Borders the Marina Golf Course. Pool includes a swim-up bar, covered lounges, thick chaise lounge chairs, shade and sun.
THE RESTAURANT: Excellent menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner with outstanding service. We enjoyed all our meals - well prepared and well presented. Delicious.
THE BEACH CLUB: Don't miss it! Shuttle takes you there in three minutes. It is private for Casa Velas only. Step through the front door to the lounging area, infinity pool, and the beach and ocean beyond. Spend the day sunning and enjoying the ocean in the comfortable chaise lounges with great service and quality refreshments. Eat lunch there. But you must come back for a great dinner and a beautiful sunset. We enjoyed the most beautiful sunset ever while we were there. The guitarist put the perfect touch on a romantic, memorable evening.
THE ROOM: They have a variety of rooms - ours was a one bedroom. Very clean. Daily maid service. Turn down service. very comfortable bed. thick towels. wet bar that is stocked daily (including beer). All the amenities you would expect from a nice hotel. You can take a bottle of wine from the lobby bar or restaurant if you want for your room. Some rooms have splash pools, some have Jacuzzi tubs, some have patios, but all are well maintained.
OTHER: We really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in the evenings with a cocktail (premium liquors served). Benny provides great service! There is usually live music that offers a nice touch. One night they'll have a tequila presentation that is fun and good. There is a spa and exercise room on the premises as well. You can also go to the restaurants in Velas Vallarta or its pool for a change of pace - just talk with the concierge as some require reservations.
SUMMARY: For the first time in a long time we really wanted to stay longer and hated to come home! We can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that border the golf course - 501 through 506.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My partner and i went in March 2014, this was our third time going to Casa Velas and it's still the best place on earth!

We just absolutely love this place from the warm staff, the no kids policy, great food and amazing accommodation it's all just FANTASTIC!

The front desk manager Vanessa was just the most helpful and warm person, she just couldn't have made our stay any more wonderful. To be honest, all the staff are lovely, they are all extremely kind and speak English wish is handy for us non Spanish speakers ;)

Seriously, it might seem a bit pricey but think about it, it's all inclusive and that's no BS! Everything is included! The mini bar, the awesome cocktails and oh so very yummy food at the restaurant.I can't think of anywhere else where I've been so happy and felt i haven't been taken for a ride cost wise.

You just have to go here to understand how unbelievable it is!

Thanks so much Casa for always making out holiday the best we could ever hope for!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from a five night stay at Casa Velas. I traveled with my husband and another gay couple. The service was top notch! Very kind and respectful staff. The food is very good. The setting is very nice at the main hotel and always felt very safe, and quiet. Especially loved the private beach club! No kids (under 14) and plenty of chairs both poolside and on the beach. Shuttle from resort to beach club anytime you need it. Perfect setting for a relaxing day. My husband used the spa twice and thought highly of both services. Again, staff/service was fantastic! We will definitely be going back. My only critiques are that they really need more variety of music! We head Kenny G every day! Also, our reservation stated "suite" but in all actuality it was a typical hotel room (very nice but not a suite with a separate sitting area or outdoor space). I also wish they had offered morning yoga. Anyway ... all minor. Over all experience was fab! Thank you Casa Velas! Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: If you want a patio or outdoor space, book a deluxe suite or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MjasonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bend,wi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Worried about not being on the beach--don't be! A 2 minute ride gets you to the private beach club that is not crowded, noisy or full of screaming children. Nice bar service there, beautiful pool, plenty of nice lounge chairs with towels provided and curtains to block the sun, showers that are clean and well kept, plus the best view of the ocean available. The pool back at the hotel is beautiful and also has great service, but it is shaded much of the day by the many palm trees. Okay for reading a book, but you may need to move around to get a tan.

Our room (the basic model) was beautiful, clean and well-kept. The bed was in great shape, very firm and comfortable.The shower is huge, big enough any couple. Housekeeping staff and turn-down service are amazing (they would even fold and stack any dirty laundry left on the bathroom floor). The rest of the staff are fanatics about wanting to serve you, and we didn't encounter a single rude or unmotivated staff member. All seem sincerely interested in pampering you, so our time there was a real treat. Benny and Daniel are true rock stars of the bartending business, and their antics, jokes and great conversation will keep you at the bar way longer than you intended. Waitstaff in the restaurant treat you like royalty as well. The concierge, front-desk staff and room service waiters all deserve mention for outstanding service. The food at the beech club is amazing, as is the wine list and the quality of service.

I wish I could give our stay 4.5 stars, as we had a few issues. Two room-service goofs, one the wrong order (very promptly replaced) and one served almost 1/2 hour late, as we were on the way out for a tour. The room safe failed twice. I had duck at the restaurant that was terribly rubbery, but all other meals were great. Two requests for wake-up calls got nothing. Gift shop is tiny and has little resort wear with the hotel name.The gift shop could be so much more. Staff did smooth over any irritation I may have felt by giving us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on our last day there.

Overall the staff, rooms, facility and amenities get an A++++. Location off the beech is actually very nice. Make sure you go to the sister hotel for dinner as well (Velas Vallarta) as we had a fantastic meal and service there (just avoid fiesta night). For those of you who are the first pick of mosquitoes, bring bug spray, as there are tiny biting flies that leave welts that ooze and then turn to scars. I still have them from a trip 10 years ago.

Lastly, at the airport upon your arrival, once you have your bags, go past all the people saying that they are with your hotel or will provide your transportation. They are selling excursions and arranging time share sales presentations; your ride is outside. Nobody at the desks outside baggage pickup is there to help you, so do not make eye contact. Flip them off and walk away. I wish the airport would kick them out. Buy excursions from the hotel rep. It's safer.

Room Tip: We are very active so we were not in our room much, and didn't need to pay for a huge room we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I recently vacationed for a week at Casa Velas (an exchange thru RCI). We found the resort to be beautiful, and the staff exceptional.

We enjoyed room service breakfast on our patio most mornings, everything was delivered hot and perfectly presented. Marco and Oscar would drive us the short distance to the beach club where we spent our day at the beach club being spoiled by Jorge. At night we enjoyed drinks and dinner and Karen always greeted us with a huge smile and recognized us by name as she showed us to our table.

Jairo the concierge is extremely personable and is at the resort coordinating events day and night. Please see him early in your stay to get a reservation for the beach club dinner or other special events at the resort.

Overall this resort is a perfect escape for adult only pampering. The food/beverages and service were always top notch well worth the all inclusive price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.9 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
2.9 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Property: Casa Velas
Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the perfect resort retreat in the Mexican Pacific Riviera, where luxury and romanticism combine in perfect harmony. Resembling a private estate, Casa Velas offers Condé Nast and AAA award-winning service in a casually elegant and intimate boutique atmosphere in Puerto Vallarta. This boutique hotel enjoys a garden setting surrounded by the Marina Vallarta Golf Course. A beachside experience waits just three minutes away at your private Ocean Club, with stunning sunsets and memorable dining. Unlimited transport is available day and night to whisk you to the golden shores of the Mexican Pacific. The Ocean Club is a place of supreme peace and tranquility for enjoying an infinity pool, jacuzzi and terrace with impressive ocean views. Our luxurious getaway invites you to enjoy the comforting sounds and vibrant colors of the tropics as you discover the true meaning of relaxation and luxury at an all-inclusive Puerto Vallarta resort paradise. Recently chosen as one of the Top 10 hotels in Mexico and the Caribbean in three categories - Luxury, Relaxation/Spa and Hotel for Romance - by TripAdvisor®, Casa Velas is an enchanting destination where simple pleasures rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing