We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is amazing, just a few snafus. I'll go back!”
Review of Casa Velas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Velas
Ranked #2 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Worried about not being on the beach--don't be! A 2 minute ride gets you to the private beach club that is not crowded, noisy or full of screaming children. Nice bar service there, beautiful pool, plenty of nice lounge chairs with towels provided and curtains to block the sun, showers that are clean and well kept, plus the best view of the ocean available. The pool back at the hotel is beautiful and also has great service, but it is shaded much of the day by the many palm trees. Okay for reading a book, but you may need to move around to get a tan.

Our room (the basic model) was beautiful, clean and well-kept. The bed was in great shape, very firm and comfortable.The shower is huge, big enough any couple. Housekeeping staff and turn-down service are amazing (they would even fold and stack any dirty laundry left on the bathroom floor). The rest of the staff are fanatics about wanting to serve you, and we didn't encounter a single rude or unmotivated staff member. All seem sincerely interested in pampering you, so our time there was a real treat. Benny and Daniel are true rock stars of the bartending business, and their antics, jokes and great conversation will keep you at the bar way longer than you intended. Waitstaff in the restaurant treat you like royalty as well. The concierge, front-desk staff and room service waiters all deserve mention for outstanding service. The food at the beech club is amazing, as is the wine list and the quality of service.

I wish I could give our stay 4.5 stars, as we had a few issues. Two room-service goofs, one the wrong order (very promptly replaced) and one served almost 1/2 hour late, as we were on the way out for a tour. The room safe failed twice. I had duck at the restaurant that was terribly rubbery, but all other meals were great. Two requests for wake-up calls got nothing. Gift shop is tiny and has little resort wear with the hotel name.The gift shop could be so much more. Staff did smooth over any irritation I may have felt by giving us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on our last day there.

Overall the staff, rooms, facility and amenities get an A++++. Location off the beech is actually very nice. Make sure you go to the sister hotel for dinner as well (Velas Vallarta) as we had a fantastic meal and service there (just avoid fiesta night). For those of you who are the first pick of mosquitoes, bring bug spray, as there are tiny biting flies that leave welts that ooze and then turn to scars. I still have them from a trip 10 years ago.

Lastly, at the airport upon your arrival, once you have your bags, go past all the people saying that they are with your hotel or will provide your transportation. They are selling excursions and arranging time share sales presentations; your ride is outside. Nobody at the desks outside baggage pickup is there to help you, so do not make eye contact. Flip them off and walk away. I wish the airport would kick them out. Buy excursions from the hotel rep. It's safer.

Room Tip: We are very active so we were not in our room much, and didn't need to pay for a huge room we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenneth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I recently vacationed for a week at Casa Velas (an exchange thru RCI). We found the resort to be beautiful, and the staff exceptional.

We enjoyed room service breakfast on our patio most mornings, everything was delivered hot and perfectly presented. Marco and Oscar would drive us the short distance to the beach club where we spent our day at the beach club being spoiled by Jorge. At night we enjoyed drinks and dinner and Karen always greeted us with a huge smile and recognized us by name as she showed us to our table.

Jairo the concierge is extremely personable and is at the resort coordinating events day and night. Please see him early in your stay to get a reservation for the beach club dinner or other special events at the resort.

Overall this resort is a perfect escape for adult only pampering. The food/beverages and service were always top notch well worth the all inclusive price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you want to get away from it all and be pampered in an adults only resort this is the place for you. This is our fifth time here and we will return next year. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. The main hotel and the exclusive beach club make for a perfect retreat away from it all. If you want quiet and quality this is it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

So many problems here Yes it looks nice My partner and I were assigned Room 511-A, a dank, dark room with no decoration. There was no grass outside our room (raw dirt) and the air conditioning didn't work. We stayed a week. On day 5, someone came and turned on the air conditioning; and a gardener put in some artificial grass. So the next people who came had a better stay than we. Day three: food poisoning and a trip to the hospital. Very large bill $1800; for an IV to rehydrate This is an all-inclusive place, and we ate everything there. The staff was very concerned about this turn of events, as well they should have been. The concierge tried to arrange some questionable entertainment for us - not at all welcome overtures that we turned down. Ultimate insult: Vanessa, the horrible manager at the time of our checkout, insisted that we had overstayed our welcome, and that she had retrieved a medical report from the hospital. I think she was trying to avoid responsibility for the bad food? In any case, she was quite rude. Along the way, the staff 'forgot' our scheduled birthday celebration, and discouraged us from eating in the main restaurant at one point. Not a nice time, and not at all recommended for romantic couples seeking to be in relaxation and freedom.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms. The plunge pools at 511-A are not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a great 5 night stay at Casa Velas. We are not big on all inclusive resorts but it was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta so we wanted to get 'a feel for things' before heading off to the B&B we booked in town. We had booked a Master Plus Suite through Expedia and when they showed us to our room we were shocked at how small it was and we questioned whether they were sure this was a Master Plus room. They had made an error with our room assignment so we waited by the pool while they got another room ready for us. It was much more spacious and was closer to what we were expecting for the money we paid.

The staff are wonderful, the grounds are beautiful, the Beach Club is a mere shuttle or 10 minute walk away. We ate wonderful meals, enjoyed the pool and the beach and participated in a tequila tasting night, a special BBQ steak night by the pool and we booked a most wonderful dinner at the beach club and enjoyed the sunset.

A perfect way to start our trip to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: We didn't feel it was necessary to book a room with a private pool. When walking around the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jdlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, General Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

I would like to begin by saying thank you for choosing Puerto Vallarta as your travel destination and Casa Velas as your place to enjoy and rejuvenate your self’s as you mention in your tittle review. I also apologize for the confusion on your room assignment is definitely not the idea we want to give upon an arrival of a guest. I can assure you we will reinforce our procedures to make sure our attention and service is always excellent. I hope you can join us soon again in the future with the opportunity to host you with an unforgettable and unique vacation.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Thanks to Mother Nature and three cancelled flights we were gifted with a week in Casa Velas. We were delighted to be stranded in Paradise. The room we had was on the 1st /lobby level. We had 2 Queen beds, a desk and sitting area and a balcony with a hot tub overlooking the golf course. Very nice. Bottled water and full mini fridge were always available. Housekeeping services efficient, flexible and friendly. All the employees were warm and very service oriented. The spa treatments were top notch. The food was always fresh, nicely presented and abundant. The Beach Club divine with easy access from small buses always available for transfer. The weather in Puerto Vallarta is perfect and the town offers wonderful restaurants, shopping and excursions. This is a must-return-to place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just returned from a seven day vacation in Puerto Vallarta at Casa Velas and have mixed reviews.

The resort itself is absolutely beautiful and I would not change a thing except for the fact that it is not located on the beach. The grounds are maintained impeccably. A short shuttle ride gets you to the beach in a matter of minutes.

Check in was a bit long do to a few issues regarding a room on the ground floor and the resort tried to charge us again even though we had we had paid in advance. Once that was straightened out everything was fine.

Throughout our stay we ran into service issues. It seemed as though half of the time we were there the resort was under staffed making it difficult to get any drinks and slow service. But then there were other days where we had no issues whatsoever. Seeing as though this is a four and a half star resort there really should not be any issues at all. We were also asked if we would like a newspaper every morning upon check-in and we never did receive a paper any of the days we were there. Included in our trip was a dinner at their sister resort Grand Velas and it was nearly impossible to get a reservation there. Everytime we went to the concierge to reserve a time for dinner we were told that the other resort was booked and there were no times available. You should not offer something to your customers when you are unable to provide it.

Casa Velas has a beautiful outdoor lobby that is perfect for having a drink and relaxing. Unfortunately the bar does not open until 5 p.m every night. So if you are not interested in going to the swim up bar or having a drink in the pool area where there are no chairs just chase loungers you are forced to go to the restaurant where there is also no bar and sit at a table just to have a drink while watching other people dine. There is absolutely no reason why getting a drink at an all inclusive resort should be so difficult. It would not take much for Casa Velas to have their lobby bar open during the day in order to better serve their customers. I did bring this to the attention of management at the front desk and they seemed very disinterested.

Prior to our trip we did read the reviews on Tripadvisor and were really looking forward to the food. Unfortunately we also have mixed reviews on this. There were a few dishes that were absolutely delicious like the shrimp burrito, grilled shrimp and a couple of the soups. Other than that, the food was mediocre at best and sometimes not even that good. Many of the entrees lacked flavor and like the mussels seemed to have been frozen not fresh. The calamari at the Beach Club seemed as though it had been sitting out for hours prior to reaching our table. It was absolutely inedible. All of this was a huge disappointment considering the rave reviews we had read prior to leaving. We ended up eating many of our meals outside of the resort. We really wanted to love the food and everything else about this resort but unfortunately that is not the case.

We did voice our issues to the employees at Casa Velas. This review will not come as a surprise to them. Because we were unhappy with a few things they did offer us a private dinner at their Beach Club prepared by the chef one evening. Although we much appreciated the thought we did not accept. As far as we were concerned, there were many other restaurants we would rather dine at considering we knew how the food was and did not want to take the chance of being disappointed again on our last evening of vacation. In addition to that because it is an all inclusive resort we had already paid for food so we did not see how this really made up for anything in regards to the issues we had while staying at Casa Velas.

Casa Velas is a beautiful resort but by no means deserves four and a half star.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CureAutismNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casavelasmanagement, Manager at Casa Velas, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Casa Velas, Feedback from our guest is one of our main priorities to improve excellence in service. Especially in this case where we didn't meet your expectations, we will definitely follow up in all the points mentioned. Please know that our guest are the main priority to us and their vacation experience is fundamental to make a memory on their hearths. On behalf of all the staff and myself I offer you the most sincere apology and I will love to be in contact with you to personally speak to you and invite you for a second visit to truly show you what a wonderful service Casa Velas can provide.

Best Regards,

Manuel Oviedo
General Manager
Hotel Casa Velas
moviedocv@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
602 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
846 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,817 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velas

Address: Pelicanos 311 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48315, Mexico (Formerly the Regent hotel and Quinta Real)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $364 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Velas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a beautiful beach resort in Puerto Vallarta for an indulgent vacation refuge with sublime dining, a pristine beach, ocean club, golf courses, pools and a spa. Our spectacular resort is within walking distance of Puerto Vallarta's sophisticated 500-slip marina and 15 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Velas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velas Boutique Resort
Hotel Casa Velas Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing